Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Download & Install

This guide provides information on how to set-up and use EndNote.

Mac Installation Instructions

For Mac:

  • Download the EndNote 20 Site Installer.dmg file: Mac users
  • Double click the file to start the installation process..
  • When the installation starts, a popup box will appear. Double click the EndNote 20 icon to install EndNote20.
  • You will see a message that the EndNote items are being copied to Applications.
  • When the items are finished copying, click the "Launchpad" icon in your dock.
  • Then click on the "EndNote" icon to open EndNote.
  • The first time you open EndNote, it will complete the installation process.
  • Click through the steps. Be sure to agree to the license agreement.
  • Click "Done" to finish and launch EndNote.
  • When you launch EndNote for the first time, you will be prompted to create an account online. You must do this in order to access your EndNote library from anywhere.

Click here for an EndNote Getting Started Guide.

Using the Find Full Text Option

Find Full Text allows you to search the Internet for PDFs, download them, and attach the files to the selected references. 

To use this tool, follow these instructions and watch the video below for a demonstration:

  1. Select the references in your EndNote library you want to find the PDF for. You may select more than one reference at a time by holding down the control/command key as you highlight references.
  2. Go to References at the top of the screen. Then click on Find Full Text. Or, click on the Find Full Text Icon on the left-hand tool bar. 

Please note the Find Full Text tool is not a replacement for searching the library's catalog and databases. We highly recommend you search the library's catalog and databases for full text articles.

Windows Installation Instructions

For Windows:

  • Download the zipped file to your computer: Windows users
  • You need to extract the files from the zipped file before trying to install EndNote: Right click on the file, then select the "Extract All" option.
  • Use the "Browse" button to select the folder the files will be placed in after extraction, then click the "Extract" button. 
  • The files will be extracted to the selected folder. You must keep the files together and double click on the EN20Inst.msi file to start installing EndNote. You must install EndNote from this new folder.
  • Note: If you are asked for a product key, you are installing EndNote from the wrong folder. When you download EndNote, it comes in a zipped package (endnote20win.zip). Right click on the package and select the "extract all" option. This will create a new folder called endnoteX8win. Inside the folder will be an installation file (EN20Inst.msi) and a license file. Run the installation file from the new folder to avoid being prompted for the product key.
  • Follow the prompts in the popup box. Be sure to accept the license agreement.
  • Click the "Finish" button to finish the installation process.
  • When you launch EndNote for the first time, you will be prompted to create an account online. You must do this in order to access your EndNote library from anywhere.
  • The first time you launch EndNote, you will need to create an EndNote library. Go to File --> New. A new window will open asking you where to save your EndNote library. Save it in your Documents folder. Click the Save button.

Click here for an EndNote Getting Started Guide.