Skip to Main Content

EndNote: Find Full Text (PDF)

This guide provides information on how to set-up and use EndNote.

Finding Full-Text/ Locating PDFs 

                

Table of Contents: 

Video Tutorial: Using the Find Full Text Option

Find Full Text allows you to search the Internet for PDFs, download them, and attach the files to the selected references. 

To use this tool, follow these instructions and watch the video below for a demonstration:

  1. Select the references in your EndNote library you want to find the PDF for. You may select more than one reference at a time by holding down the control/command key as you highlight references.
  2. Go to References at the top of the screen. Then click on Find Full Text. Or, click on the Find Full Text Icon on the left-hand tool bar. 

Please note the Find Full Text tool is not a replacement for searching the library's catalog and databases. We highly recommend you search the library's catalog and databases for full text articles.

Search For Full-Text

 

 


 

 

Manually Attach PDFs

If EndNote couldn’t find a PDF, but you have one, then you can manually upload a PDF.

  1. Download and save the PDF to your computer.
  2. Open your EndNote Library.
  3. A) If you already have the citation in your EndNote Library,

find the citation and right click on it.
Go to File Attachments.
Click on Attach File. Select the file from your computer.

B) If you do not have the citation in your EndNote Library, click File.

Click Import, then click File.
Choose the PDF or file of PDFs you want to import.
Change the Import Option to PDF.
Click Import.
If the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is not present, you will need to manually enter the reference information into EndNote.

3.A) 

EndNote CLICK

The EndNote Click web extension looks for PDFs.

When EndNote Click finds an article with a  PDF you'll see a purple "View PDF EN" button. 

  1. Download the PDF
  2. it will go into your "EN My Locker."
  3. From there you can  "export to EndNote Desktop" and the PDF along will all; the citation information will appear in your EndNote Library (EndNote Desktop)