Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Collect Citations

This guide provides information on how to set-up and use EndNote.

Exporting Citations

Most of the library's databases will allow you to export citations from the database and import them into your EndNote Library. Below you will find instructions on how to easily export citations from our most popular databases and add the citations to your EndNote Library. If you do not see a database listed below, follow the instructions for JSTOR. Look for the phrases "download citations" or "export citations."

PubMed/MEDLINE

Click here to access PubMed/MEDLINE.

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Choose the citations you want by clicking the box next to each citation.
  3. When you have found all of the citations you need, click on the Send to link at the top of the results list.
  4. Click Citation Manager. 
  5. Click Create File.
  6. Click on the file that is downloaded to your computer. The citations will be imported into your EndNote Library.
  7. Once the citations are imported, you need to assign them to a group.

PubMed Central

Click here to access PubMed Central.

  1. Search PubMed Central for articles.
  2. Look for the Citation link under each article result. 
  3. Click the Citation link to open a new box with citations formatted in three popular styles and an option to download and RIS file.
  4. Click on the RIS file link.
  5. Click on the file downloaded to your computer to export the citation to EndNote.

 

EBSCO Databases

Click here to view a list of our EBSCO databases.

  1. Choose a database to search.
  2. Perform a search.
  3. Choose the citations you want by clicking Add to Folder next to each citation.
  4. When you have found all of the citations you need, click on the Folder icon at the top right of the screen.
  5. Click the Export icon on the right side of the screen. 
  6. Select "Direct Export in RIS format (e.g. CITAVI, EasyBib, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager, Zotero) and click the Save button.
  7. Click on the file that is downloaded to your computer. The citations will be imported into your EndNote Library.
  8. Once the citations are imported, you need to assign them to a group.

JSTOR

  1. Perform a search.
  2. Click on the title of the article you want to read.
  3. Click on the "Cite" or "Cite this item" button.
  4. Click on the "Export a RIS file" link.
  5. Click on the file that is downloaded to your computer. The citation will be imported your EndNote Library.
  6. Once the citations are imported, you can assign them to a group, or find them in your All References tab.

Gale Databases

Click here to view a list of our Gale databases.

  1. Choose a Gale database to search.
  2. Perform a search.
  3. Once you have gotten your search results, click on the title of the article you want to cite.
  4. At the bottom of the article, there are several buttons under the heading "Export to:". 
  5. Click on the "Download RIS" button.
  6. Click on the file that is downloaded to your computer. The citations will be imported into your EndNote Library.
  7. Once the citations are imported, you can assign them to a group, or find them in your All Reference tab.