Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Resources

A guide to Faculty Resources available from Beaman Library.

How do I use Beaman Library eResources?

Bison Search searches everything Beaman Library has access to, except for Dissertations and Thesis. It is a Google-like search bar that provides you with result filters to narrow down your search. 

When conducting research, it will be important to keep your references saved so you can access them at various points during your research process. 

Option 1: Save to your EBSCO folder. 
To save anything to your folder, you MUST Sign In to your EBSCO account.

undefined

You can save to your EBSCO Folder in two ways. The first way is by clicking the blue folder icon on the right-hand side of your search results page.

undefined

The second way is by clicking on a resource link and using the "Add to Folder" button in the right-hand menu. 

undefined

Once an item has been saved to your folder, it will stay there until you delete it. To access your saved articles again, simply Sign In to your EBSCO account and click on the Folder button in the upper right-hand corner. 

Option 2: Save to Google Drive

undefined

Option 3: Save to Your Computer

undefined

Option 4: Upload References to a Citation Manager (Academic Writer or EndNote)
*Note: This does not automatically save the article, but only the citation for purposes of writing a research paper or building a bibliography.

There are two ways to export items to a citation tool. The first is to export a single item. To export a single item, click the Export button in the right-hand menu.

undefined

If you are exporting to a citation tool, make sure you are exporting your items in RIS format (this is the default). Other export options may be selected for other purposes, but citation tools will be wanting the RIS format.

undefined

In your citation tool, locate the Import feature and upload this file into your citation tool. 

The second way to export your items to a citation tool is to export them as a group from your EBSCO folder. 

Locate your EBSCO Folder.

undefined

Select the items in your folder that you wish to export to a citation tool.

undefined

Export your selected items. 

undefined

Make sure you are exporting your items in RIS format (this is the default). 

undefined

In your citation tool, locate the Import feature and upload this file into your citation tool. 

Research Guides were created to help you navigate the resources available to you within a particular discipline or major. Research Guides are a great place to start looking for information about a topic in your field. 

undefined

Searching a subject-specific database is similar to using Bison Search, but usually generates more limited and narrow results. 

You can find a full list of Beaman Library's databases using our Databases list, or you can find subject-specific databases by using the databases tab in your discipline's Research Guide.

undefined

If you would like more specific tips or strategies for searching, please reach out to one of your Beaman Librarians for additional research assistance, or schedule a Research Appointment

Tips for accessing Beaman Library eResources Off-campus

1. Always begin a search for eResources at Beaman Library's homepage. In order to access eResources, we have to verify you are a Lipscomb user and are allowed to use these resources. If you do not start searching for items from Beaman Library's homepage, we cannot verify you are a Lipscomb user and you will experience access issues. 

2. Before you are allowed to view Beaman Library's eResources, you will need to "authenticate" as a Lipscomb user. You will be asked to supply a username and password. The username is the first part of your email address (before the @ symbol), and the password is the password you created for MyLipscomb. 

undefined

3. Several databases and eResources also have personal account features that allow you to save your work or save articles to come back to later. Logging into a personal account is not the same thing as authenticating. If you attempt to go directly to a database or eResource and login without first starting at Beaman Library's homepage to access that database or eResource, you will still be unable to access content. 


If you continue to have difficulty accessing eResources off-campus, please contact Britt Mountford