Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
THE place to find out what a word means: The Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The OED online can be used to perform simple searches for word definitions, or for full-text searching of all OED's definitions, etymologies and quotations through the Search function.
Oxford Dictionaries Pro
Start browsing Oxford's largest current English dictionary and discover its hidden depths
Oxford Quick Reference
A collection of over 188 subject, language, and quotations dictionaries.
Literary Theory got you perplexed?
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by
Call Number: Ref PN81 .J554 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism has become the indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. The Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars. It also examines developments in other disciplines which have shaped literary theory and criticism.
Books in Beaman Library
After Babel by
Call Number: P306 .S66 1976
Publication Date: 1976
The first systematic investigation of the theory and processes of translation since the eighteenth century. In mapping out its own field, it quickly established itself as both controversial and seminal, and gave rise to a considerable, still-growing, body of secondary literature. Even today, with its status as a modern classic beyond question, many of the books insights remain provocative and challenging.
In Translation by
Call Number: PN241 .I45 2013
Publication Date: 2013
The most comprehensive collection of perspectives on translation to date, this anthology features essays by some of the world's most skillful writers and translators. Discussing the process and possibilities of their art, they cast translation as a fine balance between scholarly and creative expression. The volume provides students and professionals with much-needed guidance on technique and style, while affirming for all readers the cultural, political, and aesthetic relevance of translation. This anthology serves as a definitive resource for those seeking a modern understanding of the craft.
Is That a Fish in Your Ear? by
Call Number: P306 B394 2012
Publication Date: 2012
An NBCC Award and Los Angeles Times Book Award finalist; New York Times Notable Book for 2011. Today, we all use translation to cope with the diversity of languages. Ranges across the whole of human experience, from foreign films to philosophy, to show why translation is at the heart of what we do and who we are. The biggest question Bellos asks is this: How do we ever really know that we've understood what anybody else says--in our own language or in another?
The Language Hoax by
Call Number: P35 .M37 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Does language control and limit the way we think? This short, opinionated book addresses the Sapir-Whorf hypothesis, which argues that the language we speak shapes the way we perceive the world. McWhorter argues that while this idea is mesmerizing, it is plainly wrong. It is language that reflects culture and worldview, not the other way around. The reality - that all humans think alike - provides another, better way for us to acknowledge the intelligence of all peoples.
Through the Language Glass by
Call Number: P140 .D475 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The debate is ages old: Where does language come from? From Homer to Darwin, from Yale to the Amazon, and through a strange and dazzling history of the color blue, Deutscher argues that our mother tongues shape our experiences of the world.
The Translator's Invisibility by
Call Number: P306.2 .V46 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Providing a fascinating account of the history of translation from the seventeenth century to the present day, Venuti shows how fluency prevailed over other translation strategies to shape the canon of foreign literatures in English and investigates the cultural consequences of the receptor values which were simultaneously inscribed and masked in foreign texts during this period. The author locates alternative translation theories and practices in British, American and European cultures which aim to communicate linguistic and cultural differences instead of removing them.
Why Translation Matters by
Call Number: PN241 .G75 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Argues for the cultural importance of translation and for a more encompassing and nuanced appreciation of the translator's role. Grossman's belief in the crucial significance of the translator's work, as well as her ability to explain the intellectual sphere that she inhabits as interpreter of the original text, inspires and provokes the reader to engage with translation in an entirely new way.