Library Research Guides: Physician Assistant (PA): Get Started!

Librarian

Jaimie Beth Colvin

Email Me

Contact:

Beaman Library Rm 312

x 5717

Library Hours

Download & Install EndNote 21

EndNote: Download & Install

To learn about trending topics in a field, explore....

... top journals in that field. You can find top journals in SJR:

SJR
Scimago Journal & Country Rank

Searching for top journals in Scimago

For information see the "Browse Journals by title" button or click here.

Most Used PA Database

PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.
PubMed links to full-text when they are available.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. (upgrade from CINAHL Complete)
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various titles from the best minds in medicine, and the content is continually updated. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, case files, and diagnostic tools.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features) Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.

Databases

Welcome to the Physician Assistant (PA) library research guide. These resources, which require a login with your Lipscomb email address and password, are available both on and off campus.

Bellow is a list of library resources, list alphabetically, with information of interest to PA Students:

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window Provides access to various titles from the best minds in emergency medicine. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, case files, and diagnostic tools. Reminder:  Remote access times out 90 days.  You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.  
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Provides access to various titles from the best minds in medicine, and the content is continually updated. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, case files, and diagnostic tools. Reminder:  Remote access times out 90 days.  You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.  
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features) Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window Covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access essential information to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment, and board review. Reminder:  Remote access times out 90 days.  You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.  
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window Provides access to interactive content, surgical videos, self-assessment, and clinical textbooks to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care.Reminder:  Remote access times out 90 days.  You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.   
Permitted Uses:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). (Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window The collection delivers more than 300 narrated videos of real cadaver specimens, a glossary of anatomy terms, and exams for interactive self-assessment. Access anytime, anywhere from your computer, smartphone, or tablet device.
- Create a Personal Account to unlock all the great self assessment tools.
AMA Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window The AMA (American Medical Association) Manual of Style, 11th ed. is a must-have guide for writing and publishing research in the medical, health, or scientific fields. Offers guidance on nuts-and-bolts of the style from punctuation to formatting, along with how to navigate dilemmas from ethical to legal that researchers encounter.  The online manual is fully searchable and enriched by a variety of online features:style quizzes, which allow users to test their knowledge.SI conversion calculator, which allows quick conversion of units of measure.   
Access Medicine Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window Offers the best-selling Case Files® content in an interactive format. Updated regularly, this comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.Reminder:  Remote access times out 90 days.  You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.  
Creating A Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window Clinical decision support tool. For clinicians who must quickly reference medical guidance supported by evidence-based information. Aims to help clinicians find & deliver accurate answers at the point of care. 
- Access Limited to PA and Pharmacy Programs ONLY
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Required (use your Lipscomb email) - click here for registration instructions.
- App: Click here for the DynaMed app install and authenticate instructions.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. (upgrade from CINAHL Complete)
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window Only authoritative resource providing high-quality, evidence-based information about dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary or alternative therapies.
- Creating a personal account is: Required
  - For instructions to create your personal account and learn what you'll have access to click here.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, and the latest research. Includes access to the DSM-5 as well as 15 other reference books and five journals.
PubMed* This link opens in a new window Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature. PubMed links to full-text when they are available.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
This collection includes journals from the health, life and social science fields of: nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience, arts & humanities, business. accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.

About Acland's Anatomy

On Moral Medicine by M. Therese Lysaught (Editor); Joseph J. Kotva (Editor); Stephen E. Lammers (Editor); Allen Verhey (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
In print for more than two decades, On Moral Medicine remains the definitive anthology for Christian theological reflection on medical ethics. This third edition updates and expands the earlier awardwinning volumes, providing classrooms and individuals alike with one of the finest available resources for ethics-engaged modern medicine.

DOI/PMID Lookup

3 ways to find full-text Pdfs

Find Full-Text

These two browser extensions search the web for pdfs, or request a pdf be sent to you via Interlibrary Loan.

EndNote CLICK
EndNote browser plugin/extension, that searches for Pdfs that you upload to EndNote and citation information is atomically included.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that searches for links to full-text articles (Pdfs) while you search the web!
Interlibrary Loan Information Request Form
You will receive email confirmation of your request. If not, please contact your librarian.

Physician Assistant (PA): Get Started!