Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives: Primary Sources: Archives and Special Collections

Welcome: This guide serves as an introduction to primary sources.

Introduction

This page explains how students can take advantage of the enriching material the Archives and Special Collections offers students for their researching needs. Beaman Library Archives and Special Collections (BLASC) functions differently than the circulating general collection of Beaman Library. Items within BLASC are not available to be checked out; they do not circulate. BLASC documents the integration of academic learning and Christian faith at Lipscomb University through collecting university records and pertinent themed external records of enduring historical value. 

About this page

The entity of Archives and Special Collections assists students in their research. The previous pages explained the differences between primary and secondary sources. Here we will discuss how students can use primary sources while explaining Archives and Special Collections use, rules/regulations, and what a research consultation might entail.

ArchivesSpace/Finding Aids

Click here to explore the Lipscomb University Library ArchiveSpace.

Search

Google Scholar Search

Archives and Special Collections Policies

Where is the archive? Beaman Library Archives and Special Collections (BLASC) is located on the third floor of the Beaman Library and is in the Maiden Reading Room. Because the archive does not keep the extended hours of the Beaman Library, all appointments must be scheduled in advance. Send the archivist an email to schedule your appointment.

Before you visit the Beaman Library Archives and Special Collections (BLASC), keep in mind these rules and regulations.

  1. Food and beverages are strictly prohibited
  2. Backpacks, briefcases, etc. must be left outside of BLASC or given to the staff member on duty.
  3. Researchers must remain in the Maiden Reading Room at all times. Rooms 302 and 303 are closed to patrons.
  4. Students are not permitted to check out books or remove them from the reading room. 
  5. Due to the unique material, the Maiden Reading Room holds precautions that must be taken to preserve the integrity of the Special Collections. Therefore, this is not a general reading room but a highly secured area.
  6. Only pencils may be used.
  7. Gloves may be required before handling some material and will be supplied, as needed.
  8. Photocopying/ scanning of materials may be allowed. Some materials may only be copied by a staff member. Some fragile materials may be restricted from photocopying/ scanning. If microfilm is available, use that format.
  9. Copyright permission, when necessary, is the responsibility of the researcher.
  10. Materials must be returned to the library staff member and be properly checked before the researcher leaves the premises.

For more information regarding the duplication process and its regulations please click the duplication tab.

Special Collections Service Overview

What does a typical research appointment look like?

  • The Special Collections Librarian will greet the student and then ask him or her to sign in.
  • The Student will explain to the Librarian what his or her assignment requires and what is the concise research topic. During this time, the student may ask questions to the Librarian regarding the project.
  • Following the policies listed above, the student will investigate and analyze the requested research material in the Maiden Reading Room.

Special Collection Contents

  • Hard Copy Materials Ex. Books, Newspapers, Periodicals, Scholarly Essays, etc.
  • Digital Collections/Databases Ex. Videos, Audio Recordings, E-books, Website Articles, Research Study Results etc.

Associate Librarian

Profile Photo
Dr. Elizabeth Rivera
she / her / hers
Contact:
615-966-6033
Contact: Facebook Page