GENERAL BIBLE DICTIONARIES
Bromiley, Geoffrey W., ed. The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia. 4 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1979-86.
Ref BS440 .I6 1979 v. 1-4
Freedman, David N., ed. The Anchor Bible Dictionary, 6 vols. New York: Doubleday, 1993.
Ref BS440 .A54 1992 v. 1-6
Green, Joel B., ed. Dictionary of Scripture and Ethics. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2011.
BS680.E84 D53 2011
Ryken, Leland, et al., eds. Dictionary of Biblical Imagery. Downers Grove: IVP, 1998.
Ref BS537 .D48 1998
Sakenfeld, Katharine D., ed. New Interpreter’s Dictionary of the Bible, 6 vols. Nashville: Abingdon, 2006.
Ref BS440 .N443 2006 v. 1-4
Tenney, Merrill C. and J.D. Douglas, eds., rev. Moisés Silva, eds. The Zondervan Illustrated Bible Dictionary. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011.
BS440 .Z66 2011
Vanhoozer, Kevin J., ed. Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2005.
Ref BS440 .D495 2005
Commentaries:
For general information on commentaries, see:
Stuart, Douglas K. A Guide to Selecting and Using Bible Commentaries. Dallas: Word Pub., 1990.
BS491.2 .S78 1990
Evans, John F. A Guide to Biblical Commentaries and Reference Works. 10 th ed. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2016.
Z7770 .E92 2016 BS482
Abingdon Old/New Testament Commentary (AbOTC/ANTC)
The Abingdon Old and New Testament Commentaries is a compact, critical commentary series. They are written with special attention to the needs and interests of theological students, as well as for pastors. They contain basic information about the biblical texts and insights into their meanings, as well as exemplify the tasks and procedures of detailed critical biblical exegesis.
Anchor Bible Commentary (AB)
The Anchor Bible commentary series is the premier commentary series focused on historical criticism. It aims to present the best contemporary scholarship in a way that is accessible not only to scholars but also to the educated nonspecialist. It contains detailed discussion of the nuances of language and translation of the ancient languages and an appreciation of the historical and cultural context in which the biblical books were written, followed by discussions of modern methods such as sociology and literary criticism.
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture (ACCS)
The Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture presents the biblical text supplemented by writings of the early church fathers. A wide range of ancient commentary by the church fathers has been searched to supply the most insightful commentary on the biblical text from the history of the church. The comments chosen provide the best theological, spiritual, and pastoral insights from the biblical text from scholars of the first 600 years of church history. The series promotes a vital link of communication between the varied Christian traditions of today and their common ancient ancestors in the faith.
Apollos Old Testament Commentaries (AOTC)
The Apollos Old and New Testament Commentary is a confessional series that aims to take with equal seriousness the divine and human aspects of Scripture. It interprets the Bible in a scholarly manner that is also accessible to non-experts, and it shows the relevance of the Bible to modern readers. It is intended to serve the needs of those who preach and teach, as well as scholars and all serious students of the Bible.
Baker's New Testament Commentary (BNTC)
This commentary series is for intermediate students of the Bible and pastors who want intermediate level evangelical scholarship. The focus is on exegesis of unit of text, a simplified explanation of critical notes on the Greek text, and application of the text from a Reformed Evangelical perspective.
Berit Olam & Sacra Pagina
This series is written for lay people, Bible scholars, students, and religious leaders. The interpretation focuses on the final form of the texts as literary works, with the Old Testament series especially focusing on the narrative artistry of the texts. The title of the Old Testament series as "Berit Olam" (eternal covenant) showcases the central theme that the authors trace from the Old Testament throughout the series, as the authors make available to all of God’s people the words of the everlasting covenant in all of their beauty. The New Testament volumes are written by an international team of Catholic scholars, as a guide intended for biblical professionals, graduate students, theologians, clergy, and religious educators. Sacra Pagina (sacred page) contains critical analysis without any loss of sensitivity to religious meaning, as shaped by the context of the Catholic tradition.
Brazos
This series is written by theologians, with a focus on theological interpretation. The aim of the series is to interpret scripture for today’s church, providing guidance for reading the Bible under the rule of faith. It is aimed at supporting preaching, teaching in the church, to show the continuing intellectual and practical viability of theological interpretation of the Bible.
Bible Speaks Today - IVP (BST)
The Bible Speaks Today commentaries seek to expound the biblical text with accuracy, to relate it to contemporary life and to be readable to a wide range of audiences; the authors are each noted scholars as well as pastor. This series is great for preaching or teaching, as it contains extensive discussion of applying the biblical message to the church today.
Catholic Commentary on Sacred Scripture (CCSS)
This series from leading Catholic scholars focuses on interpreting the New Testament in the light of the whole of the Bible, with an emphasis on theological and pastoral questions. The series highlights the relationship of Scripture to Catholic theology and personal spiritual formation.
Eerdmans Critical Commentary (ECC)
This series is critical in approach, seeking to give insight into the biblical text and its background, but also discussing issues of theological interpretation, and its application.
The authors seek to combine sensitivity to the original meaning of the text and explication of the relevance of the text for today. The commentaries contain critical notes on the history of the text, and commentary on literary, historical, cultural, and theological aspects of the text, reflecting the contributions of recent textual, philological, literary, historical, and archaeological inquiry, with also discussions of newer sociological methodological approaches. The series is accessible to serious general readers as well as scholars.
Hermeneia
The Hermeneia series is a critical and historical commentary to the Bible, reflecting philological and historical tools, including textual criticism, the methods of the history of tradition, and the history of religion. The aim is to provide the student or scholar with full critical discussion of each problem of interpretation and with the primary data upon which the discussion is based. The series is for advanced studies of the biblical text, with a focus on original languages.
International Critical Commentary (ICC)
The ICC series is one of the longest running commentary series, with the earliest works from the early 1900's. Classically this series has combined a strong focus on exegesis and linguistics, with archaeological, historical, literary and theological reflection at a very academic level. Many of the volumes in this series may be dated, but the series is currently being updated with new editions by modern scholars.
Interpretation
Interpretation is an accessible, yet high-quality resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. It bridges the gap between critical and expository commentaries to the needs of the church. The volumes are each written by scholars who are outstanding academics in each area of the Bible, who also have a passion to make the text relevant for preaching and teaching by including models of expositing the text in the church today.
JPS Torah Commentary
The JPS Torah Commentary series is written by leading scholars from a Jewish perspective, combining the best insights from modern critical scholarship with Jewish traditional exegesis in a succint yet perceptive fashion. The commentary is selective and may not discuss every verse or issue that a reader is interested in, but the comments and discussions that are included are outstanding, and the series is essential for studies of the Books of Moses.
New American Commentary (NAC)
The New American Commentary series is an intermediate exegetical commentary. It is primarily geared for students, ministers, and educated laity seeking to grasp Scripture in a full and in a unified way without having to wade through discussions of technical matters.
New Cambridge Bible Commentary (NCBC)
The New Cambridge Bible Commentary is academically rigorous, but does not assume the reader has a great deal of specialized theological knowledge or an impressive command of the Hebrew, Aramaic, or biblical Greek. It is an update of the earlier Cambridge Bible Commentary from the mid 20th century, which incorporates scholarly insights from recent biblical studies. In addition to a strong focus on the language and historical context of the text, the series also incorporates rhetorical criticism, social scientific criticism, and narrative criticism to provide a fresh look at biblical texts.
New International Commentary on the Old and New Testament (NICOT/NICNT)
This advanced commentary series is accessible to scholars as well as pastors and serious Bible students. The commentary is academically rigorous, from a perspective of a desire to hear the message of the biblical text with greatest accuracy today.
Each volume has an extensive introduction on the authorship, date, purpose, structure, and theology of the books, with the commentary itself having a focus on detailed exegesis of the original languages, followed by an exposition of the biblical text's theology and application.
New Interpreters Bible (NIB)
The New Interpreter's Bible Commentary offers brief but high-quality commentary on the biblical text by leading scholars. It contains concise introductions to historical, social, literary, and theological issues of the text, built on an exegetical analysis of the text. It is accessible and easy to use, and contains extensive reflection on the exposition of the text for the use of the church.
New International Greek Text Commentary (NIGTC)
This series offers outstanding detailed analysis of the Greek text of the New Testament, questions of textual criticism, and historical context of the text. The series is aimed at scholars and advanced Bible students.
New International Version Application Commentary (NIVAC)
The NIV Application commentary is written by leading scholars, with a focus on application of the biblical text for Christian communities. Building on academic scholarship, the emphasis of the series is to give readers the necessary historical information of the text and show how to teach and preach the message of the text today.
Old Testament Library/New Testament Library (OTL/NTL)
The Old Testament Library is one of the most respected commentary series produced in the last 50 years. The focus of this series is on historical-critical issues and a detailed analysis of the biblical text, in a concise format. Introductory matters cover historical concerns, cultural issues, the reception of the text, the integrity of the text, and other interpretive issues.
Pillar New Testament Commentary (PNTC)
The Pillar commentary series combines rigorous exegesis and scholarship with exposition and pastoral sensitivity, with a goal towards contemporary communities understanding biblical theology and seeking the contemporary relevance of the Bible.
Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary
This series is written by outstanding scholars, and seeks to provide academic analysis of the biblical text in an attractive and simple format. The commentary is filled with illustrations, images, references to literature and culture, in order to discern where the biblical text intersects with modern concerns.
Teach the Text Commentary (TTC)
The TTC series contains selective discussion of features of the biblical text, with a focus on teaching the Bible for modern audiences. The series is formatted as a quick and accessible reference for information, illustrations, and tips for exposition in preparation for teaching and preaching.
Tyndale Old/New Testament Commentary (TOTC/TONC)
The Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries are written by leading evangelical scholars, with clear and relevant explanations of the text. The commentary examines the text section by section, drawing out its main themes, with also individual verses discussed, and problems of interpretation considered. The aim is to understand the original meaning of the Bible and to make its message plain to readers today.
Two Horizons Old/New Testament Commentary (THOTC/THNTC)
The Two Horizons Old/New Testament Commentary series combines theological exegesis and theological reflection. It offers detailed attention to philology, grammar, syntax, and concerns of a historical nature, in addition to social-scientific, political, or canonical questions. This series bridges those questions with theological readings of texts, past and present. The result is a paragraph-by-paragraph engagement with the text that is deliberately theological in focus. The theological reflection places each book of the Bible in relation to the whole of Scripture and in conversation with constructive theology of today. The series is written primarily for students, pastors, and Christian leaders seeking to engage in theological interpretation of Scripture.
Word Biblical Commentary (WBC)
The Word Biblical Commentary is a scholarly and technical academic series focused on the exegetical details of the text. It is for pastors and scholars trained in the original languages and exegetical skills. It contains extensive textual and linguistic analysis, along with bibliographies. It is a highly respected series reflecting a range of scholarship from different perspectives.
Zondervan Exegetical Commentary on the Old/New Testament (ZECNT/ZECOT)
This series focuses on exegetical analysis of the original languages of the text, in a way accessible to beginning and intermediate students of Hebrew and Greek. The series is from an evangelical perspective, with a concern for literary and theological features of the text as well.
OLD TESTAMENT
Old Testament Introductions:
Archer, Jr., Gleason A Survey of Old Testament Introduction. Revised edition. Moody, 1994.
BS1140.2 .A7 1985
Birch, Bruce C., Walter Brueggemann, Terence E. Fretheim, and David L. Peterson. A Theological Introduction to the Old Testament. Nashville: Abingdon, 1999.
BS1192.5 .T43 1999
Childs, B.S. Introduction to the Old Testament as Scripture. Fortress, 1979.
BS1140.2 .C48 1979
Collins, John J. Introduction to the Hebrew Bible. Second edition. Fortress, 2014.
BS1140.3 .C65 2004
Coogan, Michael D. The Old Testament: A Historical and Literary Introduction to the Hebrew Scriptures. New York: Oxford University Press, 2006.
BS1197 .C56 2006
Dillard, Raymond, and Tremper Longman III. An Introduction to the Old Testament. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2006.
Gertz, J.C., Angelika Berjelung, Konrad Schmid, and Markus Witte, eds. T&T Clark Hand- book of the Old Testament. Bloomsbury: T&T Clark, 2012.
Goldingay, John. An Introduction to the Old Testament: Exploring Text, Approaches and Issues. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2015.
BS1194 .G635 2015
Harrison, R. K. An Introduction to the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1969; Hendrickson, 2004.
BS1140.2 .H35
Hess, R. S. The Old Testament: A Historical, Critical, and Theological Introduction. Baker, 2016.
Hill, Andrew E. and John H. Walton. Old Testament Today: The Journey from Ancient Context to Contemporary Relevance. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2014.
BS1194 .W33 2013
Knight, Douglas A., and Amy-Jill Levine. The Meaning of the Bible: What the Jewish Scriptures and Christian Old Testament Can Teach Us. New York: HarperOne, 2011.
BS1173.3 .K55 2011
Pemberton, Glenn. The God Who Saves: An Introduction to the Message of the Old Testament. Abilene: ACU Press, 2015.
BS1197 .P394 2015
Schlimm, Matthew R. This Strange and Sacred Scripture: Wrestling with the Old Testament and its Oddities. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2015.
BS1140.3 .S35 2015
Old Testament Theology:
Brueggemann, Walter. Theology of the Old Testament: Testimony, Dispute, Advocacy. Fortress, 1997.
BS1192.5 .B79 1997
Eichrodt, W. Old Testament Theology. 2 vols. OTL. Philadelphia: Westminster, 1961-67.
BS1192.5 .E353 v. 1 & 2
Feldmeier, Reinhard, and Hermann Spieckermann. God of the Living: A Biblical Theology. Trans. Mark E. Biddle. Waco, TX.: Baylor University Press, 2011.
BS544 .F4513 2011
Goldingay, John. Old Testament Theology. Volume One. Israel's Gospel. InterVarsity Press, 2003; Volume Two. Israel's Faith. InterVarsity Press, 2006; Volume Three. Israel’s Life. InterVarsity Press, 2009.
BS1182.3 .G65; BS1182.3 .G645 2006; BS1182.3 .G65 2003
Ollenburger, Ben C., Elmer A. Marten, and Gerhard F. Hasel, eds. The Flowering of Old Testament Theology. Sources for Biblical and Theological Study. Eisenbrauns, 1992.
BS1192.5 .F564 1992
Vanhoozer, Kevin J. ed. Theological Interpretation of the Old Testament: A Book-by-Book Survey. Baker, 2008.
BS1171.3 .T493 2008
Von Rad, G. Old Testament Theology. 2 vols. Harper and Row, 1962-65.
BS1192.5 .R3132 v. 1 & 2
Waltke, Bruce K. An Old Testament Theology: An Exegetical, Canonical, and Thematic Approach. Zondervan, 2007.
BS1192.5 .W35 2007
History of Israel, Religion, & Archaeology:
Bright, J. A History of Israel. 4th ed. Westminster John Knox, 2000.
DS121 .B72 1972
Hess, Richard S. Israelite Religions: An Archaeological and Biblical Survey. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2007.
BM165 .H47 2007
Hoffmeier, James K., and Dennis R. Magary, eds. Do Historical Matters Matter to Faith? A Critical Appraisal of Modern and Postmodern Approaches to Scripture. Wheaton, Ill.: Crossway, 2012.
BS635 .D56 2012
Kaufmann, Yehezkel. The Religion of Israel, from its Beginnings to the Babylonian Exile. Trans. Moshe Greenberg. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1960.
BM155 .K3743
Keel, Othmar and Christoph Uelinger. Gods, Goddesses, and Images of God in Ancient Israel. Translated by Allan W. Mahnke. Fortress, 1998.
BL1640 .K4413 1998
Kitchen, Kenneth. On the Reliability of the Old Testament. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2003.
BS1180 .K56 2003
Lawrence, Paul, Alan Millard, Heinrich von Siebenthal and John Walton, eds. The IVP Atlas of Bible History. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP Academic, 2006.
Oversize BS630 .L38 2006
Long, V. Philips, David W. Baker, and Gordon J. Wenham, eds. Windows into Old Testament History: Evidence, Argument, and the Crisis of "Biblical Israel". Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2002.
BS1180 .W56 2002
Merrill, Eugene. Kingdom of Priests: A History of Old Testament Israel. Baker, 1987.
BS1197 .M45 1996
Miller, J. Maxwell and John H. Hayes. A History of Ancient Israel and Judah. Second edition. Westminster John Knox, 2006.
DS117 .M6 2006
Rainey, Anson F. and R. Steven Notley. Carta's New Century Handbook and Atlas of the Bible. Jerusalem: Carta, 2007.
BS630 .R35 2007
Shanks, Hershel, ed. Ancient Israel. From Abraham to the Roman Destruction of the Temple. Biblical Archaeology Society, 1999.
DS121 .A53 1999
King, Philip J. and Lawrence E. Stager. Life in Biblical Israel. Library of Ancient Israel. Westminster John Knox, 2001.
DS112 .K48 2001
Meyers, Eric M. (ed.). The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East. Five vols. Oxford University, 1997.
Ref DS56 .O9 1997 v. 1-5
Miller, Patrick D. The Religion of Ancient Israel. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2000.
BS1171.2 .M55 2000
Miller, Patrick D., Paul D. Hanson, and S. Dean McBride, eds. Ancient Israelite Religion: Essays in Honor of Frank Moore Cross. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1987.
BS1171.2 .A53 1987
Stern, Ephraim (ed). The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land. Simon and Schuster, 1995.
Ref DS111.A2 E5813 1993 v. 1-4
Walton, John H. Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary: Old Testament. 5 volumes. Zondervan, 2009.
BS1151.52 .Z66 2009 v. 1-5
Yamauchi, Edwin M., and Marvin R. Wilson eds. Dictionary of Daily Life in Biblical and Post-Biblical Antiquity. Hendrickson, 2015.
BS440 .Y37 2014
Ancient Near Eastern Backgrounds to the Old Testament:
Arnold, Bill T. and Bryan E. Beyer, eds. Readings from the ancient Near East: Primary Sources for Old Testament Study. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2002.
BL1060 .R42 2002
Coogan, Michael D. ed., The Oxford History of the Biblical World. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
BS635.2 .O94 1998
Evans, Carl D., William W. Hallo, and John B. White, eds. Scripture in Context: Essays on the Comparative Method. Pittsburg: Pickwick Press, 1980.
BS1171.2 .S35
Hays, Christopher B. Hidden Riches: A Sourcebook for the Comparative Study of the Hebrew Bible and ancient Near East. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2014.
BS1184 .H39 2014
Jacobsen, Thorkild. Treasures of Darkness: A History of Mesopotamian Religion. New Haven: Yale, 1976.
BL2350.I7 J3
Matthews, Victor H., and Don C. Benjamin. Old Testament Parallels: Laws and Stories from the ancient Near East. New York: Paulist Press, 1997.
BS1180 .M42 1997
Pritchard, J.B. (ed.). Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament. 3rd. ed. Princeton University Press, 1969.
Ref BS1180 .P83
Sasson, Jack M. ed., Civilizations of the Ancient Near East. 4 volumes. New York: Scribner, 1995.
Ref DS57 .C55 1995 v. 1-4
Snell, Daniel C. Life in the Ancient Near East, 3100-332 B.C.E. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1997.
DS62.23 .S65 1997
Sparks, Kenton L. Ancient Texts for the Study of the Hebrew Bible: A Guide to the Background Literature. Hendrickson, 2005.
BS1184 .S63 2005
von Soden, Wolfram. The Ancient Orient: An Introduction to the Study of the Ancient Near East. Trans. Donald G. Schley. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1994.
DS57 .S5813 1994
Walton, John. Ancient Near Eastern Thought and the Old Testament. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2006.
BS1171.3 .W35 2006
Hebrew Language:
Arnold, Bill T. and John H. Choi, A Guide to Biblical Hebrew Syntax. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
PJ4701 .A76 2003
Brown, F., S.R. Driver, and C.A. Briggs. Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament. Hendrickson, 1979.
Ref PJ4833 .B73 1996
Botterweck, G. J., H. Ringgren, H.-J. Fabry (eds.). Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1977-2006.
Ref BS440 .B5713 v. 1-15
Chisholm, Jr., Robert B. From Exegesis to Exposition: A Practical Guide to Using Biblical Hebrew. Baker, 1998.
BS1171.2 .C55 1998
Cowley, A.E., and E. Kautzsch (eds.). Gesenius' Hebrew Grammar. 2d Eng. edition. Oxford, 1910.
PJ4563 .G4713 1985
Even-Shoshan, E. A New Concordance of the Old Testament Using the Hebrew and Aramaic Text. Baker, 1985.
Ref BS1121 .E93 1985
Goodrick, E.W., and J.R. Kohlenberger, III. The NIV Exhaustive Concordance. Zondervan, 1990.
Ref BS425 .G62 1990
Holladay, W.L. A Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. Eerdmans, 1971.
PJ4833 .H6
Jenni, E. and C. Westermann (eds.). Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament. 3 vols. Hendrickson, 1997.
Ref BS440 .T4813 1997 v. 1-3
Koehler, L., and W. Baumgartner et al. (eds.). The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament. 3rd ed. 5 vols. Brill, 1994-2001; Study edition, 2 vols. Brill, 2001.
Ref PJ4833 .K61813 1994 v. 1
Landes, George M. A Student's Vocabulary of Biblical Hebrew: Listed According to Frequency and Cognate. New York: Scribner, 1961.
PJ4845 .L25
VanGemeren, Willem A. ed., New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis. 5 vols. Zondervan, 1997.
Ref BS440 .N438 1997 v. 1-5
Sáenz-Badillos, Angel. A History of the Hebrew Language. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
PJ4545 .S2313 1996
Seow, C. L. A Grammar for Biblical Hebrew. Revised edition. Abingdon, 1995.
PJ4567 .S424 1995
Waltke, B.K., and M. O'Connor. An Introduction to Biblical Hebrew Syntax. Eisenbrauns, 1990.
PJ4707 .W35 1990
Old Testament Interpretation, Methodology, & Exegesis:
Alter, Robert. The Art of Biblical Poetry. Basic Books, 1985.
BS1405.2 .A48 1985
Alter, Robert and Frank Kermode (eds.) The Literary Guide to the Bible. Harvard University Press, 1987.
BS535 .L54 1987
Arnold, Bill T., and David W. Baker, eds. The Face of Old Testament Studies: A Survey of Contemporary Approaches. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1999.
BS1193 .F33 1999
Barton, John, ed. The Cambridge Companion to Biblical Interpretation. New York: Cambridge University Press, 1998.
Barton, John. Reading the Old Testament: Method in Biblical Study. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1996.
BS1171.2 .B33 1996
Brettler, Mark Zvi, and Adele Berlin, eds. The Jewish Study Bible. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
BS895 .J4 2004
Fishbane, Michael A. Biblical Interpretation in Ancient Israel. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1988.
BS1186 .F57 1985
Fokkelman, Jan. Reading Biblical Narrative: An Introductory Guide. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 1999.
BS535 .F65 1999
Jobes, Karen H. and Moisés Silva, Invitation to the Septuagint. Baker, 2000. Second edition, 2015.
BS744 .J63 2000
Knight, Douglas A. and Gene M. Tucker. The Hebrew Bible and its Modern Interpreters. Chico, CA.: Scholars Press, 1985.
BS1160 .H43 1985
Kugel, James. The Bible as it Was. Cambridge: Belknap, 1997.
BS1225.2 .K84 1997
Kugel, James. The Idea of Biblical Poetry: Parallelism and its History. New Haven: Yale, 1981.
BS1405.2 .K83
Levenson, Jon D. The Hebrew Bible, the Old Testament, and Historical Criticism: Jews and Christians in Biblical Studies. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 1993.
BS476 .L48 1993
Mays, James L., David L. Peterson, and Kent H. Richards, eds. Old Testament Interpretation: Past, Present, and Future. Nashville: Abingdon, 1995.
BS1171.2 .O43 1995
Ryken, Leland and Tremper Longman III (eds.). A Complete Literary Guide to the Bible. Zondervan, 1993.
BS535 .C56 1993
Schertz, Mary H, and Perry B. Yoder. Seeing the Text: Exegesis for Students of Greek and Hebrew. Nashville: Abingdon, 2001.
BS476 .S325 2001
Soulen, Richard N. and R. Kendall Soulen. Handbook of Biblical Criticism. 3rd ed. Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press, 2001.
Ref BS511.3 .S68 2001
Steck, Odil Hannes. Old Testament Exegesis: A Guide to the Methodology. Trans. James D. Nogalski. Atlanta: Scholars Press, 1998.
BS1174.2 .B3713 1998
Stuart, Douglas. Old Testament Exegesis. A Handbook for Students and Pastors. 2nd edition. Westminster John Knox, 1984.
BS476 .S83 1984
Tov, Emmanuel. Textual Criticism of the Hebrew Bible. 3rd edition. Fortress, 2011.
BS1136 .T6813 2012
Watson, Wilfred G.E. Classical Hebrew Poetry: A Guide to its Techniques. Sheffield: JSOT Press, 1986.
BS1405.2 .W348 1984
Würthwein, Ernst. The Text of the Old Testament. 2nd edition. Eerdmans, 1995.
BS1136 .W813 1979
Pentateuch:
Alexander, T. Desmond, and David W. Baker, eds. Dictionary of the Old Testament : Pentateuch. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 2003.
Ref BS1225.52 .D53 2003
Alexander, T. D. From Paradise to the Promised Land: An Introduction to the Pentateuch. Second edition. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2002.
BS1225 .A542 1998
Blenkinsopp, Joseph. The Pentateuch: An Introduction to the First Five Books of the Bible. ABRL. New York: Doubleday, 1992.
BS1225.2 .B544 1992
Briggs, Richard S. and Joel N. Lohr, eds. A Theological Introduction to the Pentateuch: Interpreting the Torah as Christian Scripture. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2012.
BS1225.52 .T54 2012
Crüsemann, Frank. The Torah: Theology and Social History of Old Testament Law. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1996.
BS1225.6.L3 C7813 1996
Dozeman, Thomas. The Pentateuch: Introducing the Torah. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2017.
BS1225.52 .D69 2017
Gafney, Wilda. Womanist Midrash: A Reintroduction to the Women of the Torah and the Throne. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2017.
BS1181.8 .G34 2017
Gane, Roy E. Old Testament Law for Christians: Original Context and Enduring Application. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2017.
Hamilton, Victor R. Handbook to the Pentateuch. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1982.
BS1225.2 .H35 1982
Sailhammer, John. The Meaning of the Pentateuch: Revelation, Composition, and Interpretation. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2009.
BS1225.52 .S25 2009
Walton, John H., and Victor Harold Matthews. The IVP Bible Background Commentary : Genesis- -Deuteronomy. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1997.
BS1225.3 .W34 1997
Historical Books (Joshua-2 Kings):
Arnold, Bill T., and H.G.M. Williamson, eds. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2005.
BS1205.55 .D53 2005
Campbell, Antony F. Unfolding the Deuteronomistic History: Origins, Upgrades, Present Text. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2000.
BS1286.5 .C36 2000
Ducher-Walls, Patricia. Reading the Historical Books: A Student's Guide to Engaging the Biblical Text. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2014.
BS1205.55 .D88 2014
Joseph, Alison L. Portrait of the Kings: The Davidic Prototype in Deuteronomistic Poetics. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2015.
BS1335.52 .J68 2015
Knoppers, Gary N. and J. Gordon McConville, eds. Reconsidering Israel and Judah: Recent Studies on the Deuteronomistic History. Winona Lake, Ind.: Eisenbrauns, 2000.
BS1286.5 .R43 2000
McKenzie, Steven L. Introduction to the Historical Books: Strategies for Reading. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2010.
BS1205.52 .M35 2010
Römer, Thomas. The So-Called Deuteronomistic History: A Sociological, Historical, and Literary Introduction. New York: T&T Clark, 2007.
BS1286.5 .R66 2007
Walton, John H. The Lost World of the Israelite Conquest: Covenant, Retribution, and the Fate of the Canaanites. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2017.
BS1199.V56 W35 2017
Hebrew Prophets:
Blenkinsopp, Joseph. A History of Prophecy in Israel. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 1983.
BS1198 .B53 1983
Brueggemann, Walter. The Prophetic Imagination. Minneapolis: Fortress, 1984.
BS1198 .B84
Firth, David G., and H.G.M. Williamson, eds. Interpreting Isaiah: Issues and Approaches. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2009.
BS1515.52 .I58 2009
Gowan, Donald E. Theology of the Prophetic Books: The Death and Resurrection of Israel. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 1998.
BS1505.2 .G67 1998
Heschel, Abraham J. The Prophets. Prince Press/Hendrickson, 1962.
BS1505.2 .H4 1962
Lundbom, Jack R. The Hebrew Prophets: An Introduction. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2010.
BS1505.52 .L86 2010
McConville, J. Gordon. Exploring the Old Testament, Volume 4: A Guide to the Prophets. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity, 2002.
BS1140.3 .M33 2002
Nogalski, James D. Interpreting Prophetic Literature: Historical and Exegetical Tools for Reading the Prophets. Westminster John Knox, 2015.
BS1505.52 .N64 2015
Petersen, David L. The Prophetic Literature: An Introduction. Westminster John Knox, 2002.
BS1198 .P46 2002
Psalms, Wisdom, Writings:
Bartholomew, Craig G., and Ryan P. O'Dowd. Old Testament Wisdom Literature: A Theological Introduction. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2011.
BS1455 .B27 2011
Brueggemann, Walter. The Message of the Psalms: A Theological Commentary. Minneapolis: Augsburg, 1984.
BS1430.3 .B78 1984
Bullock, C. Hassell. Encountering the Book of Psalms: A Literary and Theological Introduction. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001.
BS1430.2 .B85 2004
Camp, Phillip G. and Tremper Longman III, eds. Praying with Ancient Israel: Exploring the Theology of Prayer in the Old Testament. Abilene: ACU Press, 2015.
BS1199.P68 P739 2015
Crenshaw, James L. Old Testament Wisdom: An Introduction. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2010.
BS1455 .C65 2010
Futato, Mark D. and David M. Howard. Interpreting the Psalms: An Exegetical Handbook. Grand Rapids: Kregel, 2007.
Jacobsen, Rolf A. Soundings in the Theology of Psalms: Perspectives and Methods in Contemporary Scholarship. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2011.
BS1430.52 .S63 2011
Keel, Othmar. The Symbolism of the Biblical World: Ancient Near Eastern Iconography and the Book of Psalms. Winona Lake, Ind.: Eisenbrauns, 1997.
BS1430.5 .K4313 1997
Longman, Tremper III., and Peter Enns, eds. Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry, & Writings. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2008.
BS440 .D53 2008
McCann, Clinton J. A Theological Introduction to the Book of Psalms: The Psalms as Torah. Nashville: Abingdon, 1993.
BS1430.5 .M35 1993
Perdue, Leo G. The Sword and the Stylus: An Introduction to Wisdom in the Age of Empires. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2008.
BS1455 .P38 2008
Perdue, Leo G. Wisdom and Creation: The Theology of Wisdom Literature. Nashville: Abingdon, 1994.
BS1455 .P39 1994
Sneed, Mark. The Social World of the Sages: An Introduction to Israelite and Jewish Wisdom Literature. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2015.
BS1455 .S68 2015
NEW TESTAMENT
New Testament Introduction:
Anderson, Paul N. From Crisis to Christ: A Contextual Introduction to the New Testament. Nashville: Abingdon, 2014.
BS2330.3 .A53 2014
Carson, D. A. and Douglas J. Moo. An Introduction to the New Testament. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2005.
BS2330.3 .C37 2005
Carter, Warren and Amy-Jill Levine. The New Testament: Methods and Meanings. Nashville: Abingdon, 2013.
BS2341.52 .C374 2013
deSilva, David A. An Introduction to the New Testament: Context, Methods and Ministry Formation. Downers Grove: IVP, 2004.
BS2330.3 .D47 2004
Elwell, Walter A. and Robert W. Yarbrough. Encountering the New Testament and Readings from the First-Century World. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2005.
BR167 .R43 1998
Holladay, Carl R. A Critical Introduction to the New Testament: Interpreting the Message and Meaning of Jesus Christ. Nashville: Abingdon, 2005.
BS2361.3 .H65 2005
Johnson, Luke T. The Writings of the New Testament. Minneapolis: Fortress, 2010.
BS2330.2 .J64 1986
Köstenberger, Andreas J., L. Scott Kellum and Charles L. Quarles. The Cradle, The Cross, and the Crown: An Introduction to the New Testament. Nashville: B&H, 2009.
BS2330.3 .K637 2009
Powell, Mark A. Introducing the New Testament: A Historical, Literary, and Theological Survey. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2009.
BS2330.3 .P67 2009
Witherington, Ben III. Invitation to the New Testament: First Things. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2012.
BS2330.3 .W575 2013
Greek Language:
Balz, Horst and Gerhard Schneider, eds. Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament, 3 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1990-93.
Ref BS2312 .E913 1990 v. 1-3.
Black, David A. It's Still Greek to Me: An Easy-to-Understand Guide to Intermediate Greek. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1998.
PA817 .B545 1998
Blass, Friedrich, Albert Debrunner, and Robert W. Funk. A Greek Grammar of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1961.
Ref PA813.B513 1961
Liddell, H. G. and Robert Scott. A Greek-English Lexicon, 9th ed. Oxford: Clarendon, 1925-40; repr. 1968 [for classical Greek].
Ref PA445.E5 L6 1961
Louw, Johannes P. and Eugene A. Nida. A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament Based on Semantic Domains, 2 vols. New York: UBS, 1988.
Ref PA881 .G68 1989 v. 1-2
Moule, C.F.D. An Idiom Book of New Testament Greek. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1959.
PA851 .M6 1960
Mounce, William D. The Morphology of Biblical Greek. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1994.
PA836 .M68 1994
Trenchard, Warren C. Complete Vocabulary Guide to the Greek New Testament. Rev. ed. Grand Rapids: Zondervan Publishing, 1998.
PA863 .T74 1998
Wallace, Daniel B. Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1996.
PA851 .W34 1996
Textual Criticism of the New Testament:
Aland, Kurt and Barbara Aland. The Text of the New Testament. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1989.
BS1937.5 .A42 1989
Black, David A. New Testament Textual Criticism: A Concise Guide. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1994.
BS2325 .B63 1994
Greenlee, J. Harold. Introduction to New Testament Textual Criticism. 2nd edition. Peabody: Hendrickson, 1995.
BS2325 .G67 1995
Metzger, Bruce. The Text of the New Testament: Its Transmission, Corruption, and Restoration. New York: Oxford, 1992.
BS2325 .M4 1992
Wegner, Paul D. A Student's Guide to Textual Criticism of the Bible: Its History, Methods, and Results. Westmont: IVP Academic, 2012.
e-book
New Testament Backgrounds:
Evans, Craig A. and Stanley E. Porter, eds. Dictionary of New Testament Background. Downers Grove: IVP, 2000.
Ref BS2312 .D53 2000
Barclay, John M. G. Jews in the Mediterranean Diaspora: From Alexander to Trajan (323 BCE to 117 CE. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1999.
DS135.M43 B37 1996
Bauckham, Richard. The Jewish World Around the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2010.
BS2387 .B38 2010
Charlesworth, James H. The Old Testament Pseudepigrapha and the New Testament. 2nd edition. Valley Forge: Trinity Press Intl., 1998.
BS1700 .C44 1985
Charlesworth, James H., ed. Jesus and Archaeology. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2006.
BS621 .J47 2006
Cohick, Lynn H. Women in the World of the Earliest Christians: Illuminating Ancient Ways of Life. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2009.
BR195.W6 C63 2009
deSilva, David A. Introducing the Apocrypha: Message, Context, and Significance. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2002.
BS1700 .D44 2002
Evans, Craig A. Ancient Texts for New Testament Studies: A Guide to the Background Literature. Peabody: Hendrickson, 2005.
BS2530 .E93 2011
Evans, Craig A. Jesus and His World: The Archaeological Evidence. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2012.
BS621 .E885 2012
Ferguson, Everett. Backgrounds of Early Christianity. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1987.
BR129 .F47 1987
Green, Joel B. and Lee M. McDonald. The World of the New Testament: Cultural, Social, and Historical Contexts. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2013.
DS122 .W67 2013
Hengel, Martin. Judaism and Hellenism. Trans. John Bowden. 2 Vols. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1974.
BM176 .H413 1981
Hengel, Martin. The Zealots: Investigations into the Jewish Freedom Movement in the Period from Herod I until 70 A.D.. Trans. David Smith. Edinburgh: T&T Clark, 1989.
BM175.Z4 H413 1989
Jeffers, James S. The Greco-Roman World of the New Testament Era. Downers Grove: IVP, 1999.
BS2410 .J44 1999
Jobes, Karen H. and Moisés Silva. Invitation to the Septuagint. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2015.
BS744 .J63 2000
Keener, Craig S. The IVP Bible Background Commentary: New Testament. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 2014.
e-book
Mason, Steve. Josephus and the New Testament. Peabody: Hendrickson, 1992.
DS115.9.J6 M38 1992
Skarsaune, Oskar. In the Shadow of the Temple: Jewish Influences on Early Christianity. Downers Grove: IVP, 2002.
BR165 .S59 2002
VanderKam, James C. The Dead Sea Scrolls Today. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1994.
BM487 .V26 1994
Witherington, Ben, III. New Testament History: A Narrative Account. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001.
BS2410 .W55 2001
Wright, N. T. The New Testament and the People of God. Minneapolis: Fortress, 1992.
BS2398 .W75 1992
New Testament Theology
Beale, G. K. A New Testament Biblical Theology: The Unfolding of the Old Testament in the New. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2011.
BS2397 .B39 2011
Brown, Colin, ed. New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology, 3 vols. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1978.
Ref BS2397 .N48 v. 1-3
Hurtado, Larry W. Lord Jesus Christ: Devotion to Jesus in Earliest Christianity. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2003.
BT198 .H87 2005
Kittel, Gerhard and Gerhard Friedrich, ed. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, 10 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1964-76.
BS2312 .K5813 1964
Ladd, George E. A Theology of the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1974.
BS2397 .L33
Marshall, I. Howard. New Testament Theology: Many Witnesses, One Gospel. Downers Grove: IVP, 2004.
BS2397 .M37 2004
Schnelle, Udo. Theology of the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2009.
BS2397 .S4613 2009
Schreiner, Thomas R. Magnifying God in Christ: A Summary of New Testament Theology. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2010.
BS2397 .S468 2010
Thielman, Frank. New Testament Theology: A Canonical and Synthetic Approach. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2005.
BS2397 .T445 2005
Witherington, Ben III. The Indelible Image: The Theological and Ethical World of the New Testament, 2 vols. Downers Grove: IVP, 2009-10.
BS2361.3 .W58 2009
New Testament Interpretation, Methodology, & Exegesis:
Bartholomew, Craig. Introducing Biblical Hermeneutics: A Comprehensive Framework for Hearing God in Scripture. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2015.
BS476 .B37 2015
Beale, G. K. and D. A. Carson, eds. Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2007.
BS511.3 .C653 2007
Bray, Gerald L. Biblical Interpretation: Past and Present. Downers Grove: IVP, 1996.
BS476 .B59 1996
Brown, Jeannine. Scripture as Communication: Introducing Biblical Hermeneutics. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2007.
BS476 .B68 2007
Carson, D. A. Exegetical Fallacies. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1984.
BS540 .C36 1984
Green, Joel B., ed. Hearing the New Testament. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2010.
BS2331 .H43 2010
Osborne, Grant R. The Hermeneutical Spiral. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 1991.
BS476 .O79 1991
Porter, Stanley E., ed., Handbook to Exegesis of the New Testament. New York: Brill, 1997.
Ref BS2331 .H35 1997
Soulen, Richard N. and R. Kendall Soulen. Handbook of Biblical Criticism. 4th edition. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2011.
Ref BS511.3 .S68 2001
Vanhoozer, Kevin J. Is There a Meaning in this Text? The Bible, the Reader, and the Morality of Literary Knowledge. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1998.
BS476 .V34 1998
Jesus and the Gospels
Barnett, Paul. Jesus and the Rise of Early Christianity: A History of New Testament Times. Downers Grove: IVP, 1999.
BS2410 .B277 1999
Blomberg, Craig L. The Historical Reliability of the Gospels. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP, 1987.
BS2555.2 .B585 1987
Bock, Darrell L. and Robert L. Webb, Key Events in the Life of the Historical Jesus. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2010.
BT303.2 .K475 2010
Dunn, James D. G. Jesus Remembered. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2003.
BT203 .D86 2003
Green, Joel B., Jeannine K. Brown, and Nicholas Perrin, eds. Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels. 2nd edition. Downers Grove: IVP, 2013.
e-book
Hays, Richard B. Echoes of Scripture in the Gospels. Waco: Baylor University Press, 2016.
BS2555.52 .H385 2016
Hays, Richard B. Reading Backwards: Figural Christology and the Fourfold Gospel. Waco: Baylor University Press, 2014.
BS2555.52 .H39 2014
Holmén, Tom and Stanley E. Porter, eds. Handbook for the Study of the Historical Jesus, 4 vols. Leiden: Brill, 2010.
e-book
Keener, Craig S. Miracles. 2 vols. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2011.
BS2548 .K44 2011 v. 1 v. 1-2
Meier, John P. A Marginal Jew, 5 vols. New York: Doubleday, 1991-2001.
BT303.2 .M465 1991 v. 1-3
Pennington, Jonathan T. Reading the Gospels Wisely: A Narrative and Theological Introduction. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2012.
BS2555.52 .P455 2012
Watson, Francis. The Fourfold Gospel: A Theological Reading of the New Testament Portraits of Jesus. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2016.
Wright, N. T. Jesus and the Victory of God. Minneapolis: Fortress, 1996.
BS2398 .W75 1992 v. 2
Wright, N. T. The Resurrection of the Son of God. Minneapolis: Fortress, 2003.
BS2398 .W75 1992 v.3
Acts of the Apostles:
Blomberg, Craig L. From Pentecost to Patmos: An Introduction to Acts through Revelation. Nashville: B & H, 2006.
BS2619 .B56 2006
Hemer, Colin J. The Book of Acts in the Setting of Hellenistic History, ed. Conrad Gempf. Winona Lake, Ind.: Eisenbrauns, 1990.
BS2625.2 .H415 1990
Marshall, I. Howard and David Peterson. Witness to the Gospel: The Theology of Acts. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1998.
BS2625.2 .W575 1998
Rowe, C. Kavin. World Upside Down: Reading Acts in the Graeco-Roman Age. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009.
BS2625.52 .R69 2009
Winter, Bruce W., ed. The Book of Acts in Its First-Century Setting, 5 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993-96.
BS2625.2 .B65 v. 1-5
Apostle Paul:
Barclay, John M. G. Paul and the Gift. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2015.
BS2655.G65 B37 2015
Dunn, James D. G. The New Perspective on Paul. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2008.
BS2651 .D837 2008
Dunn, James D. G. The Theology of Paul the Apostle. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1998.
BS2651 .D84 1998
Hays, Richard B. The Conversion of the Imagination: Paul as Interpreter of Israel's Scripture. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2005.
BS2655.R32 H38 2005
Hays, Richard B. Echoes of Scripture in the Letters of Paul. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1989.
BS2655.R32 H39 1989
Hawthorne, Gerald F., Ralph P. Martin, and Daniel G. Reid, eds. Dictionary of Paul and His Letters. Downers Grove: IVP, 1993.
Ref BS2650.2 .D53 1993
Martyn, J. Louis. Theological Issues in the Letters of Paul. Nashville: Abingdon, 1997.
BS2651 .M38 1997
Ridderbos, Herman. Paul: An Outline of His Theology. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1975.
BS2651 .R513
Schreiner, Thomas E. Paul: Apostle of God’s Glory in Christ. Downers Grove: IVP, 2001.
BS2651 .S277 2006
Wenham, David. Paul: Follower of Jesus or Founder of Christianity? Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1995.
BS2653 .W45 1995
Wright, N.T. The Paul Debate: Critical Questions for Understanding the Apostle. Waco: Baylor University Press, 2015.
BS2650.52 .W75 2015
Wright, N.T. Paul and His Recent Interpreters: Some Contemporary Debates. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2015.
BS2651 .W75 2015
General Epistles & Revelation:
Bauckham, Richard, ed. The Epistle to Hebrews and Christian Theology. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2009.
BS2775.55 .E64 2009
Bauckham, Richard. The Theology of the Book of Revelation. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
BS2825.2 .B387 1993
Bauckham, Richard. The Climax of Prophecy: Studies in the Book of Revelation. Edinburgh: T&T Clark, 1999.
BS2825.2 .B385 1999
Bauckham, Richard. Jude and the Relatives of Jesus in the Early Church. Edinburgh: T&T Clark, 1990.
BS2545.J44 B38 1990
Blomberg, Craig L. From Pentecost to Patmos: An Introduction to Acts through Revelation. Nashville: B & H, 2006.
BS2619 .B56 2006
Bockmuehl, Markus. Simon Peter in Scripture and Memory: The New Testament Apostle in the Early Church. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2012.
BS2515 .B635 2012
Bond, Helen, and Larry Hurtado, eds. Peter in Early Christianity. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2015.
Chilton, Bruce, and Craig A. Evans, eds. James the Just and Christian Origins. Leiden: Brill, 1999.
BS2454.J3 .J36 1999
Collins, John J. Apocalypse, Prophecy, and Pseudepigraphy: On Jewish Apocalyptic Literature. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2015.
BS646 .C649 2015
deSilva, David A. The Jewish Teachers of Jesus, James, and Jude: What Earliest Christianity Learned from the Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha. New York: Oxford University Press, 2012.
BS1700 .D47 2012
Gorman, Michael J. Reading Revelation Responsibly: Uncivil Worship and Witness: Following the Lamb into the New Creation. Eugene, OR.: Cascade, 2011.
BS2825.52 .G67 2011
Jobes, Karen H. Letters to the Church:A Survey of Hebrews and the General Epistles. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011.
BS2775.55 .J63 2011
Martin, Ralph P. and Peter H. Davids, eds. Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments. Downers Grove: IVP, 1998.
Ref BS2625.5 .D53 1997
Murphy, Frederick J. Apocalypticism in the Bible and its World. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2012.
BS646 .M87 2012
CHURCH HISTORY
Dictionaries & Reference Works
Benedetto, Robert, James O. Duke, Carl Lindberg, Christopher Ocker, and Rebecca Weaver, eds. The New Westminster Dictionary of Church History. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox, 2008.
Red 500 .W4 2008
Bradley, James E. & Richard A. Muller. Church History: An Introduction to Research Methods and Resources. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2016.
eBook
Cross, F.L, and Elizabeth Livingstone, eds. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. 3rd edition. Oxford: Oxford UP, 1997.
Ref BR95 .O8 1997
Di Berardino, Angelo, ed. Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity. Downers Grove, Ill: IVP, 2014. eBook
Di Berardino, Angelo, ed. Encyclopedia of the Early Church. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992.
Ref BR162.2 .E5413 1992
Ferguson, Everett, Michael P McHugh, & Frederick W. Norris, eds. Encyclopedia of Early Christianity. New York: Routledge, 1999.
eBook
Foster, Douglas, ed. The Encyclopedia of the Stone-Campbell Movement. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2004.
Ref BX7321.3 .E53 2004
Gonzalez, Justo. Church History: An Essential Guide. Nashville: Abingdon, 1996.
BR145.2 .G65 1996
Hart, Trevor A. and Richard Bauckham, eds. The Dictionary of Historical Theology. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000.
Ref BT21.2 .D53 2000
Walsh, Michael. Dictionary of Christian Biography. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 2001.
Ref BR1700.3 .D53 2001
Williams, D. Newell, Douglas A. Foster, & Paul M. Blowers, The Stone-Campbell Movement: A Global History. St. Louis: Chalice Press, 2013.
BX7315 .S77 2012
Historical Overviews
Aland, Kurt. A History of Christianity. Trans. James L. Schaaf. Philadelphia: Fortress, 1986.
BR145.2 .A413 1985
Atiya, Aziz Suryal. History of Eastern Christianity. Notre Dame, IN: University of Notre Dame Press, 1968.
BX103.2 .A8 1968
Baum, Wilhelm, & Dietmar Winkler. The Church of the East: A Concise History. New York: Routledge, 2003. eBook
Baumer, Christoph. The Church of the East: An Illustrated History of Assyrian Christianity. London: I.B. Tauris, 2016. eBook
Boer, Harry. A Short History of the Early Church. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1976.
BR165 .B645
Brent, Allen. A Political History of Early Christianity. London: T&T Clark, 2009.
eBook
Brox, Norbert. A Concise History of the Early Church. New York: Continuum, 1995.
BR165 .B712 1995
Conzelmann, Hans. History of Primitive Christianity. Nashville, TN: Abingdon, 1973.
BR165 .C6613
Dwyer, John C. Church History: Twenty Centuries of Catholic Christianity. New York: Paulist Press, 1998.
BR145.2 .D88 1998
Deanesly, Margaret. A History of the Medieval Church, 590-1500. New York: Routledge, 1969 eBook
Dussel, Enrique. A History of the Church in Latin America. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1981.
BR600 .D8713 1981
Early, Joseph. A History of Christianity: An Introductory Survey. Nashville, TN: B&H Academic, 2015. eBook
Ferguson, Everett. Church History. 2 Volumes. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2005.
BR145.3 .F47 2005 v.1
Frend, W.H.C. The Rise of Christianity. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1984.
BR162.2 .F733 1984
Gonzalez, Justo. The Story of Christianity. 2 Volumes. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1984.
BR142 .G66 1984 v. 1
Hartman, Dayton. Church History for Modern Ministry: Why our Past Matters for Everything We Do. Ashland: Lexham Press, 2016.
eBook
Hinson, E. Glenn. The Church Triumphant: A History of Christianity Up to 1300. Macon, GA: Mercer, 1995.
BR162.2 .H56 1995
Holmes, J. Derek. A Short History of the Catholic Church. London: Burns & Oates, 2002.
eBook
Isichei, Elizabeth Allo. A History of Christianity in Africa: From Antiquity to the Present. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1995.
BR1360 .I75 1995
Johnson, Paul. A History of Christianity. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1976.
BR145.2 .J63
Koester, Helmut. History and Literature of Early Christianity. 2nd edition. New York: de Gruyter, 2000.
eBook
MacCulloch, Diarmaid. Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years. New York: Viking, 2010. BR145.3 .M33 2010
Maclear, J.F. Church and State in the Modern Age: A Documentary History. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.
BR450 .C48 1995
Manschreck, Clyde L. A History of Christianity in the World: From Persecution to Uncertainty. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1974.
BR145.2 .M3
Noll, Mark A. A History of Christianity in the United States and Canada. 2nd edition. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2019.
eBook
Petry, Ray C. ed. A History of Christianity: Readings in the History of the Early and Medieval Church. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1962.
BR141 .H53
Shelley, Bruce. Church History in Plain Language. Dallas, TX: Word, 1995.
BR150 .S52 1995
Stark, Rodney. The Rise of Christianity: A Sociologist Reconsiders History. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1996.
BR166 .S75 1996
Sundkler, Bengt & Christopher Steed. A History of the Church in Africa. New York: Cambridge UP, 2000.
eBook
Walker, Williston. A History of the Christian Church. New York: Scribner, 1985.
BR145 .W34 1985
Woodson, Carter. A History of the African American Church. La Vergne: Diasporic Africa Press, 2017.
eBook
Restoration Movement
Allen, C. Leonard, & Richard T. Hughes. Discovering Our Roots: The Ancestry of Churches of Christ. Abilene, TX: ACU Press, 1988.
BX7076 .A45 1988
Allen, C. Leonard. Distant Voices: Discovering A Forgotten Past for a Changing Church. Abilene, TX: ACU Press, 1993.
BX7075 .A44 1993
Garrett, Leroy. The Stone-Campbell Movement. Joplin, MO: College Press, 1981.
BX7316 .G18 1981
Garrison, W. E. An American Religious Movement: A Brief History of the Disciples of Christ. St. Louis, MO: Christian Board of Publication, 1945.
BX7315 .G37
Holloway, Gary, & Douglas A. Foster. Renewing God’s People: A Concise History of Churches of Christ. Abilene, TX: ACU Press, 2001.
BX7075 .H65 2001
Holloway, Gary, & Douglas A. Foster. Renewing the World: A Concise Global History of the Stone-Campbell Movement. Abilene, TX: ACU Press, 2015.
BX 7315 .H35 2015
Hughes, Richard. Reviving the Ancient Faith: The Story of Churches of Christ in America. 2nd edition. Abilene, TX: ACU Press, 2008.
BX7075 .H84 2008
Key, Barclay. Race & Restoration: Churches of Christ and the Black Freedom Struggle. Baton Rouge, LA: LSU Press, 2020.
BX7075.Z5 S685 2020
Murch, James. Christians Only: A History of the Restoration Movement. Cincinnati, OH: Standard, 1962.
BX7315 .M9
North, James B. Union in Truth: An Interpretive History of the Restoration Movement. Cincinnati, OH: Standard, 1994.
BX7316 .N67 1994
Randall, Max Ward. The Great Awakenings and the Restoration Movement. Joplin, MO: College Press, 1983.
BX7316 .R36 1983
Robinson, Edward. Show Us How You Do It: Marshall Keeble and the Rise of Black Churches of Christ in the United States, 1914-1968. Tuscaloosa, AL: University of Alabama Press, 2008.
eBook
Robinson, Edward. Hard-Fighting Soldiers: A History of African American Churches of Christ. Knoxville, TN: University of Tennessee Press, 2019.
BX7075 .R63 2019
Tristano, Richard. The Origins of the Restoration Movement: An Intellectual History. Atlanta, GA: Glenmary Research Center, 1988.
BX7315 .T75 1988
Toulouse, Mark. Renewing Christian Unity: A Concise History of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ). Abilene, TX: ACU Press, 2011.
BX7316 .T68 2010
Webb, Henry E. In Search of Christian Unity: A History of the Restoration Movement. Cincinnati, OH: Standard, 1990.
BX7315 .W333 1990
West, Earl I. The Search for the Ancient Order: A History of the Restoration Movement. Indianapolis: Religious Book Service, 1949.
BX7316 .W47 1949
SYSTEMATIC THEOLOGY
Theology Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Atkinson, David J, & David H. Field, eds. New Dictionary of Christian Ethics & Pastoral Theology. Downers Grove, Ill.: InterVarsity Press, 1995.
Ref BJ1199.N495 1995
Beinert, Wolfgang, & Francis Schüssler Fiorenza, eds. Handbook of Catholic Theology. New York: Crossroad, 1995.
BX1745.5.L4913 1995
Bercot, David W. A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs: A Reference Guide to More than 700 Topics Discussed by the Early Church Fathers. Peabody, Mass.: Hendrickson, 1998.
Ref BR66.5.D53 1998
Brown, Colin. The New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1975-1978.
Ref BS2397.N48 v.1-3.
Byrne, Peter, & Leslie Houlden, eds. Companion Encyclopedia of Theology. New York: Routledge, 1995.
Ref BR118.C66 1995
Cannon, Katie G., and Pinn, Anthony B., ed. The Oxford Handbook of African American Theology. Oxford UP, 2018.
eBook
Clarke, Paul Barry, & Andrew Linzey, eds. Dictionary of Ethics, Theology, and Society. New York: Routledge, 1996.
Ref BJ63.D53 1996
Collinge, William J. Historical Dictionary of Catholicism. Lanham: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
BX945.3.C65 2012
Copan, Paul, Tremper Longman III, Christopher L. Reese, & Michael G. Strauss, eds. Dictionary of Christianity and Science: The Definitive Reference for the Intersection of Christian Faith and Contemporary Science. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2017.
BL240.3.D53
Cross, F.L., ed. The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Ref BR95.O8 1997
Di Berardion, Angelo, ed. Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity. Downers Grove, Ill.: IVP Academic, 2014. 3 Volumes.
Ref BR 66.5.D5813 2014 v.1-3
Elwell, Walter A., ed. Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2001.
Ref BR95.E87 2001
Fahlbusch, Erwin, ed. The Encyclopedia of Christianity. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1999. 5 Volumes.
Ref BR95.E8913 1999 v.1-5
Ferguson, Sinclair B., David F. Wright, & J.I. Packer, eds. New Dictionary of Theology. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press, 1988.
Ref BR95.N39 1988
Flint, Thomas P, & Michael C. Rea, eds. The Oxford Handbook of Philosophical Theology. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
BT40.O94 2011
Hart, Trevor A, ed. The Dictionary of Historical Theology. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2000.
Ref BT21.2.D53 2000
Hastings, Adrian, Alistair Mason, & Hugh Pyper, eds. The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
Ref BR95.O94 2000
Komonchak, Joseph A., Mary Collins, & Dermot A. Lane, eds. The New Dictionary of Theology. Wilmington: Michael Glazier, 1987.
BR95.N38 1987
McDermott, Gerald R. The Oxford Handbook of Evangelical Theology. New York: Oxford University Press, 2010.
BR1640.O83 2010
McFarland, Ian A., ed. The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2011.
BV2.5.C36 2011
McGrath, Alister, ed. The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought. Cambridge: Blackwell, 1993.
Ref BR95.B58 1993
Russell, Letty M., and J. Shannon Clarkson, eds. Dictionary of Feminist Theologies. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 1996.
BT83.55.D53 1996
Stuhlmueller, Carroll, ed. The Collegeville Pastoral Dictionary of Biblical Theology. Collegeville: Liturgical Press, 1996.
Ref BS417.C735 1996
VanGemeren, Willem A, ed. New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology & Exegesis. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1997.
Ref BS440.N438 1997 v.1-5.
Vanhoozer, Kevin J, ed. Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2005.
Ref BS440.D495 2005
Walls, Jerry L, ed. The Oxford Handbook of Eschatology. Oxford UP, 2008.
BT821.3 .O94 2010
Webster, John, Kathryn Tanner, & Iain Torrance, eds. The Oxford Handbook of Systematic Theology. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009.
BT10.O83 2009
Introductory Theology Textbooks
Allison, Gregg R. Historical Theology: An Introduction to Christian Doctrine: A Companion to Wayne Grudem's Systematic Theology. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011.
BT21.3.A44 2011
Baker-Fletcher, Karen. Dancing with God: The Trinity from a Womanist Perspective. St Louis: Chalice Press, 2006.
eBook
Bell, David N. A Cloud of Witnesses: An Introduction to the Development of Christian Doctrine to AD 500. 2nd Revised Ed. Cistercian Studies 218. Kalamazoo: Cistercian Publications, 2007.
eBook
Donald G. Bloesch, Essentials of Evangelical Theology, 2 vols. New York: Harper & Row, 1982.
BR1640.B54 v.1
Carmody, John Tully, & D.L. Carmody. Contemporary Catholic Theology. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1985.
BX1747.C35 1985
Coakley, Sarah. God, Sexuality, and the Self: An Essay ‘On the Trinity.’ Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2013.
BT111.3 .C63 2013
Duke, James O., and Howard W. Stone. How to Think Theologically. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 2006.
BR118.S75 2006
Erickson, Millard. Introducing Christian Doctrine. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1992.
BT75.2.E76 1992
Fiorenza, Elisabeth. In Memory of Her: A Feminist Theological Reconstruction of Christian Origins. New York: Crossroad, 1994.
BR129.S365 1994
Frame, John M. Salvation Belongs to the Lord: An Introduction to Systematic Theology. Phillipsburg, N.J.: P & R Publishing, 2006.
BX94223.F73 2006
Gonzalez, Justo L. A Concise History of Christian Doctrine. Nashville: Abingdon, 2005.
BT77.G66 2005
Gonzalez, Justo L. Christian Thought Revisited: Three Types of Theology. Revised Edition. New York: Orbis Books, 1999.
BT21.2.G59 1989
Gonzalez, Justo L. Manana: Christian Theology from a Hispanic Perspective. Nashville: Abingdon Press, 1990.
BT30.U6 G65 1990
González, Justo L. A Concise History of Christian Doctrine. Nashville, TN: Abingdon Press, 2005.
BT77.G66 2005
Grenz, Stanley J. and Roger E. Olson. Who Needs Theology? An Invitation to the Study of God. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press, 1996.
BT65.G75 1996
Grenz, Stanley J. and Roger E. Olson. 20th-Century Theology: God & the World in a Transitional Age. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1992.
BT28.G746 1992
Grenz, Stanley and Jay Smith. Created for Community: Connecting Christian Belief with Christian Living. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1998.
BT78.G75 1998
Grudem, Wayne. Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1994.
BT75.2.G78 1994
Horton, Michael. The Christian Faith: A Systematic Theology for Pilgrims On the Way. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011.
BT75.3.H67 2011
Horton, Michael. Pilgrim Theology: Core Doctrines for Christian Disciples. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2013.
BT75.3.H675 2011
Kapic, Kelly M. A Little Book for New Theologians: Why and How to Study Theology. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press, 2012.
BV4020.K37 2012
Lennan, Richard, ed. An Introduction to Catholic Theology. New York: Paulist Press, 1998.
BX1751.2.I58 1998
Lewis, Gordon R. Integrative Theology. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1996.
BT75.2.L475 1996
McGrath, Alister E. ed, The Christian Theology Reader. Cambridge: Blackwell, 1995.
BT77.C47 1995
McGrath, Alister E. Christian Theology: An Introduction. Cambridge: Blackwell, 1997.
BT65.M34 1997
McGrath, Alister. Historical Theology: An Introduction to the History of Christian Thought. Oxford: Blackwell Publishers, 1998.
BT21.2.M17 1998
McKim, Donald. Theological Turning Points: Major Issues in Christian Thought. Atlanta: John Knox Press, 1988.
eBook
Naselli, Andrew David, et. al. Four Views on the Spectrum of Evangelicalism. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2011.
BR1640.F69 2011
Oden, Thomas C. Classic Christianity: A Systematic Theology. New York: HarperCollins, 1992.
BT75.3 .O34 2009
Olson, Roger E., The Mosaic of Christian Belief: Twenty Centuries of Unity and Diversity. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press, 2002.
BT77.O28 2002
Olson, Roger. The Story of Christian Theology: Twenty Centuries of Tradition and Reform. Downers Grove: InterVarsity, 1999.
BT21.2.O57 1999
Osmer, Richard R. Practical Theology: An Introduction. Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company. 2008.
BV3 .O86 2008
Reeves, Michael. Delighting in the Trinity: An Introduction to the Christian Faith. Downers Grove: InterVarsity Press, 2012.
BT111.3.R44 2012
Volf, Miroslav, & Matthew Croasmun. For the Life of the World: Theology that Makes a Difference. Grand Rapids: Brazos, 2019.
BV3 .V59 2019
Wright, N. T. Simply Christian. San Francisco: Harper San Francisco, 2010.
BR121.3 .W75 2006
Specialized Areas of Theology
African-American Theology
Cone, James. God of the Oppressed. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis Books, 1997.
BT83.57 .C67 1997
Cone, James. A Black Theology of Liberation. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1970.
BT78.C59 1970
Cone, James. The Spirituals and the Blues. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis, 1991.
ML3556.C66 1991
Cone, James. The Cross and the Lynching Tree. Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis, 2013.
BR563.N4 C648 2013
Evans, Jr., James H. We Have Been Believers: An African American Systematic Theology. 2nd edition. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 2012.
BT82.7 .E84 2012
Eastern Orthodox Theology
Clendenin, Daniel B. Eastern Orthodox Christianity: A Western Perspective. Grand Rapids: Baker, 1994.
BX320.2.C45 1994
Louth, Andrew. Introducing Eastern Orthodox Theology. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2013.
eBook
Meyendorff, John. Byzantine Theology: Historical Trends and Doctrinal Themes. New York: Fordham University Press, 1999.
BX320.2.M47
Pomazansky, Michael. Orthodox Dogmatic Theology. Platina, CA: St. Herman of Alaska Brotherhood, 2015.
BX320.3 .P66 2005
Schmemann, Alexander. The Historical Road of Eastern Orthodoxy. Crestwood, N.Y.: St. Vladimir's Seminary Press, 2003.
BX290.S373 2003
Ware, Kallistos, The Orthodox Way. Crestwood, NY: St. Vladimir’s Seminary Press, 1981.
BX320.2.W37 1981
Zizioulas, John D. Lectures in Christian Dogmatics. London: T. & T. Clark, 2009.
BT80 .Z59 2008
Charismatic Theology
Kärkkäinen, Veli-Matti. Christology: A Global Introduction. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2016.
BT203 .K37 2016
Kärkkäinen, Veli-Matti. The Trinity: Global Perspectives. Louisville: WJK, 2007.
BT111.3 .K37 2007
Kärkkäinen, Veli-Matti. Creation and Humanity: A Constructive Christian Theology for the Pluralistic World, Volume 3. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2015.
eBook
Kärkkäinen, Veli-Matti. Spirit and Salvation: A Constructive Christian Theology for the Pluralistic World, Volume 4. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2016.
eBook
Williams, J. Rodman. Renewal Theology: God, the World & Redemption. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1988. 3 volumes.
BT75.2.W54 1988 v.1-3
Yong, Amos. Learning Theology: Tracking the Spirit of Christian Faith. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2018.
BR118 .Y665 2018
Yong, Amos. The Hermeneutical Spirit: Theological Interpretation and Scriptural Imagination for the 21st Century. Cascade, 2018.
eBook
Protestant Theology
Buschart, W. David. Exploring Protestant Traditions: An Invitation to Theological Hospitality. Grand Rapids: InterVarsity Press, 2006.
BT77.B97 2006
George, Timothy. Theology of the Reformers. Nashville: Broadman Press, 1988.
BT27.G46 1988
Grenz, Stanley. Theology for the Community of God. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1994.
BT75.2.G74 1994
Jones, Joe. A Grammar of the Christian Faith: Systematic Explorations in Christian Life and Doctrine, 2 vols. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2002.
eBook
McClendon, James William, Jr. Systematic Theology, 3 vols. Nashville: Abingdon, 1986.
BT75.2.M392 1986 v.1-3
Migliore, Daniel L. Faith Seeking Understanding: An Introduction to Christian Theology. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2004.
BT65.M54 1991
Moltmann, Jurgen. Theology of Hope. New York: Harper & Row, 1967.
BT821.2.M6313 1967
Moltmann, Jurgen. Trinity and the Kingdom. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1993.
BT111.2.M613 1993
Moltmann, Jurgen. Crucified God: The Cross of Christ as the Foundation and Criticism of Christian Theology. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1993.
BT202.M5513 1993
Moltmann, Jurgen. God in Creation: A New Theology of Creation and the Spirit of God. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1985.
BT695.M5813 1985
Moltmann, Jurgen. The Church in the Power of the Spirit: A Contribution to Messianic Ecclesiology. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1993.
BV600.2.M6413 1993
Moltmann, Jurgen. The Coming of God: Christian Eschatology. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 1996.
BT821.2.M62613 1996
Pannenberg, Wolfhart. Systematic Theology, 3 vols. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1998.
BT75.2.P2613 1991 v.1-3
Williamson, Clark M. Way of Blessing, Way of Life: A Christian Theology. St. Louis, MO: Chalice Press, 1999.
BT75.2.W547 1999
Theological Hermeneutics
Billings, J. Todd. The Word of God for the People of God: An Entryway to the Theological Interpretation of Scripture. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2010.
BS476.B5 2010
Green, Joel B. Seized by Truth: Reading the Bible as Scripture. Nashville: Abingdon, 2007.
BS476.G725 2007
Treier, Daniel J. Introducing Theological Interpretation of Scripture: Recovering a Christian Practice. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2008.
BS476.T74 2008
Williams, D.H. Tradition, Scripture, and Interpretation: A Sourcebook of the Ancient Church. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2006.
BR160.A2 T73 2006
Zimmerman, Jens. Recovering Theological Hermeneutics: An Incarnational-Trinitarian Theory of Interpretation. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2004.
BT55.Z56 2004
SPIRITUAL FORMATION & SPIRITUAL DIRECTION
Ashbrook, Thomas. Mansions of the Heart: Exploring the Seven Stages of Spiritual Growth. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2019.
BV4511 .A84 2019
Bakke, Jeannette. Holy Invitations. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2000.
BV5053 .B345 2000
Barry, William, and William J. Connolly. The Practice of Spiritual Direction. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1982.
BV5053 .B37 1982
Beckman, Betsey, and Christine Paintner. Awakening the Creative Spirit: Bringing the Arts to Spiritual Direction. New York: Morehouse, 2010.
BR115.A8 P34 2010
Benner, David. The Gift of Being Yourself: Sacred Call to Self-Discovery. IVP, 2015.
BV4501.3 .B457 2015
Benner, David, & Gary W. Moon, eds. Spiritual Direction and the Care of Souls: A Guide to Christian Approaches and Practices. IVP, 2004.
BV5053 .S68 2004
Bill, Brent, and Beth Booram. Awaken Your Senses: Exercises for Exploring the Wonders of God. IVP Press, 2013.
BV4509.5 .B542 2012
Boa, Kenneth. Conformed to His Image: Biblical and Practical Approaches to Spiritual Formation. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2001.
BV4501.2 .B592 2001
Booram, Beth. Picturing the Face of Jesus: Encountering Christ through Art. Nashville: Abingdon, 2010.
BT590.P45 B66 2009
Booram, Beth. Starting Something New: Spiritual Direction for Your God-Given Dream. IVP, 2015.
eBook
Boyd, Jared. Imaginative Prayer : A Yearlong Guide for Your Child’s Spiritual Formation. IVP, 2017.
BV214 .B69 2017
Brown, Christopher. Reflected Love: Companioning in the Way of Jesus. Eugene: Wipf & Stock, 2012.
BV4509.5 .B76 2012
Brown, Jeannine K., Carla M. Dahl, and Wyndy Corbin Reuschling. Becoming Whole and Holy: An Integrative Conversation about Christian Formation. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2011.
BV4511 .B74 2011
Byrne, Brendan. Freedom in the Spirit: An Ignatian Retreat with Saint Paul. New York: Paulist Press, 2016.
eBook
Calhoun, Adele, Doug Calhoun, Clare Loughrige & Scott Loughrige. Spiritual Rhythms for the Enneagram: A Handbook for Harmony and Transformation. IVP, 2019.
eBook
Camp, Lee C. Mere Discipleship: Radical Christianity in a Rebellious World. Grand Rapids: Brazos, 2008.
BX4817 .C36 2008
Cetuk, Virginia. What to Expect in Seminary: Theological Education as Spiritual Formation. Nashville: Abingdon, 1998.
BV4020 .C47 1998
Chandler, Diane, Cindy Kiple, and Beth Hagenberg. Christian Spiritual Formation: An Integrated Approach for Personal and Relational Wholeness. IVP, 2014.
eBook
Crisp, Thomas M., Steven L. Porter, and Gregg A. Ten Elshof, eds. Psychology and Spiritual Formation in Dialogue: Moral and Spiritual Change in Christian Perspective. IVP, 2019.
eBook
Culliford, Larry. The Psychology of Spirituality: An Introduction. London: Kingsley, 2010.
eBook
de Sales, Francis. Letters of Spiritual Direction. New York: Paulist Press, 1988.
BX2349 .F694 1988
Daelemans, Bert. An Ignatian Journey of the Cross: Exercises in Discernment. Minnesota: Liturgical Press, 2015.
eBook
Dougherty, Rose Mary. Group Spiritual Direction: Community for Discernment. New York: Paulist Press, 1995.
BV5053 .D68 1995
Dougherty, Rose Mary, ed. The Lived Experience of Group Spiritual Direction. New York: Paulist Press, 2003.
BV5053 .L59 2003
Douglas, Julie M. Handbook for Spiritual Directors. New York: Paulist Press, 1998.
BX2350.7 .D58 1998
Dubay, Thomas. Authenticity: A Biblical Theology of Discernment. San Francisco: Ignatius Press, 1997
BV5083 .D83 1997
Dubay, Thomas. Happy are You Poor: The Simple Life and Spiritual Freedom. Ignatius Press, 2003.
BV4647.S48 D83 2003
Edwards, Tilden. Spiritual Director, Spiritual Companion: Guide to Tending the Soul. New York: Paulist Press, 2001.
BV5053 .E37 2001
Fryling, Alice. Seeking God Together: An Introduction to Group Spiritual Direction. IVP, 2009.
eBook
Gallagher, Timothy. The Discernment of Spirits. Crossroad, 2005.
BX2350 .G35 2005
Graybeal, Lynda. Prayer and Worship: A Spiritual Formation Guide. New York: HarperOne, 2007.
BV220 .G73 2007
Gubi, Peter. What Counsellors and Spiritual Directors Can Learn from Each Other: Ethical Practice, Training, and Supervision. London: Kingsley, 2017.
eBook
Guenther, Margaret. Holy Listening: The Art of Spiritual Direction. Cambridge: Cowley, 1992.
BV5053 .G84 1992
Guenther, Margaret. Toward Holy Ground: Spiritual Directions for the Second Half of Life. Cambridge: Cowley, 1995.
BV4579.5 .G84 1995
Haase, Albert, & M. Robert Mulholland. Coming Home to Your True Self. IVP, 2008.
BV4501.3 .H325 2008
Hagberg, Janet, and Robert Guelich. The Critical Journey: Stages in the Life of Faith. 2nd edition. Sheffield Publishing Company, 2004.
BV4501.2 .H248 2005
Howard, Evan. A Guide to Christian Spiritual Formation: How Scripture, Spirit, Community, and Mission Shape Our Souls. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2018.
BV4511 .H69 2018
Howard, Evan. Brazos Introduction to Christian Spirituality. Grand Rapids: Brazos, 2008.
BV4501.3 .H693 2008
Houdek, Francis Joseph. Guided by the Spirit: A Jesuit Perspective on Spiritual Direction. Chicago: Loyola UP, 1996.
BX2350.7 .H68 1996
Jones, Alan. Exploring Spiritual Direction. Cambridge, Mass.: Cowley, 1999.
BV5053 .J63 1999
Kidd, Sue Monk. When the Heart Waits: Spiritual Direction for Life's Sacred Questions. San Francisco: Harper, 1992.
BV4501 .K427 1992
King, Mike. Presence-centered Youth Ministry: Guiding Students into Spiritual Formation. IVP, 2006.
BV4447 .K56 2006
Law, Eric. The Wolf Shall Dwell with the Lamb: A Spirituality for Leadership in a Multicultural Community (St. Louis, MO: Chalice Press, 1993).
eBook
Leonard, Bill J. A Sense of the Heart: Christian Religious Experience in the United States. Abingdon, 2019.
BR515 .L465 2014
Liebert, Elizabeth. The Way of Discernment: Spiritual Practices for Decision making. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2008.
BV4509.5 .L54 2008
Maddix, Mark A. and Diane LeClerc. Spiritual Formation: A Wesleyan Paradigm. Kansas City: Nazarene Publishing House, 2011.
eBook
Martin, James. The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything: A Spirituality for Real Life. New York: HarperOne, 2010.
BX2350.3 .M265 2010
May, Gerald G. Care of Mind, Care of Spirit: Psychiatric Dimensions of Spiritual Direction. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1982.
BV5053 .M38 1982
McLaren, Brian. Finding Our Way: The Return of Ancient Practices. Nashville: Thomas Nelson, 2008.
BV4490 .M37 2008
Meyer, Keith. Whole Life Transformation: Becoming the Change your Church Needs. IVP, 2010.
BV4011.6 .M49 2010
Miller, Wendy. Jesus, Our Spiritual Director: A Pilgrimage Through the Gospels. Nashville: Upper Room, 2004.
BV5053 .M54 2004
Mulholland, M. Robert. Invitation to a Journey: A Road Map for Spiritual Formation. IVP, 1993.
BV4501.2 .M744 1993
Nouwen, Henri. In the Name of Jesus: Reflections on Christian Leadership with Study Guide for Groups and Individuals. New York: Crossroad, 2002.
BV652.1 .N68 2002
Nouwen, Henri. Finding My Way Home: Pathways to Life and the Spirit. New York: Crossroad, 2001.
BX2350.3 .N68 2001
Nouwen, Henri. Spiritual Direction: Wisdom for the Long Walk of Faith. San Francisco: Harper, 2006.
BV4501.3 .N677 2006
Nouwen, Henri. Spiritual Formation: Following the Movements of the Spirit. New York: HarperOne, 2010.
BV4501.3 .N6775 2010
Nouwen, Henri. The Way of the Heart: Desert Spirituality and Contemporary Ministry. San Francisco: Harper, 1991.
BV4011 .N682 1991
Payne, Leanne. Listening Prayer: Learning to Hear God’s Voice and Keep a Prayer Journal. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2002.
BV215 .P39 1999
Peace, Richard. Spiritual Autobiography: Discovering and Sharing your Spiritual Story. Colorado Springs: NavPress, 1998.
BV4511 .P4 1998
Peterson, Eugene. The Contemplative Pastor: Returning to the Art of Spiritual Direction. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1993.
BV5053 .P48 1993
Phillips, Susan. Candlelight: Illuminating the Art of Spiritual Direction. Harrisburg: Morehouse, 2008.
BV5053 .P49 2008
Pickering, Sue. Spiritual Direction: A Practical Introduction. Canterbury Press, 2011.
BL624 .P53 2008
Pohl, Christine D. Living Into Community: Cultivating Practices that Sustain Us. Grand Rapids: William B. Eerdmans, 2012.
BV4501.3 .P635 2012
Rice, Howard. The Pastor as Spiritual Guide. Nashville: Upper Room, 1998.
BV660.2 .R53 1998
Rohr, Richard. Breathing Under Water: Spirituality and the Twelve Steps. Cincinnati: Franciscan Media, 2011.
eBook
Rohr, Richard. Everything Belongs: The Gift of Contemplative Prayer. New York: Crossroad, 2003.
BV5091.C7 R64 2003
Sanders, Oswald. Spiritual Discipleship: With Study Guide. Chicago: Moody Press, 1994.
BV4501.2 .S215 1994
Schner, George. Ignatian Spirituality in a Secular Age. Wilfrid Laurier University Press, 2006.
eBook
Silf, Margaret. Inner Compass: An Invitation to Ignatian Spirituality. Chicago: Loyola Press, 2007.
BX2179.L8 S54 2007
Smith, James Bryan. A Spiritual Formation Workbook: Small Group Resources for Nurturing Christian Growth. San Francisco: Harper, 1993.
BV4511 .S65 1993
Smith, Gordon T. Called to Be Saints: An Invitation to Christian Maturity. IVP, 2014.
eBook
Stairs, Jean. Listening for the Soul: Pastoral Care and Spiritual Direction. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2000.
BX8349.S67 S73 2000
Thibodeaux, Mark E. Armchair Mystic: Easing into Contemplative Prayer. Cincinnati: St. Anthony Messenger Press, 2001.
BV5091.C7 T44 2001
Thibodeaux, Mark E. God's Voice Within: The Ignatian Way to Discover God's Will. Chicago: Loyola Press, 2010.
BV5083 .T45 2010
Wardle, Terry. The Transforming Path: A Christ-Centered Approach to Spiritual Formation. Siloam Springs, Ark: Leafwood, 2003.
BV4501.2 .W373 2003
Webb, Heather. Small Group Leadership as Spiritual Direction. El Cajon, CA: Youth Specialties, 2005.
BV5053 .W42 2005
Willard, Dallas. Knowing Christ Today: Why We Can Trust Spiritual Knowledge. New York: HarperOne, 2009.
BT50 .W473 2009
Willard, Dallas. The Great Omission: Rediscovering Jesus' Essential Teachings on Discipleship. San Francisco: Harper, 2006.
BS2417.C5 W55 2006
Willard, Dallas. Renovation of the Heart: Putting on the Character of Christ. Colorado Springs: NavPress, 2002.
BV4511 .W535 2002
Willard, Dallas. The Spirit of the Disciplines: Understanding How God Changes Lives. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1988.
BV4501.2 .W533 1988
Willard, Dallas. Hearing God: Developing a Conversational Relationship with God. IVP, 1999.
BV4501.2 .W5327 1999
Willard, Dallas. The Divine Conspiracy: Rediscovering Our Hidden Life in God. San Francisco: Harper, 1998.
BV4501.2 .W5326 1998
Willimon, William, ed. The Pastor's Guide to Personal Spiritual Formation. Kansas City: Beacon Hill, 2005.
BV4011.6 .P37 2005
SOCIAL JUSTICE
Anderson, Gary L. & Kathryn Herr, eds. Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007.
eBook
Barram, Michael D. Missional Economics: Biblical Justice and Christian Formation. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2018.
eBook
Brown Douglas, Kelly. Stand Your Ground: Black Bodies and the Justice of God. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 2015.
E185.615. D664 2015
Cannon, Mae Elise. Social Justice Handbook: Small Steps for a Better World. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 2009.
eBook
Cannon, Mae Elise. Beyond Hashtag Activism: Comprehensive Justice in a Complicated Age. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 2020.
BR115.J8 C36 2020
Cavanaugh, William T., Jeffrey W. Bailey, and Craig Hovey, eds. An Eerdmans Reader in Contemporary Political Theology. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2012.
BT83.59.E47 2012
Cone, James. The Cross and the Lynching Tree. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 2013.
eBook
Copeland, M. Shawn. Enfleshing Freedom: Body, Race, and Being. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2010.
BT702.C67 2010
Donahue, John R. Seek Justice that you may Live: Reflections and Resources on the Bible and Social Justice. New York: Paulist Press, 2014.
BS680.J8 D66 2014
DuBois Gilliard, Dominique. Rethinking Incarceration: Advocating for Justice That Restores. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 2018.
eBook
Elliott, Neil. Liberating Paul: The Justice of God and the Politics of the Apostle. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 1994.
BS2651.E49 1994
Gardner, E. Clinton. Justice and Christian Ethics. New York: Cambridge UP, 1995.
eBook
Gingerich, Ray C., and Ted Grimsrud. Transforming the Powers: Peace, Justice, and the Domination System. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2006.
BS2545.P663 T73 2006
Gorringe, Timothy. A Theology of the Built Environment: Justice, Empowerment, Redemption. New York: Cambridge UP, 2002.
eBook
Gottlieb, Roger S. Liberating Faith: Religious Voices for Justice, Peace, and Ecological Wisdom. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2003.
eBook
Hart, Stephen. What Does the Lord Require? How American Christians Think About Economic Justice. New York: Oxford UP, 1992.
BR115.J8 H37 1992
Haugen, Gary. Good News About Injustice: A Witness of Courage in a Hurting World. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 1999.
BR115.J8 H388
Horsley, Richard. Covenant Economics: A Biblical Vision of Justice for All. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox, 2009.
BS670.H67 2009
Houston, Walter. Justice: The Biblical Challenge. Oakville, CT: Equinox, 2010.
BS680.J8 H68 2010
Heuertz, Christopher L, and Christine D. Pohl. Friendship at the Margins: Discovering Mutuality in Service and Mission. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 2010.
BV639.P6 H58 2010
Keller, Timothy. Generous Justice: How God's Grace Makes us Just. New York: Dutton, 2010.
eBook
Kemeny, Paul. Church, State, and Public Justice: Five Views. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 2007.
BR516.C497 2007
Knight, Douglas. Law, Power, and Justice in Ancient Israel. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox, 2011.
eBook
Malchow, Bruce V. Social Justice in the Hebrew Bible: What is New and What is Old. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1996.
BR1199.J8 M35 1996
Marsh, Charles. The Beloved Community: How Faith Shapes Social Justice, From the Civil Rights Movement to Today. New York: Basic, 2005.
eBook
Marsh, Charles, & John Perkins. Welcoming Justice: God's Movement Toward Beloved Community. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 2009.
eBook
Marsh, Charles, Shea Tuttle, and Daniel P. Rhodes, eds. Can I Get a Witness? Thirteen Peacemakers, Community Builders, and Agitators for Faith and Justice. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2019.
BR517.C3165 2019
McLaren, Brian D, Elisa Padilla, and Ashley Bunting Seeber, eds. The Justice Project. Grand Rapids: Baker, 2009.
BR115.J8 J877 2009
Mott, Stephen. Biblical Ethics and Social Change. 2nd edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 2011.
BJ1251.M66 2011
Myers, Bryant L. Walking with the Poor: Principles and Practices of Transformational Development. Maryknoll, NY: Orbis, 1999.
BX2347.8.P66 M94 1999
Nardoni, Enrique. Rise Up, O Judge: A Study of Justice in the Biblical World. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson, 2004.
BS680.J8 N3713 2004
Nash, Ronald H. Social Justice and the Christian Church. Milford, MI: Mott, 1983.
BR115.J8 N38 1983
Peters, Rebecca Todd, & Elizabeth Hinson-Hasty, eds. To Do Justice: A Guide for Progressive Christians. Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 2008.
eBook
Pleins, J. David. The Social Visions of the Hebrew Bible: A Theological Introduction. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox, 2000.
eBook
Romero, Robert C. Brown Church: Five Centuries of Latina/o Social Justice, Theology, and Identity. Downers Grove, ILL: IVP, 2020.
eBook
Samson, Will and Lisa, eds. Justice in the Burbs: Being the Hands of Jesus Wherever You Live. Grand Rapids: MI: Baker, 2007.
BR115.J8 S36 2007
Sider, Ronald J. Just Generosity: A New Vision for Overcoming Poverty in America. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker, 1999.
eBook
Stearns, Richard. The Hole in Our Gospel. Nashville, TN: Nelson, 2009.
eBook
Villafane, Eldin. Beyond Cheap Grace: A Call to Radical Discipleship, Incarnation, and Justice. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2006.
BT761.3.V55 2006
Wallis, Jim. God's Politics: Why the Right Gets it Wrong and the Left Doesn't Get it. San Francisco, CA: Harper, 2005.
BR526.W265 2005
Williams, Thaddeus J. Confronting Injustice Without Compromising Truth: 12 Questions Christians Should Ask About Social Justice. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2020.
BR115.J8 W55
Wolterstorff, Nicholas. Justive in Love. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 2011.
BV4639.W63 2011