Beaman Library Basics

To locate a book in Beaman Library, follow these 5 steps. If you require further assistance, please visit us at Beaman Library and ask a member of our staff to help you locate the book you are searching for. 

1. Locate the "Books" tab on the main search bar on Beaman Library's homepage.

2. Search for books by using the Title, Author, or other related keywords in the Books tab of the main search bar.  

3. On the search results screen, you will see all available copies of the title, including physical copy print books and eBooks.  

4. Locate the call number for the book in your Lipscomb library.  

All items in Beaman Library are cataloged using Call Numbers according to Library of Congress Classification. Items are arranged by section and then Call Numbers are in order alphabetically and numerically.

To locate a book, you will need to first locate the correct section the book is in. Beaman Library's collection is housed on the second and third floors of Beaman. 

• Second Floor (Items are located on the west wing of the second floor behind the Computer Commons):
  *Note: Items in these collections are not available for check-out and must be used in Beaman Library.
  • Reference Collection (Univ Reference Collection)
  • Bound Print Journals/Periodicals (Univ Periodical Collection)
  • Microform Collection (Univ Microform Collection)
• Third Floor (Items are located in both the west wing and east wing)
  • West Wing:
    • University General Collection A-G (Univ General Collection)
  • East Wing:
    • University General Collection H-Z (Univ General Collection)
    • LIGHT Collection (Call Number will begin with LIGHT)
    • Audio-Visual Collection (Univ Audio-Visual Coll)
    • Buffington Collection (Univ Buffington Coll)
    • Recreation Collection (Call Number will begin with REC)
  • Beaman Archives and Special Collections
    *Note: Items located in Archives and Special Collections may not be checked out and must be viewed by appointment in Archives and Special Collections. To schedule an appointment, please contact Sara Harwell at sara.harwell@lipscomb.edu. 
    • Archives and Special Collections (Univ Archives)