Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Beaman Library Basics

How do I use Beaman Library eResources?

The homepage search bar searches almost everything Lipscomb Libraries have access to, with a few exceptions. When you search using the search bar, you will find books, eBooks, journal articles, newspaper articles, reports, and videos all about the topic you are looking for. For a list of databases that cannot be searched using the main search bar, visit our FAQ page.

If you are having trouble accessing an article by clicking the View PDF or View Full Text link, please contact Lipscomb’s Electronic Resources Librarian and report the title of the article you are attempting to access and attach a screenshot of the error message you are receiving. 

After you report your access issue, using the following strategies may help you succeed in obtaining the information you need:

  1. Instead of using the View PDF or View Full Text links, click into the article record and scroll down until you see the "Access Online" tab and see what other links are available. 
  2. In that same “Access Online” section, you should be able to see which database the article is coming from. Go to the A-Z Databases page by clicking “Resources” in the top left-hand corner and search for the article in the database itself. By visiting the A-Z Databases list, you can locate the database you need, and search for your article there directly.

When conducting research, it will be important to keep your references saved so you can access them at various points during your research process. 

Saving Items to Library Account
To save anything to your starred items, you MUST Sign In to your library account. If the "sign in" link still appears and your name is not displayed, nothing will be saved to your to your starred items. 

You can save to your library folder in two ways. The first way is by clicking the star icon on the right-hand side of your search results page.

The second way is by clicking on the search results link for the item you are interested in and and using the "Save" button in the upper right-hand corner. 

Once an item has been saved to your starred items, it will stay there until you delete it. To access your saved items again, simply Sign In to your library account and click on the My Account drop down menu in the upper right-hand corner and select Saved Items.
 

 

Research Guides were created to help you navigate the resources available to you within a particular discipline or major. Research Guides are a great place to start looking for information about a topic in your field. 

Searching a subject-specific database is similar to using searching the homepage search bar, but usually generates more limited and narrow results. 

You can find a full list of Beaman Library's databases using our Databases list, or you can find subject-specific databases by using the databases tab in your discipline's Research Guide.

If you would like more specific tips or strategies for searching, please reach out to one of your Beaman Librarians for additional research assistance, or schedule a Research Appointment