Popular Database(s)
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full text is a database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
Databases by Category
The database containing scholarly articles
Health Sciences
- PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.
PubMed links to full-text when they are available. - CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. (upgrade from CINAHL Complete)
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Food Science & Nutrition
- CABI Nutrition and Food Sciences This link opens in a new window
Contains original research, reviews, and news on nutrition and the food sciences. Subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Diet Manuals are for nutrition/dietetic practitioners designing & implementing nutritionally balanced menus customized to meet the patient's individual medical nutrition therapy needs & preferences. This diet manual provides current evidence-based nutrition recommendations for adults.
- Sports Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Diet Manuals are for nutrition/dietetic practitioners designing & implementing nutritionally balanced menus customized to meet the patient's individual medical nutrition therapy needs & preferences. This diet manual provides current evidence-based nutrition recommendations for athletes.
Psychology & Sociology
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Includes bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information from scholarly publications in the behavioral and social sciences. Some citations include links to full text.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
One of the largest and most authoritative collections of online journals, books, and research resources, covering life, health, social, and physical sciences.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Before searching Google Scholar, click the Library Links on the left side of the settings page. Search for Lipscomb in the search box. Check the box next to Lipscomb University and save to access Lipscomb's electronic holdings when searching Google Scholar.
EndNote Clickis a browser plugin/extension, that searches for Pdfs. These Pdfs can upload to EndNote Desktop and will automatically locate citation information. |
LibKey Nomadis a browser extension that searches for links to full-text articles (Pdfs) while you search the web! |
You will receive email confirmation of your request. If not, please contact your librarian. |
Use browser extensions that search the web for pdfs, or request a pdf be sent to via Inter Library Loan.
Important Websites
- American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)Representing 70 sports medicine professions, and with more than 50,000 members and certified professionals from 90 countries, the American College of Sports Medicine® (ACSM) helps people worldwide live longer, healthier lives.
- American Kinesiology Association (AKA)The American Kinesiology Association promotes and enhances kinesiology as a unified field of study and advances its many applications. AKA does this by advocating for kinesiology at national and international levels as well as by supporting its member departments by providing resource materials and leadership and educational opportunities for university administrators in kinesiology.
- American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)AOTA represents more than 230,000 occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and occupational therapy students in the United States and beyond, to advance occupational therapy practice, education, and research.
- American Physical Therapy Association (APTA)We engage and empower our members to be a leading voice in the health care industry, positive influencers of the physical therapy profession, and a strong collective force for improving the human experience.
Our association advocates for positive change, raises public awareness, advances evidence-based practice, supports the continued growth of our members, and develops the next generation. - Gatorade Sports Science Institute (GSSI)Founded in 1985, the Gatorade Sports Science Institute (GSSI) is committed to helping athletes optimize their health and performance through research and education in hydration and nutrition science.
- National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM)The National Academy of Sports Medicine, transforming lives for over 35 years.
NASM'S Missions and Values
At the National Academy of Sports Medicine (NASM), our mission is to provide world-class fitness professionals with the knowledge and tools to transform lives. We help personal trainers, coaches, their clients and anyone with a passion for fitness live healthier and happier lives.
With over three decades of experience providing the best certifications in the fitness industry, we have earned an impeccable reputation for science-based strategies and learning innovations. - National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA)WHO IS THE NSCA?
Founded in 1978, The National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) is a nonprofit association dedicated to advancing the strength and conditioning and related sport science professions around the world.
The NSCA exists to empower a community of professionals to maximize their impact through disseminating evidence-based knowledge and its practical application by offering industry-leading certifications, research journals, career development services, networking opportunities, and continuing education. The NSCA community is composed of more than 60,000 members and certified professionals throughout the world who further industry standards as researchers, educators, strength and conditioning coaches, performance and sport scientists, personal trainers, tactical professionals, and other related roles. - The North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM)The mission of the North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM) is to promote, stimulate, and encourage study, research, scholarly writing, and professional development in the area of sport management. Members of the Society are concerned about the theoretical and applied aspects of management theory and practice specifically related to sport, exercise, dance, and play, as these fields are pursued by all sectors of the population. The Society endeavors to support and cooperate with local, regional, national, and international organizations that have similar purposes and organizes and administers conferences to promote its purposes.
- SHAPE AmericaSociety of Health and Physical Educators is the nation's largest membership organization of health and physical education professionals.