Nursing

Cystic fibrosis (CF) is a single-gene autosomal recessive disorder characterized by chronic airway infections. These airway infections are a result of a defect in the conductance regulator (CFTR) protein, which causes a thickening of secretions and impaired ability to clear those secretions (Lim & Fitzgerald, 2017). As a result, bacteria are able to inhabit and infect the respiratory tract. These frequent infections lead to a consistent pattern of antibiotic prescriptions from providers. This use of antibiotics gives way to certain bacteria that are now unaffected by those same antibiotics, which creates a challenge for those seeking treatment. Therefore, this literature review focuses on antibiotic resistant bacteria in CF patients. The literature review was conducted using keywords, “cystic fibrosis” and “pseudomonas aeruginosa” and “antibiotic resistance.” Inclusion criteria included full text and publication year of 2015-present. Through the review of the literature, sources identified Pseudomonas aeruginosa to be a common resistant bacteria. The World Health Organization (WHO) has recently listed P. aeruginosa as one of three bacterial species in which there is a priority 1 critical need for the development of new treatments to treat infections (Tacconelli et al., 2017). It also identified that current methods to treat these emerging antibiotic resistant bacteria are failing to produce effective results in treatment. Current research looks at the evolution of this bacteria adapting to antibiotic treatment, and future innovative treatment options being explored. The literature concludes that more treatment options need to be explored and evaluated for their effectiveness in treating these resistant bacteria.

The opioid epidemic in the United States has resulted in a dramatic increase in opioid use in the past decade. According to Cooper et al. (2015), the complications that are associated with this increase in opioid use affect a wide range of the American population which includes pregnant women and their infants. Children can be born with Neonatal Abstinence Syndrome (NAS), which is a postnatal withdrawal syndrome from certain drugs, characterized by symptoms such as poor feeding, seizures, tremors, and respiratory complications (Cooper et al., 2015). Azuine et al. (2019), states that exposure to opioids in utero was significantly associated with higher rates of neurodevelopmental disorders in affected children. The authors performed a literature review to evaluate the relationship of in utero exposure of opioids and the effects on neurodevelopment in children. For the review, a search of CINAHL and PubMed databases was done using the search terms “neurodevelopmental” and “opioid exposure and children”, “neurodevelopmental consequences of opioid exposure”, and “effects of opioids on children”. The database search was limited to articles published between 2015 - 2020. After a critical review of multiple research studies, it was determined that there is an association between neurodevelopmental delays, including attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), learning disabilities, autism, intellectual disability, language delays, and conduct disorders within utero exposure to opioids. In conclusion, research shows children born from exposure to opioids are at higher risks for adverse neurodevelopmental outcomes. Further research is needed to better understand the long-term effects on neurodevelopment from opioid exposure.

The use of electronics for children under 18 has grown exponentially in the past decade. “Recent data suggests that children are spending more and more time using computers, video games, tablets, and smartphones” (Banda, Calvert, Fleming, Hale, Robinson, Shirong Lu & Wartella, 2017). Technology is becoming more accessible as devices can now be found in schools, homes, libraries. Research studies have attempted to examine how the use of electronics in youth affects their overall well-being and development. The authors used databases such as CINAHL, ScienceDirect, and PubMed to investigate the effects of increasing usage of screen time in children. The following key terms were used: “screen time,” “development,” “behavior,” and “children”. Analysts have discovered links between obesity, decreased sleep, and cognitive and emotional development through increased quantities of screen time (Domingues-Montanari, 2017). Devices such as tablets, virtual reality, video games, and cell phones are becoming more prevalent in the everyday life of youth. A research study analyzed the usage of media in children ages 8-18; it was found that the amount children owning cell phones had increased from 39% to 66% over the course of two years (Foehr, Rideout & Roberts, 2010). As prospective nurses, we are interested in investigating the holistic health in pediatrics and how the use of technology affects their overall well-being. Future research studies should focus on the management of screen time usage in youth and how healthcare providers can address the negative health effects that accompany this phenomenon.

In the United States underage alcohol consumption and binge drinking is a concern. According to the National Institute of Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA, 2020), 11% of all alcohol consumption is by youths ages 12-20. Brain structures continue to develop up to and even after age 20 (Arain et al., 2013). The hippocampus, frontal lobes, temporal lobes, and hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal axis all undergo substantial growth during adolescence (Arain et al., 2013). These areas of the brain control memory, decision making, reasoning, and stress response. Review of multiple studies (Ruan et al., 2019; Fernandes et al., 2018; Squeglia et al., 2015; Allen et al., 2016; Schnitko et al., 2019; Broadwater et al., 2014) included in this literature review on both humans and animals have shown that chemical substance use, in particular alcohol, can have a developmental impact on the still developing brain. Because these alterations affect development, their impact extends into adulthood. A database search of CINAHL and Pubmed using the words “adolescence”, “alcohol”, “development”, “binge drinking” and “effects in adulthood” resulted in 288 articles on CINAHL and 10 from Pubmed. Studies show that the impacts of adolescent alcohol consumption on the brain include delayed overall growth and memory deterioration (Fernandes, 2018), an increased threshold of acute stress responses in adulthood (Allen, 2016) and a decreased improvement of impulsivity (Ruan, 2019). Although research indicates a correlation between adolescent binge drinking and altered brain development, more longitudinal studies on humans would result in more complete data. This literature review focuses on the effects of underage binge drinking and altered brain development that extends into adulthood.

Phantom limb pain (PLP) is a condition where people who have had limbs or other body parts amputated perceive a sense of itching, spasms, and/or pain in the limb that has been amputated (Rutledge et al., 2019). Approximately 50-80% of amputee patients experience phantom limb pain (Diers et al., 2015). PLP can affect the amputees’ life by limiting their ability to complete daily activities due to altered sensation perception and intensity of pain (L. Guthrie, personal communication, 2019). Although the exact cause of PLP is unknown, research suggests the source of the pain originates from either the central nervous system or the peripheral nervous system (Stockburger et al., 2016). Options for treatment include both pharmacological and non-pharmacologic interventions. Virtual reality (VR) is one of the newest and fastest-growing nonpharmacologic approaches to treat PLP. The focus of this paper is to investigate the effectiveness and benefits of VR in adult patients experiencing PLP. A search of CINAHL Complete, PubMed, and ScienceDirect databases located 174 total results using the keywords, “phantom limb pain”, “treatments”, and “virtual reality.” After critical appraisal of the literature, it was determined VR is a viable form of therapy, reducing PLP intensity and sensations in amputees whencompared to other treatment options. Virtual reality is a relatively new form of treatment for PLP, and studies reveal more research needs to be done to understand its benefits.

Neurodevelopment is imperative to facilitate proper cognitive functioning. The central nervous system development begins at conception and continues, peaking at two years of age (Barera et al., 2016). According to Jacobsson et al. (2019), infants delivered earlier than 37 weeks face increased risks of developing language delays. In order to understand more about the correlation between preterm infants and language delays a critical review of literature was performed. A search of the ScienceDirect database using the search terms “preterm infants” and “language delay” located 882 results between 2015 and 2020. One study completed by Borradori et al. (2019) found that preterm delivery prevents the proper development of the brain due to a lack of maternal factors that enhance neuronal maturation that are involved in language processing and execution. Additionally, speech and auditory delays in children born before week 34 showed increased risk of language delays at 3-5 years old, while children born between 29-33 or before 29 weeks developed delays at 1.5 years age ( Jacobsson et al., 2019). Review of literature of neurocognitive development in preterm infants compared to full term infants reveals concerns for language delays in preterm infants but more research needs to be done to fully understand the intricacies of these delays.

In many third world countries, HIV/AIDS is an epidemic, affecting a large percentage of the population. The literature review sought to understand the impact perinatally transmitted HIV/AIDS has on a developing child in third world countries. Through Pubmed, ScienceDirect, and CINAHL Complete, multiple searches were performed using the keywords “HIV/AIDS and child development and third world countries.” Limitations of the search included only full text articles that were published after 2015. After synthesizing these articles, it was found that children who test positive for the virus were stunted in multiple areas; which include cognitive functioning, behavioral, growth, and overall developmental delay (Mpango et al., 2019). One of the findings that displays a delay in growth includes a z-score of the average “weight for age” of infected children at -0.53, in comparison to uninfected, unexposed children at 0.49 (Debeaudrap et al., 2018). Additionally, suppressed immune systems can be seen in affected children; this results in an increased risk of secondary infections, especially of the skin, which can lead to further complications. In Ethiopia alone 4 out 5 children with HIV/AIDS develop at least one type of skin infection (Duko et al., 2018). Affected children consistently performed lower on tests that indicated neurocognitive abilities, they also had a higher risk of being underweight and developing a neurocognitive disorder such as depression (Yengopal et al., 2016). Additional research needs to be done in order to gain more insight and details about objective findings demonstrating health deficits.

The prevalence of e-cigarette smoking in today’s population has drastically increased in the past couple of years. Among high school seniors, the use of e-cigarettes has gone from 11% in 2017 to 21% in 2018 making this the largest increase in substance use in adolescents in over four decades (Singh et al., 2020). Research has shown that one of the main agents of an e-cigarette is diacetyl, and it has been found to cause irreversible obstructive airway damage in previously healthy adolescents (Clapp & Jaspers, 2017). This literature review is focused on finding research to examine the risk of developing respiratory problems and adolescents who use e-cigarettes, such as JUUL, regularly. The strongest strength JUUL pod is five percent nicotine which is equivalent to a pack of 20 cigarettes and can quickly result in nicotine toxicity leading to breathing difficulties, cardiac arrest, and respiratory failure (Singh et al., 2020). ScienceDirect and PubMed were utilized to find scholarly articles published since 2015 that researched the effects of e-cigarette usage and the respiratory problems associated with smoking from these devices. Asthma patients who use e-cigarettes can experience adverse lung effects, such as, wheezing, coughing, and asthma exacerbations (Singh et al., 2020). This literature review will focus on adolescents from the ages of twelve to eighteen. Since e-cigarettes are new to research, the long-term effects of vaping are not yet identified. However, as more cases present themselves, researchers will better understand long-term respiratory effects.

Ulcerative colitis and Crohn’s disease are both inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD) that affect roughly 400 in 100,000 people (Ng & Shi et al., 2017). With no known etiology, both diseases have similar manifestations of abdominal pain and cramping, diarrhea, bloody stools, fatigue, weight loss, and ulceration or tissue damage. Because there is no standard therapy, the everyday burden of IBD warrants a need to find safe, alternative, therapeutic treatments to improve the daily lives of this population. To better understand treatment options including the use of probiotics, a literature review was done using search terms “probiotics” and “inflammatory bowel disease”. The search resulted in 97 peer-reviewed sources within the last five years from the CINAHL database. Research from the studies revealed that the use of probiotics, live microorganisms that could inhibit the overgrowth of potentially pathogenic bacteria, reduce the overall symptoms associated with IBD and offer a manageable way to live with these disease processes. In fact, populations that took probiotics experienced less inflammatory reactions compared to those who did not take probiotics ( Jia & Tong et al., 2018). While many studies have shown only therapeutic effects and no adverse reactions to the use of probiotics in IBD, more research is needed to determine what strains and at what dose probiotics become more beneficial as part of a clinical intervention.

Failure to detect cardiac arrhythmias can lead to cardiac arrest and potentially death. Artificial intelligence (AI) is a new tool that researchers have applied to multiple fields including the medical field. The term artificial intelligence is defined as a “field of computer science that aimsto mimic human thought processes, learning capacity, and knowledge storage” (Krittanawong, Zhang, Wang, Aydar, & Katai, 2017, para. 1). This literature review focuses on the use of AI in electrocardiograms (ECG) to screen and predict arrhythmias. Researchers have tested the integration of AI into traditional electrocardiograms and its ability to predict and identify potentially fatal heart complications. According to Attia et al. (2019), their AI model showed an85.7% accuracy identifying ventricular dysfunction when tested on 52,870 patients. The same group of researchers developed a screening AI-enabled ECG model for atrial fibrillation. This AI-enabled ECG is able to detect atrial fibrillation with extreme accuracy allowing those at risk to be monitored more closely (Attia et al., 2019). Research shows that identifying adverse patterns in an AI-enabled ECG would save money that could be put towards further testing, allow physicians to treat patients proactively, improve patient outcomes, and decrease mortality rates.

Adolescents today live in a “plugged in” society. Nearly everyone uses the internet as a way to stay connected with one another, remain up-to-date with the latest trends and more. This literature review seeks to uncover the toll that increased social media and internet use can have on the mental health of adolescents ages 13 to 18. The research databases PUBMED and CINAHL Complete were used to find relevant, current research articles for this literature review. Keywords such as “adolescents and social media” and “internet use and mental health” were used and results were limited to full text sources that were published within the last 5 years. After synthesizing the information, it has been determined that adolescents who use social media on a regular basis are up to 9% more likely to develop symptoms of depression and anxiety than those who do not social media very often (Shensa et. al, 2017). A recent research study used a scale to quantify social media addiction and found that 4.5% of their population belonged to an “at-risk group” and reported increased feelings of depression and low self-esteem associated with their increased social media use (Bányai et. al, 2017). A separate study used structural equation modeling to prove that compulsive internet use predicted the development of poor mental health (Gloster et. al, 2016). However, the social media market is constantly changing, leading to a need for more research to further understand how increased social media and internet use impact adolescent mental health.

Studies show that out of 111 National Football League players, 110 will have chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE), ranging in severity (Alosco, 2018). This means that 99% of the professional football population have a degenerative brain disease directly linked to consistent blows to the cranium. People who have been diagnosed with chronic traumatic encephalopathy may experience many different symptoms. Less severe cases include symptoms of depression and anxiety, where more severe symptoms include complete personality change, parkinsonism, memory loss and eventual dementia (Alosco, 2018). In a study conducted with 202 former football players, 85% showed signs of dementia (Mez, 2017). The online research databases, CINAHL and PubMed, were used to explore credible and original research on the effects of personality changes and altered decision making in those who have been diagnosed with chronic traumatic encephalopathy. The terms “Chronic traumatic encephalopathy,” “professional football players,” “CTE football,” “impulsivity,” and “personality changes” were used to search for these findings. The results were narrowed by full text and peer reviewed articles that were published in the years of 2015 to 2020. Examination of the current data reveals that there is a significant relationship between declining decision making and major personality changes in those who play professional football. Additionally, there is further research that needs to be performed on a larger sample of the professional football population in order to find direct correlations between professional football players diagnosed with chronic traumatic encephalopathy and altered personality and diminished decision making.

Necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC) is the most common gastrointestinal (GI) infection that occurs in preterm infants 'resulting in a cardiovascular collapse, bowel ischemia, and death' (Gibbins et al., 2008). Current research suggests that breast milk is the best preventative measure against developing NEC. However, mothers who deliver prematurely may not start producing milk right away. In these cases, the mother and care team might elect to use donor human milk (DHM), which is breast milk delivered to the newborn that did not come from that baby's biological mother. The purpose of the literature review is to determine if the use of donor milk in preterm infants (up to 36.6 weeks gestational age) decreases the incidence of NEC compared to preterm infants using formula. Using the CINAHL database the keywords 'donor milk', necrotizing enterocolitis', and 'preterm infants' were searched to find primary research articles. Search limitations include full texts online and in print that were peer-reviewed and conducted within the last five years. A total of nine research studies were reviewed and synthesized to determine that donor milk does have significant improvement in prognosis over other feeding methods like infant formula. Consequently, we have determined that there is sufficient information to indicate that nurses and other members of the care team should advocate for the use of donor human milk, especially in care of preterm infants.

Postpartum depression (PPD) has skyrocketed as a topic in pop culture within the past decade. With so many celebrities sharing their experiences with PPD, many studies have emerged discussing the effects that this affliction has on mothers, but what about their children' In order to answer this question, this literature review examines the relationship between a child's social and cognitive development in relation to their mother's postpartum depression from birth to age thirteen. EBSCO Publishing, Google Scholar, and ScienceDirect were searched with the keywords 'childhood psychological development' and 'postpartum depression and children' and yielded over 4,000 results. Articles were then narrowed to fit this scope by limiting use to only full, peer reviewed, PDF versions within the past 10 years. Research findings of seven articles were then reviewed and synthesized to determine that children of mothers who have postpartum depression are at an increased risk for developing antisocial behaviors and being delayed in cognitive milestones. Early intervention is recommended regarding care for the child be a primary concern when faced with a family affected by postpartum depression. By interceding with touch and emotional bonding, the child's risks for developing antisocial tendencies are greatly decreased and cognitive development has greater potential to stay on track. Developmental findings of the school-aged children were found to be a gap in the research, and to address this further research is recommended.

Alzheimer's disease is the most common type of dementia that is characterized by the progressive loss of memory and cognitive function typically in older adults. Researchers have not found a cure for Alzheimer's disease, but are working to find agents that could slow or stop the progression of the condition. Does have an effect on the cognitive impairment of Alzheimer's patients' A literature review was conducted which included key words such as cognition, cognitive decline, caffeine, and effects of caffeine. Dementia was excluded from the literature review because the population of the research is specifically Alzheimer's patients. The literature review included studies with both human and animal subjects in an effort to maximize the amount of research gathered. With supporting evidence, 'epidemiologic studies have increasingly suggested that caffeine/coffee could be an effective therapeutic against Alzheimer's disease' (Arendash & Cao, 2010). A study found that 300 mg of coffee per day is linked to lower levels of white matter lesions in the brain during MRIs; however, this finding was specific to females (Ritchie, et al., 2010). After reviewing the literature, it was concluded that increased caffeine intake has a correlation with the slowing and prevention of Alzheimer's disease. Caffeine consumption in mice has been shown to be beneficial in decreasing plaques in the brain associated with Alzheimer's disease. Current research suggests that increased caffeine could be a preventive method used by patients with the disease. Future research needs to look at the definitive results in humans.

Little is known about the many challenges faced by the transgender population to the general public. The goal of this literature review is to shed light to the physical, mental, and spiritual challenges of the transgender population, in comparison to the cis gender population. Cis gender is identifying as your biological birth assignment. Because the term, 'transgender' varies in context, the researchers consider those who do not identify with the sex that he/she was assigned at birth to be transgender. The literature review used the following databases: Google Scholar, CINAHL, Medline, EBSCO, and PsycARTICLES. The articles' dates range from 2010 to 2019, which yielded approximately 10,000 articles. The keywords 'transgender,' 'STD,' 'mental health,' 'spiritual health,' and 'physical health' aided in finding the appropriate articles. In regards to exclusion criteria, the decision was to exclude children and adolescents younger than 18 years of age to narrow our research. Both qualitative and quantitative articles were utilized. After reviewing these research articles, this literature review found that transgender patients are more at risk for experiencing an altered physical and mental health and a decreased connection with religiosity and spirituality. Nursing implications would include knowing potential risks your patient may experience. It is important to be able to care for their birth gender while also being respectful and focusing on the health of the identified gender. A nurse should anticipate the overall physical changes a transgender individual may endure while keeping in mind the emotional and spiritual impact during the time of their life.

Breastfeeding has been shown to be the most beneficial source of nutrition for the growth and development of the infant during the first twelve months of life (Shinn, Tangney, Busche, Sharp, & Mullen, 2018). The World Health Organization and Dr. Carol Anne Walshaw explain that the consistent protein and calories found in breastmilk are needed to promote healthy growth. Additionally, infants who do not receive adequate breast milk are more likely to have complications with growth and body maintenance (Neuland, 2010). Research studies were analyzed to determine the physical benefits of exclusive breastfeeding compared to primarily formula feeding practices. CINAHL Complete, PsycARTICLES and Science Direct using keywords such as “breastfeeding,” “physical development,” “full-term babies,” and “first year” were used to guide and focus the research. The primary research findings were synthesized from resources of the last decade, and studies were chosen based on their relevance to the first year and the physical growth. Conclusions were drawn, showing that thorough patient teaching is imperative in order to help mothers choose their newborn's nutrition source and feeding practice. Although breastfeeding throughout the first year may be difficult for working mothers due to schedule complications, results overwhelmingly indicate that primarily breastfeeding during this year increases vision in the infant, decreases obesity risk, and ensures specific nutritional needs that are necessary for important growth milestones in the first year of development.

Childhood cancer is defined as being diagnosed with cancer between ages five through eighteen. Being diagnosed with cancer, especially as a child, is traumatic and intimidating for the whole family. Not only do children have difficulties understanding their diagnosis, but a lack of knowledge haunts the entire family unit. Additional stress is placed on the family dynamic due to an increased expectation of the parents to care for the child diagnosed with cancer. This additional stress can lead to strained relationships among their other children. In this literature review, the findings from studies involving childhood cancer patients, survivors, and their families were evaluated, examined, and synthesized. Information regarding the relational effects within the family was discovered using CINAHL Complete, EBSCOHost, and Google Scholar. The search was further narrowed by using keywords such as 'pediatric oncology', 'sibling impact', 'parental impact', 'marital dynamics', and 'financial stress' were used. The studies analyzed were limited to articles that were peer-reviewed and published between 2009-2019. After appraising these studies, significant emotional, financial, and psychosocial effects on the familial unit were identified, including higher divorce rates, decreased sibling social skills at school, and potential negative impactful decisions made by the parents. This topic is important to nurses because learning about how cancer affects the family unit can assist the nurse in better understanding the impact the diagnosis has on the family, as well as providing better care.

Social media has proven itself to have both positive and negative effects on children and adolescents. In today's society, the use of social media has skyrocketed due to the increased availability of technology and internet access among younger children. The purpose of this literature review is to explore the effects of social media on interpersonal relationships in children ages ten to eighteen. Using CINAHL and the search terms of 'social media,' 'adolescents,' and 'interpersonal relationships, over five thousand articles were identified. The search was further limited by the parameters of full text, evidence-based practice, peer-reviewed, written in English, and a publication date within the last five years. In conclusion, social media has positive impacts such as an increase in the availability of education, communication, and health promotion. Social media can also negatively affect children and how they interact and communicate. As a nurse, essential components of providing education to patients and families include relaying the rising prevalence of technology and social media in young children and performing detailed assessments of well-being and mental health. Examples of these negative consequences are poor communication skills, lower self-esteem, and impaired psychological functioning. Interpersonal relationships between children can suffer negative consequences from overexposure to social media.

Cancer is a word that no family wants to hear, yet it is an experience that many families must walk through every day. In a world filled with negative thoughts and mountainous fear surrounding this disease process, how as health care providers can we bring a positive coping strategy to our patients' The positive coping strategy may already be present in a majority of our patients: faith in a greater being. The purpose of this literature review is to evaluate adult patients with cancer who incorporate faith and spirituality on their journey to recovery in comparison to those who do not believe in the power of healing by a higher being. CINAHL database using keywords such as 'chemotherapy' and 'spirituality' identified 90 results. Conclusions drawn include that spiritual care, especially during adverse life circumstances such as walking through cancer, is extensively considered to be a fundamental role in positive outcomes. This information is imperative to consider as a health care provider caring for patients and families dealing with a diagnosis of cancer. The incorporation of spirituality and faith through the journey of battling with cancer can increase healthy reception of the diagnosis, positive coping, resilience, and survival rates.

The diagnosis of Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) is a controversy in the psychiatry community today. The rate between adolescent male and female diagnosing of ADHD differs substantially. This can become particularly difficult for adolescents to grow uniquely and adequately into adulthood and get adequate treatment for their diagnosis. To further analyze the correlational relationship between the diagnosis and presentation of symptoms between adolescent males and females with ADHD, a review of the literature was conducted. PubMed, CINAHL, and ScienceDirect gathered results by using keywords 'ADHD' and 'gender'. The results were also broken down more by the past 10 years, English text, and peer-reviewed. The databases compiled 305 articles to choose from. The compiled literature shows that adolescent males are typically over-diagnosed in comparison to females, who are usually under-diagnosed. The presenting symptoms of ADHD between both genders are the same. Psychiatrists should collaborate together to bring more awareness to these differences in hopes to make the diagnosis between males and females even around the globe. As nurses, we can adequately provide proper care for patients with the proper diagnosis of ADHD.

Psychotic symptoms, mood disorders, and other severe adverse effects are commonly seen in the use of Ritalin as a treatment for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), as well as in other pharmacological methods of treatment. This literature review explores research articles defining the most successful non-pharmacological symptom management techniques for school-aged children, 5 to 18 years of age, diagnosed with ADHD. ADHD is a learning disorder that affects over 3.62% of males and 0.85% of females ages 5 to 15 years of age. The symptoms of ADHD include hyperactivity, impulsivity, and inattention and is often associated with other comorbid conditions like oppositional defiant disorder, conduct disorder, and anxiety disorders. In order to outline the most effective treatments, a literature review was conducted to examine studies found through the EBSCO database, CINHAL, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), and Google Scholar pertaining to non-pharmacological treatment for ADHD. Upon critically appraising these studies, computer attention training to enhance focus, behavioral therapies and variations of diet, such as adding fatty acids and eliminating intake of certain dyes were determined effective non-pharmacological treatments.

The complexity of wound healing after partial- and full-thickness burn injury continues to challenge the medical community. Current treatment modalities, such as autologous skin grafts, are often prolonged, labor-intensive, and painful for the patient. In burn injuries with a large total body surface area (TBSA), donor sites are often limited. Furthermore, these skin grafts are often insufficient for comprehensive wound healing. Due to the current complexities of burn treatment, a review of the literature was conducted on emerging stem cell therapy as both an alternative and adjunct treatment. The keywords “burns” and “stem cell therapy” were utilized to generate results from the CINAHL database (30 results). The databases ScienceDirect and Geneva Free Medical Journals automatically populated related results. The literature suggests that mesenchymal, adipose-derived, and epidermal stem cell therapies improve the rate, functionality, cosmetic outcome, and long-term success of wound healing following burn injury in both animals and humans. These results support the use of stem-cell therapy as a beneficial treatment for burn injuries. A notable limitation of these studies was the use of reduced sample sizes. Future research should include clinical trials with greater sample sizes of human populations (n=30).

Sleep is one of the most essential aspects to our overall health, yet elderly population seem to obtain the least amount. This literature review will discuss the effectiveness of aromatherapy as an intervention for insomnia in the elderly population compared to pharmacological methods such as Melatonin. Insomnia is often seen as a comorbidity to physiological and psychological diseases that present during the aging process, however, insomnia itself is not considered a normal process of aging. Older adults that experience insomnia are more likely to develop memory disorders, depression, a decreased quality of life, a higher risk for falls, and other physiological impairments. To determine the effectiveness of aromatherapy and melatonin as an aid for insomnia, research was derived from online databases CINAHL and PubMed Central (PMC). After critical appraisal of each study, it was determined that both melatonin and essential oils have a positive impact on insomnia in the elderly, however, they differ in mechanism of action and risk factors associated with each. In conclusion, a recommendation for further research would be to exclusively perform an experimental study directly comparing melatonin with aromatherapy as a sleep aid in the geriatric population.

Since 2000, the occurrence of autism in children in the United States has increased by 119.4 percent. This literature review evaluated the effectiveness of nonpharmacological interventions used to decrease the occurrence of behavioral outbursts in children and adolescence, 18 years and younger, with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD). To determine the effectiveness of nonpharmacological interventions for the behavioral outbursts, review of the literature conducted using the academic database CINAHL, using the keywords, behavioral “interventions” and “autism spectrum disorder in children”. Autism spectrum disorders are defined by a deficiency in social requite and communication as well as by restricting social behaviors. It is common for all children and adolescence with ASD to experience anxiety, tantrums and hostility towards others. Within this age group, the most common behavioral issues observed were sleep, temper, hyperactivity, aggression, eating, and sensory. The studies read focused on musical therapy as the main intervention for behavioral outbursts in children and adolescence with ASD. The studies reviewed compared the decrease of behavioral outbursts from musical therapy to other interventions such as: theater therapy, pet therapy, art therapy, and movement therapy. The results of our literature review concluded that no single therapy alone decreases the occurrence of behavioral outbursts in children and adolescence with autism spectrum disorder. Due to the extraneous variables present in the research, further studies should be conducted on more precise sample groups.

As of 2024 there will be a predicted shortage of 1.09 million registered nurses. With the growing baby boomer population, more hospitalizations than ever, and an aging workforce, hospital administration is working to increase employment and retention rates. Preventing these efforts is the growing incidents of workplace bullying towards new graduate nurses. Workplace bullying is any form of violent or hostile language, actions, or gestures targeted at another employee that affects their self-esteem, feelings of safety, or work ethic (Rocker, 2008, para. 5). Therefore, in order to determine the effects of workplace bullying, CINAHL database was accessed to review and compare studies based on new graduate nurses, workplace bullying, depression, nurse aggression, retention rates, patient care, education, and interventions. From these studies, data shows that these nurses are more likely to leave their positions, have decreased quality of patient care, and experience higher rates of depression. All of these contribute to the growing nursing shortage in the United States and abroad. Many studies have established that workplace bullying in the nursing field is a problem; however, less research has been done to implement effective coping techniques. The current research available has shown success with online education and transitional support programs. This literature review found that more research needs to be done on strategies to reduce or help cope with workplace bullying.

It is estimated that “up to 1 million infants areexposed in utero to licit and/or illicit drugs each year”. Due to this growing problem, the evaluation of whether children who have been exposed to cocaine in utero are at an increased risk for delays, and/or disabilities, in their cognitive, social, and behavioral development compared with children without prenatal cocaine exposure (PCE) during childhood through adolescents. Online databases CINHAL and Google Scholar were utilized using key words “cocaine”, “prenatal exposure”, and “development” to locate primary research articles for this literature review. Through synthesis of current literature, it was determined that PCE had implications on internal and external functioning, executive functioning, as well as small, but lasting effects on language skills. However, it has proven difficult to measure the significance of PCE because these children often have multiple biological and environmental factors that negatively impact their development. It is recommended that nurses be aware of, and receive specific training regarding the additional support and resources that this population may require.

There are approximately 1.6 to 3.8 million concussions each year in the United States related to sport participation. However, only 40 percent of concussions were reported to a healthcare professional or coach. The risk for underreporting concussive symptoms can lead to severe health consequences like compounded neuropathophysiologic impairment and chronic traumatic encephalopathy. There is an assumption in current research that increasing athletes’ knowledge of concussive symptoms and consequences will result in an increase in concussion reporting. There is little research on this relationship. The online resources Academic OneFile, EBSCO Host, and ScienceDirect were used to appraise original research to examine if the education of concussions in athletes affects the self-reporting of concussive symptoms. The keywords searched were “sports concussion protocols,” “concussive symptom underreporting,” and “traumatic brain injury laws.” The results were limited by peer-reviewed, full texts from the years 2008 to 2018. Synthesis of current research revealed that athletes reported fewer symptoms to their athletic trainers compared to symptoms reported to researchers in a confidential setting. There was no difference in self-reported concussive symptoms between cleared and non-cleared athletes. Athletes were able to list most concussion symptoms, including long-term consequences. However, when athletes were given scenarios including concussive symptoms, no group of athletes stated they would stop playing. There is a cognitive dissonance between athletes’ concussion knowledge and their reporting behaviors. More research is needed on effective behavior modification in concussive symptom reporting.

The vegan diet has had an increase in popularity during the last several years; with its rise in popularity, it is important to take a look at how this diet affects the neurological and physical development of children from conception to age six. A literature review was conducted to evaluate research in order to determine how a diet lacking animal meat and products affects the neurological and physical development of a child. The research database CINHAL Complete was used to research the effects of a vegan diet on children. Chosen keywords used to search research articles in CINHAL Complete included: “vegan diet and development”, “soy-based formula”, “preschool children and vegan”, “children and vegan diet”, and “vegan diet and pregnancy”. After synthesizing current research, without supplementation and meticulous planning to ensure a variety of nutrients are consumed, a vegan diet can have detrimental effects including neurological deficits and deficiencies in vitamin B6 and B12, calcium, iron, and incomplete protein count. However, with appropriate supplementation and meticulous planning of a vegan diet in children up to age six, there is little difference in neurological and physical development between a vegan and an omnivorous diet. At this time, more research is needed to determine the long-term effects of a vegan diet on early childhood development.

Our society is full of "trendy" topics, including the now popular phenomena of using essential oils to treat ailments such as an everyday headache. But, can an oil really work to relieve pain? A literature review was performed to investigate the impact on the need for pharmacological interventions when the patient is also using essential oils to treat pain. Using the research database, CINAHL, evidence was gathered using the keywords "essential oils," "pain," "pain management," "hospitalized patient," and "in-patient." The patients in the selected studies were being treated for different illnesses and pain in many different hospital settings. The settings ranged from postoperative, hematology, labor and delivery, as well as critical and emergency care. Studies reflected that hospitalized patients who were administered essential oils alongside analgesics reported a decrease in pain. Therefore, these patients required a lesser dosage of analgesic compared to those who did not have adjunct essential oils or were given a placebo oil. Although the side effects of using essential oils consist of skin irritation and inflammation, allergic reaction, and sun sensitivity, essential oils have fewer side effects than conventional pharmacological treatments. In conclusion, the results of the studies showed that the use of essential oils reduced the quantity of analgesic needed, as well as increased patients' satisfaction with care. The recommendation as a result of the study findings is to continue using essential oils for the treatment of pain in the hospital setting.

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is a disorder that effects many neurodevelopmental factors such as social interaction, communication skills, and repetitive behaviors. This causes lifelong difficulties in developing independence into adulthood. Because the etiology of ASD is still largely unknown, there has been a growing skepticism among parents that the measles-mumps-rubella (MMR) vaccine could increase the risk of further regressing or developing ASD. This view that vaccines and ASD are related dates all the way back to the controversial 1999 Wakefield study claiming a link between the two. Research data was analyzed to determine if there was a correlation between the prevalence of MMR vaccination and ASD diagnoses. Research was conducted on CINAHL using keywords such as "autism", and "MMR risks and benefits". After reviewing and comparing the literature, it was determined that there is no significant evidence of an association between ASD onset and the MMR vaccine. In addition, it was found that there was no significant change in ASD regression in vaccinated versus non vaccinated children. Recommendations for further research include conducting studies with a larger sample, as well as studies focusing on an ASD correlation with additional vaccines. Additionally, there is a need for continued study of the biological makeup of the MMR vaccine in order to prevent further patient complications.

Since October 1, 2017, the influenza virus has killed 97 pediatric patients in America. Patients age 5 to 12 years old with asthma are immunocompromised, putting them at a much higher risk of contracting the influenza virus. “Influenza causes more hospitalizations and deaths in children and adults than any other vaccine preventable disease in the US” (Piedra, 2013). In recent years, vaccination rates against the influenza virus continue to fall short of the Healthy People 2020 goal of 80% for vaccination of Americans (Shaikh & Byrd, 2016). We critically appraised data supporting both vaccinated and unvaccinated children with asthma. A literature review was done using the research databases EbscoHost and CINAHL Complete to find appropriate journals and studies applicable to the topic of interest. The key phrases “asthma,” “influenza,” “influenza vaccine,” “school-aged children,” and “preventable diseases” were used in the advanced search system to identify articles for review. In summary, the chosen articles support the stance that the live attenuated influenza vaccine (LAIV) is more effective than the inactivated influenza vaccine (IIV) in preventing the influenza virus. The LAIV is contraindicated in children with asthma due to adverse reactions from the introduction to the live virus. We conclude that the IIV is effective in preventing influenza infection and reducing asthma attacks in school-aged children. We recommend a longitudinal study comparing and contrasting the effects of the IIV in asthmatic versus healthy children.

Hand hygiene is important after regular events such as restroom use, playing outside, sneezing, or before eating a meal; yet, how common is it for someone to wash his or her hands after use of a cell phone? Is there an effective way to disinfect a cell phone? A cell phone touches many surfaces a typical hygienic person would never touch. How much do cell phones contribute to the spread of communicable diseases in the college setting? The purpose of this literature review is to find the extent of contamination, the types of microorganisms, and effective disinfectants of which have been evaluated by different studies. The research generator CINAHL and the searches “cell phone” and “communicable disease” were used to find research articles relevant to undergraduate students. The sources of original research were found in multiple countries and parameters were extended to a typical college campus. After synthesizing the literature, it has been determined that cell phones are a vector for multiple bacteria leading to infectious diseases. Research has shown that some disinfectant methods are more effective than others, but without proper hygiene education, recontamination will occur. Due to gaps found in the literature, it is recommended that future research includes effective and convenient ways to consistently disinfect a cell phone.

Hypothermia is one of many reasons that contribute to a neonate’s mortality. During this time, neonates are more susceptible to infectious diseases and hypothermia. Being at an increased risk for complications puts neonates at an increased risk of morbidity and mortality. In a study, kangaroo care, an intervention performed at birth that promotes skin-to-skin contact has physiologic benefits between a baby and his/her mother, as compared to the use of polyethylene. In 2016, 10% of the babies born in the United States were considered preterm, within that sample of 10%, 28% perished. This study searched for a positive correlation between mortality and the technique used to care for the infant after birth. The major keywords used to find results included: "polyethylene and preterm neonates," "skin-to-skin contact," and "kangaroo care." Limitations included in this literature review were finding results for neonates in developed countries. After critical appraisal of the literature, it was found that skin-to-skin contact method is more beneficial for a preterm infant. Although there are benefits to the use of polyethylene in wrapping the baby after birth, kangaroo care has been shown to benefit the survival rate of a neonate. There is a correlation between infants who receive skin-to-skin contact with their mothers in the first week of life and decreased morbidity rates.

Skin to skin contact between mothers and babies after birth is essential for the baby’s shocking transition from the womb into the world. From the mother’s warm, cozy belly to the big, loud world, the change of scenery can be overwhelming and may adversely affect the infant’s well-being. In this literature review, research findings, from original studies that evaluate the impact of skin to skin contact on infants within the first year of life, are analyzed. Skin to skin contact is a therapeutic technique used by the mother and infant soon after birth to achieve several benefits. In order for it to be considered skin to skin contact, there must not be any barriers between the mother’s skin and the baby’s skin including, but not limited to, clothing, sheets, and blankets. Original research articles were examined from the CINAHL Complete database to research the advantages associated with the skin to skin contact. To narrow our results, keywords such as “skin to skin contact,” “infants,” “attachment,” and “relationship” were used. The results were also limited to studies performed from 2008 to 2018. After appraising these studies, it was concluded that skin to skin contact improves bonding between mothers and babies, reduces the baby’s stress, and promotes breastfeeding within the first hour of life. Therefore, based on these findings, skin to skin contact is essential for infants and should be implemented in every hospital.

Although one of the most developed countries in the world, there is a current disparity in access to health care for children in impoverished communities in the United States. This lack of access is caused by many factors such as insurance limitations, inadequate health care literacy, obstacles in transportation, or just a general lack of knowledge. The goal of our research was to highlight the disparities in nutritional education for school-aged children in impoverished communities and how it impacts the predisposition for chronic illnesses in later adulthood. Statistics show that the extent to which people understand their health status has an effect on their compliance with health regimens and their efforts in further preventative care. An effort to educate and equip low-income families with the knowledge basis and health measures they should take could greatly improve the overall health status and quality of life in the children of these communities.

Given that obesity is a rising epidemic in Western civilization, it is important to address causative factors like the consumption of added sugars. The purpose of this review is to determine the direct effect of added sugar consumption on the incidence of adolescent obesity. Databases were searched for articles published within the last five years, and they are as follows: CINAHL, ScienceDirect, and GALE. Research identified studies that explored the relationship between the intake of added sugar and/or total sugar and obesity. Data extracted for this review include association between sugar consumption and obesity, magnitude and direction of the association, sample size and population, assessment methods, and funding. Of the 6 studies consulted, all found a positive correlation between added sugar consumption and incidence of adolescent obesity. There is a positive correlation between the intake of added sugar and the incidence of adolescent obesity. However, the strength of correlation in the individual studies varies, which may be attributed to population, sample size, and research methods. Clinical significance is evident throughout the studies, but to varying degrees of magnitude.

This research study evaluated the effectiveness of nonpharmacologic interventions commonly used to manage the symptoms of dementia. Alzheimer’s disease, the most common type of dementia, is a progressive, degenerative disease that impairs the brain’s structure and function. The exact etiology of Alzheimer’s disease is unknown. Although it is not considered a normal part of aging, this disease primarily affects individuals over age 60, making age a primary risk factor. Patients with Alzheimer’s dementia experience impaired cognitive function. Common clinical manifestations include frequent forgetfulness, confusion, difficulty performing familiar tasks, disorientation, impaired judgement, misplacing things, poor judgement, and loss of initiative (Lewis, Dirksen, Heitkemper, Bucher, 2014). Therefore, to determine commonly used treatment methods research was conducted on non-pharmaceutical studies regarding Alzheimer’s dementia found in the academic databases PubMed, CINAHL, EBHOST, and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Several therapies were reviewed such as music therapy, light therapy, aroma therapy, and touch therapy. After reviewing and comparing these studies, it was determined that music therapy was the most significantly effective in treating symptoms of Alzheimer’s dementia in the evaluated patient population. In conclusion, the recommendations for further research includes larger sample populations of both genders to evaluate non-pharmacological treatments regarding Alzheimer's symptoms. Studies solely using non-pharmacological treatments without the use of pharmacological interventions are also needed.

This study examines whether pregnant women who consistently sleep five hours or less are at risk for greater complications during pregnancy, compared with pregnant women who sleep eight or more hours during their duration of pregnancy. Most women during pregnancy have experienced sleep disruption due to frequent urination and difficulty finding a comfortable sleeping position. Research suggest that sleep deprivation and hormonal changes can cause health concerns for the pregnant population, such as premature labor. A lack of sleep has been strongly associated with decreased cognitive functioning in healthy individuals, nevertheless in pregnant women. Women categorized as having poor sleep are more likely to have an unplanned caesarean births and experience a longer delivery than those who consistently sleep more than seven hours. Therefore, health care providers should prescribe a minimum of eight hours sleep throughout pregnancy to assure a decreased risk of unpredicted labor type and duration. Research suggests sufficient sleep is necessary for fetal wellness and development. Current research studies were chosen that reflect a population of pregnant women. Future studies are recommended to include differing socioeconomic statuses and ethnicities among pregnant women for the economic or cultural effects on sleep and pregnancy. Additionally, longitudinal studies are recommended that focus on the long-term effects of sleep deprivation during pregnancy on childhood development and transition into adulthood.

College students often misuse nonprescription stimulants as a gateway to improve overall academic performance including better tests scores, time management, motivation, and success. This study seeks to unravel the common belief that stimulants improve overall academic functioning. Through various literature, this study also seeks to identify the minimal knowledge of these college students using nonprescribed stimulants. Research review on this topic was done using CINAHL and Elsevier ClinicalKey databases. Qualitative studies do support this theory, however, quantitative studies are contradictory to this theory. This is apparent when the GPA of college students using nonprescription stimulants is studied and no change is noted. On the other hand, the results of interviewed college students are highly suggestive of satisfactory results in improved academic performance. Furthermore, of the sampled college students, whom were questioned about correct use of these non-prescribed stimulants, most were uneducated about correct dosing, medication management, and risks for negative outcomes (de Souza, 2015). In conclusion, studies have shown that use of nonprescription stimulants were unsatisfactory in expected result of improved academic performance.

Preterm infants have potentially fatal physiological and cognitive deficits that can greatly decrease their quality and quantity of life. Healthcare providers are using financially taxing technological interventions to improve the life of preterm infants, but have dismissed some basic life-changing interventions, such as Skin-to-Skin Care(SSC). Due to of the lack of access to adequate healthcare worldwide, the prevalence of preterm infant deaths is potentially preventable if providers consider the implementation of nontechnological interventions. The objective is to assess whether or not current findings on SSC support it as an effective intervention to decrease the mortality rate in preterm infants as well as decrease the prevalence of comorbidities. Our team searched for reliable, scholarly sources that contained adequately populated samples, and peer reviewed articles published after 2012. The databases in which information was obtained through include: Cochrane, National Center for Biotechnology Information, and Elsevier; with specific findings from various other academic journals and publications. After reviewing articles on SSC, the overall effect of this intervention was an improved mother-infant attachment. Infants experiencing SSC have subjectively scored less on pain experience scales. Physiologically, studies have also shown improved respirations, temperature, heart rate, and oxygen saturation rates in newborns, thus improving mortality rates; as well as decreased stress-related hormonal levels, lengthened infant sleeping times, decreased hospital-acquired infections, improved cerebral blood flow and head circumference, and decreased hospital readmission rates. Further research is needed to assess contradicting findings from these studies.

The relationship between various aspects of staff hygiene and nosocomial infectious agents was reviewed. Nosocomial infections are infections that are transmitted and contracted within the confines of an inpatient setting and are known to lengthen the stay and increase complications. Healthcare workers encounter patients numerous times throughout their stay, which raises the question: are patients treated by healthcare workers who have poor hygiene habits more likely to develop nosocomial infections compared to patients who are treated by healthcare workers who have strict hygiene patterns? Healthcare centers are persistently working to reduce the quantity of these bacterium within their facilities, but at times, it is overlooked how much bacteria are carried on the health care workers themselves. Many studies showed a positive correlation between number of interactions with staff and infection development. Patients in the hospital on contact precautions were found to be less likely to experience nosocomial infections than those who were not. The review specifically looks at the links between contaminated stethoscopes, cell phones, nursing uniforms, and worker hand hygiene with the spread of infection. There is proof of higher rates of spread of infection due to lack of cleanliness among medical staff. The implications of the review show a need for hospitals to monitor the hygiene of staff before they come to work.

Do asthmatic children with mothers who consumed tobacco during pregnancy have an increased risk at developing asthma versus asthmatic children whose mothers did not consume tobacco during pregnancy? It is estimated that 250,000,000 women throughout the world smoke on a daily basis. There are at least 400,000 infants who are exposed to smoke every year in the United States, and twelve percent of women smoke during their pregnancies in the United States. Tobacco use throughout pregnancy has been known to cause an increased risk for asthma in children. This literature review was conducted to assess the potential complications of smoking during pregnancy. The methods chosen to conduct this literature review include a pooled analysis, experimental study where the participants received either a placebo or nicotine during the gestational period, surveys, data collection, studies, and a retrospective observational hospital-based birth case-control study. The sources were obtained through Lipscomb University’s online library resources. The conclusions of these research studies suggest smoking during pregnancy does in fact cause asthma.

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) is one of the most common neurodevelopmental disorders with a prevalence of up to 1 in 68 children, characterized by core deficits in social communication and restricted interests with repetitive behaviors (CDC, 2014). Sleep difficulties are common in ASD, affecting 50-80% of children, with difficulty falling asleep (sleep onset insomnia) being the most common sleep concern parents express (Krakowiak et al., 2008; Mayes & Calhoun, 2009; Williams et al, 2004). The physiological correlates of sleep and circadian rhythms in adolescents and adults with ASD have also received sparse attention. Cortisol, a marker of the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis demonstrates a circadian rhythm, with levels highest in the morning and falling in the evening as bedtime approaches. This study was designed to define sleep patterns in a carefully phenotyped cohort of adolescents and young adults with ASD using a combination of parent and child report, sleep questionnaires, and actigraphy measurements, as well as two physiological markers of sleep and circadian rhythms--endogenous melatonin and cortisol levels. Age-matched individuals with typical development were included as a comparison group. Our hypotheses were that in comparison to those of typical development, individuals with ASD would have delayed bedtimes, prolonged sleep latencies (e.g., increased time to fall asleep), and abnormalities in endogenous salivary cortisol and melatonin. A better definition of sleep patterns in this population, in combination with physiological measures, is a necessary first step toward the development of targeted interventions to improve sleep in this population.

While the Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) causes physiological damage, the stigma attached to it also causes psychological complications. The psychologic effects of adults with HIV depend on the social support systems present in their lives. The authors obtained research to evaluate the effects of multiple social support systems on the psychological components of HIV. The EBSCO Host and Encore databases lead to finding original research within credible journals. Some of the keywords chosen to find research included “HIV,” “psychosocial,” “adults,” “support systems,” and “coping.” Some of the limitations of this study include the sheer amount of variables such as geographical location, cultural perceptions, and familial bias that can influence the outcome of a behavioral intervention on a person diagnosed with HIV. All articles collected were peer reviewed. The complications associated with HIV are not limited to physical manifestations, but include psychological components. The presence of many support systems such as online support systems, family and peers can assist in the spiritual, emotional, educational, and financial needs of an individual with HIV. On the contrary, the lack of support systems can also affect these people negatively. It is recommended that more research is done on cultural and ethnic differences. For instance, some research suggests that individuals in Asian, African, and Middle Eastern cultures vary in needs and coping styles that social support systems can provide.

This literature review explores the relationship between poverty and obesity in American children. Across the nation, childhood obesity is becoming increasingly prominent, and it is important to assess whether the cause is socioeconomic. Childhood obesity, in this context, is based on a body mass index (BMI) of >95th percentile. Definitions of poverty varied within the articles from being below the poverty line, an income-to-needs ratio of <2, being part of a school lunch assistance program, and living in a low-education and low-employment family. The online research program CINHAL was used to consolidate articles by searching with key terms, “children,” “poverty,” and “obesity.” The literature reveals that poverty early in life often leads to obesity. Many families with employment and income difficulties are more likely to have stressors that contribute to unhealthy BMIs in their children. The limitations of this research include the broad range of children in the studies, as some studies focus on adolescents and others on younger children. Narrowing the study to a more specific group such as children those living in the southern United States, or only preschool children, or only female children could also help with further evaluation.

Question: Are children who have parents with alcohol addictions at an increased risk for alcoholism over their lifetime compared with children who have no history of family alcoholism. Abstract: It is important to understand the risks for alcoholism and how children are genetically affected. It is important for nurses to acknowledge this growing issue and to give patients and their families a holistic care approach and access to preventative programs. Our focus was the genetic predisposition of children born to alcoholic parent(s). Our hope was to find the probability of children becoming alcoholics over the span of their lifetime. The research databases, CINAHL and Encore, were used to determine the articles appropriate for our literature review. Key words such as, “genetics and alcoholism predisposition” and “alcohol abuse,” were used to help aid and narrow our research for our problem. Limitations included gender specificity, maternal versus paternal influences, article year from 2011 to present, with the focus on alcoholism and not considering other addictive substances. After analyzing the articles, it was determined that there is a genetic predisposition for alcohol addiction in children of alcoholic parents. Also, it was determined that alcoholism is not solely linked to genetics. Environmental factors play a large role in alcohol abuse. We recommend additional research on this topic in an effort to allow for a deeper understanding of specific genetic causes of alcoholism. It is important for researchers to study this problem in detail in order to learn more about the predisposition of alcoholism.

The effects of rape directly influence a women’s health psychologically, physically, and socially. Future nurses are likely to encounter patients with rape-associated PTSD at some point during their career. The authors set out to compile original studies to determine the effects of PTSD in women who have been raped sometime over the course of their lifetime. We utilized database CINAHL, PsychArticles, and PubMed to find full text, peer reviewed, scholarly original research articles from the year 2011-2015 with varying subject sizes. Keywords used in the research process include “rape”, “women”, “PTSD”, “physiological effects”, “depression”, “sexual assault”, “lifetime”, and “effects”. Limitations of our study include full text articles published between 2011-2016. Subject limitations included the female population. The effects of PTSD in women who have been raped leads to low self-esteem and risky behavior. As a result of low self-esteem and risky behavior over the victim's lifetime, she may develop depression, anxiety, dissociation, alcoholism, tobacco use, and physical comorbidities as a result of these risky behaviors. Furthermore, unhealthy relationships often result from the low self-esteem caused by the trauma. The authors recommend that more research is done to compare the effects of rape-related PTSD in male versus female victims. Additionally, the authors recommend that further research is performed to discover the relationship between various women’s coping styles in relation to their treatment plans.

Premature infants suffer from low birth weight, impaired thermoregulatory mechanisms, nutritional deficits, an immature immune system, and developmental delays, which is why specific interventions are needed to improve outcomes. There are many different approaches in the neonatal field that deal with human touch and stimulation, including kangaroo care, infant massage, and gentle human touch. The research described in this study was aimed at evaluating the differences in developmental rates between infants who received various types of therapeutic touch and those who did not. In order to determine commonly used methods of human touch and the effects of them on premature infants, research was conducted using CINAHL, PubMed, and other online databases. Based on many research articles, the effects of human touch will provide soothing and calming effect, significantly lower stress hormones, promote sleep states, decrease percentage of awake and fussy states, and increase weight gain in preterm infants. All of these factors are necessary to enhance the physical development for these newborns. Therefore, it is important for nurses to educate and encourage parents to have more skin-to-skin contact with their children, especially the preterm infants.

The question posed was: “Are adults who have experienced sexual trauma between birth to age twelve at an increased risk for developing sexual addiction compared to adults who did not experience any type of sexual trauma during this period?” Several sources were looked over, and the results varied from source to source. The first source concluded that sexual abuse as a child does not relate to adult sexual compulsivity, but gender, sexual orientation, emotional abuse, early pornography exposure, and parental sex addiction were found to have a strong link to it (McPherson, Clayton, Wood, Hiskey, & Andrews, 2013). This study was limited because it was not longitudinal, requiring recall of childhood events (McPherson et al., 2013). There were 348 participants who were users of support websites related to drug use, alcohol use, gambling, and sexual addictions; these participants took a survey online including addiction questionnaires, the Sexual Compulsivity Scale, and the Early Trauma Inventory (McPherson et al., 2013). The second source concluded that stories of abuse are very common among sex addictions with a sample of 1,000 sex-addicted participants revealing that 81% of them had been sexually abused (Riemersma & Sytsma, 2013). Early trauma can have a great effect on brain development, which can be associated with sexual behavior problems (Riemersma & Sytsma, 2013). The third source sampled 539 university students from the Mid-West, having them fill out an anonymous questionnaire related to sexual compulsivity, family environment, history of abuse, and self-esteem (Perera, Reece, Monahan, Billingham, & Finn, 2009). It was discovered through this study that about 78% of participants who had undergone treatment for sexual addiction had a coinciding history of sexual abuse (Perera et al., 2009). The fourth source also concluded that sexual trauma was related to later sexual addiction, but the occurrence is higher in men than women (Aaron, 2012). Overall, the studies varied in sample sizes, methods used for testing, and even results. Some studies said that sexual abuse as a child is related to sexual addiction in adulthood while others denied correlation between the two.

The incidence of eating disorders among the developmental period spanning childhood and adolescence is a troubling, yet very real problem. Eating disorders have been linked to psychological and emotional maltreatment. We sought to evaluate original data in order to determine if abusive (emotional or physical) relationships with one or both parent(s) during childhood and adolescence put those affected at an increased risk of developing an eating disorder. The research databases CINAHL and PubMed assisted in finding accurate articles related to the topic in question. These sources were chosen due to their ability to yield complete and specific articles for the objective being studied. Chosen keywords entered into these databases were “eating disorders and adolescence”, “eating disorders and parenting styles”, “eating disorders and abuse in adolescence,” and “eating disorders in children related to family relationship issues.” Limitations included different sociocultural backgrounds, narrow age range, and sparse heterogeneity. Only current research articles were used.

The goal of this study was to determine if women who are obese are at an increased risk for complications throughout pregnancy compared with women who have a normal weight. Obesity was defined as a BMI greater than 30.0. Normal weight was defined as a BMI of 18.5-24.9. Current research of the topic was identified using the CINAHL Complete and Academic OneFile databases. This research was then analyzed in a comprehensive literature review. After analyzing the research results, the authors determined that there is a need for additional research on the consequences of obesity during pregnancy.

The purpose of this review is to compare levels of intelligence, through out a lifetime, between those who are diagnosed with synesthesia compared to non-synesthetes. Through a search on Encore database, we found that there were several studies that compared effects of synesthesia related to one’s intelligence. A limitation to the studies of synesthetes is that they are hard to identify, leading to small populations, causing small-scale studies. However, the overall findings through our research were consistent in that synesthesia allows an individual to organize information differently in their brain enhancing their memory; therefore synesthesia helps individuals retain knowledge in a greater capacity than non-synesthetes.

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, about 610,000 Americans die of heart disease every year (2015). Arteriosclerosis is perpetuated by a diet high in saturated fat and cholesterol which narrows the lumen of the blood vessel, causing elevated blood pressure and increased cardiac workload. The writers of this paper attempted to determine if maintaining a diet of plant-based whole foods would reduce the incidence of heart disease. These authors reviewed studies that were done between 1998 and 2015. The subject groups ranged from 50-6500 people, some with previous health conditions and some without. After manipulating these subjects’ diets and lifestyles in different ways, the typical finding was that dietary modifications are crucial in the prevention of health problems, especially heart disease. The United States has a high incidence of health problems due to the normal diet and lifestyle, but studies show that changing to a whole foods plant-based diet would reduce the incidence of these issues. This literature review will further summarize those research findings, and describe implications for nursing and the lives of all Americans.

This research study analyzed and evaluated the effectiveness of the clotting factor vitamin K that is administered to newborn infants compared to outcomes of infants who did not receive vitamin K. Vitamin K is administered to infants at birth due to the inability of the immature digestive tract to create a sufficient amount of Vitamin K at birth. We analyzed research that discussed what the impact of vitamin K deficiency could have on infant’s mortality. Neglecting to give an infant vitamin K at birth could lead to various levels of bleeding with some as serious as hemorrhage and possible death. Due to the inability of newborns to create enough Vitamin K on their own, the vitamin K injection is of paramount importance, which translates to a need to educate pregnant mothers during prenatal and postpartum care. Additional research is advised to analyze the reasons why mothers refuse Vitamin K but also to research the best methods to educate mothers on the importance of Vitamin K.

In the geriatric population, what is the effect of neglect on geriatrics patients. As a nurse, it’s important to provide the best care possible to ensure that the patient’s health is not compromised. The purpose of this review is to evaluate the patient’s health outcomes in the healthcare setting. This review will discuss the broad outline of mistreatment including verbal, sexual, physical, mental, emotional, and financial neglect and how that affects the patient. The review will also discuss the expected care in the geriatric population and its overall effects on the patient. A search was conducted through ENCORE and CINAHL databases for articles that were published in the United States from 2004 until 2016 to clearly identify the significance of neglect on geriatric patients. These studies on the different types of neglect and mistreatment involved individuals that were a part of the older population, therefore the focus of the study was on patients who are over the age of fifty. Not all the articles met the criteria, however the concern for the elderly population was greatly condense. The main problems that played a huge factor in the mistreatment of the elderly were mental, physical, and sexual abuse, as well as their environmental situations. The overall evidence points to the conclusion that elder abuse comes from every aspect of the geriatric population with risk factors that include their family, the health care providers, and their own personal environment.

Lipscomb School of Nursing is based upon the idea of placing other’s needs before your own. As nursing students, we have created this Lipscomb School of Nursing Service Day to allow our skills and our compassion to be used for the greater good. The Nashville community is a place in which many of the homeless population reside. These people are without adequate resources such as housing, food, clothing, and access to healthcare. Our project includes a day at the Nashville Rescue Mission Women’s Campus in which we will perform various primary health screenings such as blood glucose and blood pressure assessments. These screenings are beneficial in aiding these residents to participate in evaluations that can better detect common health issues amongst the homeless population such as hypertension, diabetes, and malnutrition. We will also be providing these women and children with education seminars concerning several topics that they are faced with on a daily basis such as: nutrition, breast self-exams, children safety, WIC (food stamps), and overall women’s health promotion and maintenance. We have created educational pamphlets for these women to take with them as a reference for later referral, and we have also set up an educational station for the children to learn about children’s safety with coloring pages. Our intent is that this project will impact these women and children immensely. Our hope is to provide medical knowledge, preventative measures for illness, and steadfast compassion that will continue as Lipscomb School of Nursing so greatly exemplifies.