Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

High School

Library and Collection Development Policy

Lipscomb Academy Upper School Library Policy

The Lipscomb Academy staff provide research assistance to students, faculty and staff, a well-rounded collection of information resources, instruction in their use, and provision of facilities, technology, and an environment that supports study and learning. Students are expected to observe library rules and policies, as outlined below.

Facilities

The library is open during normal school hours. The library may close when library staff are away from the facility for meetings or other reasons. If the library is closed, students may not enter or use the library unless permitted by staff. The library may also close if a student or faculty group has reserved the library. Students needing to use the library during those times should speak to library staff. Students needing to come in before or after hours should make arrangements with library staff.

Food and Drinks

Closed drink containers are permitted in the library. No meals are to be eaten in the library without prior approval.

Respectful Use of the Library

Students should use the library for quiet study, reading, writing papers, research, or homework. As the only designated “quiet space” on campus, silence or quiet voices must be used at all times, unless sanctioned by library staff for special occasions. In addition, all school rules apply in the library. Students who do not use the library appropriately and/or respectfully or who do not follow library or school rules will receive demerits and possible suspension or revocation of library privileges.

Electronic Devices

Students in the library are expected to follow the Electronic Devices Policy as stated in the student handbook.

Computer Use

A limited number of desktop computers are available for student use in the library. Students are responsible for logging off when finished. Borrowing Library Materials

Students are expected to use proper library material sign-out procedures, be responsible for the location and condition of borrowed items, and timely return. Most items may be checked out for two weeks and may be renewed once unless requested by another library user. Materials in use for a particular project may be reserved for in-library use only. Students may borrow up to two books.

Fines Policy

In order to encourage the quick return of overdue/lost items and ensure the availability of materials to all students, the following fines policy applies:

● There is no daily overdue fine.

● Students will receive two overdue notices. If the item is not returned or renewed within one week of the second notice, a bill will be issued for the replacement cost of the item, usually $20. Reference and specialty items may incur a higher replacement fee.

● If library materials are returned and a bill has been issued, the replacement charge for the item will be dropped.

● If an item has been returned but the item is stained or damaged beyond repair, a bill will be issued to cover the cost of its replacement. Librarians determine the degree of damage based on their expertise and comparison to all other materials in the library.

● Borrowing periods and privileges may be shortened or suspended at certain times during the school year. All bills must be settled before the end of the school year. Graduating students will not receive graduation materials until outstanding library bills are settled for Upper School items.

Library Collection Policy

The goal of LA library collection development is to:

● provide a current and comprehensive body of information resources to support classroom instruction, student assignments and projects, and independent inquiry;

● promote a lifelong love of reading and learning by providing and promoting a carefully chosen selection of Christian and mainstream fiction and nonfiction from all suitable genres;

● foster student and staff spiritual growth by providing a breadth of resources on Christianity and Christian living.

Guiding Principles for LA Upper School Library Collection

● The library collects both Christian and secular materials.

● The librarian works closely with school administrators, staff, and faculty to match library collection development with changing curriculum needs.

● The library collects materials that both support and challenge Christian worldviews, as appropriate to age levels and to particular areas of study.

● The library’s collection includes materials from all Christian denominations and global religions.

● The library collection includes some works in Spanish, Chinese, and Korean to support the school’s foreign language program as well as support materials for Global students as needed.

● The library collection includes works that represent America’s multicultural heritage.

● The library strives to provide enjoyable fiction reading material in all genres, but may choose to pass on certain materials based on factors such as, but not limited to: excessive and pointless violence, inappropriate or excessive sexual content, excessiveuse of profanity, offensive anti-Christian content without other redeeming values, and age appropriateness.

● There is an expectation that parents will have conversations with their students about appropriate materials and take an active role in knowing what their son/daughter is reading. Together, students and parents are the final decision-makers regarding student selections from the library. Lipscomb Academy encourages families to have open conversations about what students are reading.

● The librarian will strive to inform students of any mature content in a title. However, the student takes responsibility as to whether that title falls outside of the boundaries created with his or her parents.

● The librarian is ultimately responsible for the selection of library materials but will consult, as appropriate, with school administrators, staff, and faculty and may also consult with students.The librarian uses a variety of professional selection tools (e.g. School Library Journal, Ingram ipage, Booklist, Kirkus, etc.) to assist in decision-making, collection building, and elimination of outdated and no longer relevant materials.

Evaluation of Materials

Effort is made to evaluate each work not only for its intellectual and academic value but also for factors such as excessive or gratuitous violence, sexual content, and/or profanity; age appropriateness, and appropriateness for a Christian school collection. Parents should be aware that some or all of these elements could appear to a degree in the materials collected, particularly in materials for older students, but are weighed against the overall value and quality of the work itself. Students and parents should also realize that materials are appropriate for or appeal to a variety of different reading interests, maturity levels, personalities and religious convictions. Students should always use their own discretion and their parents’ guidance in choosing reading material. Some materials may be held behind the Librarian’s desk or in teacher collections for selective use.

Contested Material Policy

Any student, staff member, or adult responsible for a student may express concerns about Library materials. When such a concern is indicated, the following procedure will be followed:

● The person expressing concern will complete the form “Request for Reconsideration of Library Materials” The item in question will be removed from use pending results of the inquiry.

● The Librarian and the Academic Dean will meet with the concerned person to discuss and try to resolve the issues expressed,

● If the concern is not resolved, a committee consisting of the Librarian, the Academic Dean, and a faculty member from the appropriate grade/subject area will meet to discuss and make recommendations concerning the item in question.

● The recommendation and reasoning will be presented to the person expressing concern.

● If the concerned person is not satisfied with the Committee’s recommendations, he or she may appeal to the Head of School, whose decision in the matter is final.

Donations Policy

The Lipscomb Academy Upper and Lower School libraries welcome donations of money, goods and materials, with the following guidelines.

● The Library maintains a wish list of items (including furnishings and equipment) it would like to obtain, creating an excellent way to recognize a special memory, birthday, academic achievement, or graduation. Please contact a Library staff member for details.

● While we are grateful for donated materials, equipment, and furnishings, the Library staff has the right to decline donations based on condition, currency, subject nature, relevance to curriculum, age appropriateness, need, space concerns, safety or other factors. Library staff may keep or discard donated materials as deemed appropriate