Library Research Guides: Exercise and Human Performance (EXHP): Get Started!

Librarian

Jaimie Beth Colvin

Email Me

Contact:

Beaman Library Rm 312

x 5717

INSTAL L these Full-Text (pdf) Finders

EndNote CLICK
EndNote browser plugin/extension, that searches for Pdfs that you upload to EndNote and citation information is atomically included.
more...less...
Browser plugin/extension, that searches for Pdfs. they are temporarily stored in your EndNote Locker. Once you upload them to your EndNote Desktop the Pdf along with citation information is imported to EndNote.
Download LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that searches for links to full-text articles (Pdfs) while you search the web!
more...less...
Works with Brave, Chrome, Edge, Firefox, and Vivaldi.

Welcome to the Exercise and Human Performance (EXHP) library research guide. For your convenience, relevant library resources and information relating to nursing are gathered in one place.

Popular Database(s)

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full text is a database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.

EXHP Databases

Science & Health

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. (upgrade from CINAHL Complete)
PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.
PubMed links to full-text when they are available.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
This collection includes journals from the health, life and social science fields of: nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience, arts & humanities, business. accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.

Nutrition

CABI Nutrition and Food Sciences This link opens in a new window
Contains original research, reviews, and news on nutrition and the food sciences. Subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features)
Sports Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Access is limited to 3 simultaneous users! log out when you finish searching.
Includes general information on sports nutrition, from hydration to meal planning.
Includes information on a variety of sports-related topics, including vegetarian athletes, adolescent athletes, college athletes, managing weight (both weight gain and loss) for athletes, and nutrition for injury recovery and rehabilitation. In addition, general information on sports nutrition, from hydration to meal planning, is included. Access is limited to three simultaneous users.
Limited Consecutive Users: 3

Psychology

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Offers complete access to the full text of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Offers complete access to the full text of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Includes bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information from scholarly publications in the behavioral and social sciences. Some citations include links to full text.
CABI Nutrition and Food Sciences This link opens in a new window
Contains original research, reviews, and news on nutrition and the food sciences. Subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features)
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. (upgrade from CINAHL Complete)
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
A collection of PhD dissertations and Master's theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Full text for works added since 1997, and for selected works written prior to 1997.
PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.
PubMed links to full-text when they are available.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
This collection includes journals from the health, life and social science fields of: nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience, arts & humanities, business. accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full text is a database for sports and sports medicine research. Providing hundreds of full-text sports medicine journals, it is an essential tool for health professionals and researchers studying fitness, health and sports.
Sports Nutrition Care Manual This link opens in a new window
Diet Manuals are for nutrition/dietetic practitioners designing & implementing nutritionally balanced menus customized to meet the patient's individual medical nutrition therapy needs & preferences. This diet manual provides current evidence-based nutrition recommendations for athletes.
Includes information on a variety of sports-related topics, including vegetarian athletes, adolescent athletes, college athletes, managing weight (both weight gain and loss) for athletes, and nutrition for injury recovery and rehabilitation. In addition, general information on sports nutrition, from hydration to meal planning, is included. Access is limited to three simultaneous users.
Limited Consecutive Users: 3

Taylor & Francis
You won't have access to all the articles listed. look for a green check mark or orange icon of an unlocked lock.

You may want to filter results to "Only show content I have full access to"

PubMed Basics
An overview of PubMed basics
Searching PubMed with MeSH
An overview of using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to search PubMed.

PubMed Search Tutorial
Watch this brief tutorial on searching PubMed.
Using ScienceDirect's Advanced Search Tutorial
Watch this 3-minute video to learn how to use ScienceDirect's advanced search feature.

Important Websites

Library Hours

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request Form

About Interlibrary Loan
Can't access the full-text of an article you found? Do give up! Requests articles, or books, Lipscomb does not own be sent from libraries around the world.
Interlibrary Loan Request Form