Free Natural Medicines Websites
- CARDS, NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsComputer Access to Research on Dietary Supplements (CARDS) contains federally funded dietary supplements research.
- ConsumerLab.comProvides access to the encyclopedia of Natural and Alternative Treatments.
- Dietary Supplement Fact SheetsA collection of fact sheets and other resources from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and other federal government sources presents information about dietary supplements and their ingredients.
- Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID)Provides estimated levels of ingredients in dietary supplement products sold in the United States.
- Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD)Includes information from the labels of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.
- MedlinePlus - Drugs, Herbs, & SupplementsProvides information in consumer-friendly language.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health - Herbs at a GlanceUses evidence-based research to develop brief fact sheets on herbs and botanicals.
- Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS)Provides information for dietary supplement treatment options and nutrient recommendations. Includes evidence-based fact sheets.
- PubMed Dietary Supplement SubsetThis subset limits search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.
Subscription Natural Medicines Databases
- Lexicomp This link opens in a new windowIncludes the Natural Products Database, which provides information on 400+ common dietary supplements.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new windowProvides information on herbs, vitamins, minerals, Chinese medicine, and acupuncture. Use the search box to look up a specific herb or supplement.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive list of single-ingredient and combination dietary supplement products and associated adverse effects and drug-supplement interactions. Recommendations are graded based on the type and quality of clinical evidence on which they are based.
