Textbooks
Cardiopulmonary Bypass and Mechanical Support by
Offering a unique, multidisciplinary approach to the complexities of CPB, the 4th Edition of Cardiopulmonary Bypass and Mechanical Support: Principles & Practice remains the gold standard in the field. This edition brings you fully up to date with every aspects of cardiopulmonary bypass, including new information on management of pediatric patients, CPB's role with minimally invasive and robotic cardiac surgery, mechanical circulatory support, miniaturized circuits and CPB, sickle cell disease and CPB management, and much more. A newly expanded title reflects the rapidly evolving nature of extracorporeal technology, encompassing both short-term and long-term forms of cardiac and pulmonary support. Key Features The most comprehensive and authoritative text in the field, widely used by anesthesiologists, perfusionists, and cardiothoracic surgeons, as well as intensive care specialists, neonatologists, and interventional cardiologists. Provides expert, full-color guidance on equipment, physiology and pathology, hematology, clinical applications, and neonates, infants, and children. Addresses univentricular and biventricular assist devices, as well as the various forms of extracorporeal pulmonary support that may or may not include circulatory assistance. Includes a brand-new look at the Development of Cardiopulmonary Bypass, offering an up-to-date analysis of the history of the field. Two new co-editors, Drs. John W. Hammon and Barry D. Kussman, provide a fresh perspective and additional expertise. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781451193619Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia by
Renamed for this new edition, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia is ideal for fellows and residents as well as practicing anesthesiologists. The book is concisely written and readily accessible, with a scope that combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. New editors, new content, and new access to procedural videos highlight this substantially revised edition. Nearly 70 contributors from over 35 institutions offer their experience and expertise. Two new co-editors bring their expertise and experience in critical care and pain management, in addition to cardiac anesthesia. Now with new chapters on ECMO support and robotic surgical techniques, clinical videos on the eBook, and Clinical Pearls for each chapter. Covers cardiac physiology and pharmacology, pre-procedural patient preparation, anesthetic management of specific disorders and procedures, post-procedural management, and more. Comprehensive and written in an outline format, with bulleted lists and concise writing style, making it easy to read and absorb key points. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience: Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
ISBN: 9781496372666Publication Date: 2018-09-29
Cardiopulmonary Bypass by
Cardiopulmonary Bypass, 2nd edition, offers a complete introduction to this specialist technique for medical and technical personnel involved in extracorporeal cardiopulmonary support. A clinically based overview of the subject is provided and updated chapters incorporate the most current developments in the field. Introductory chapters cover equipment and preparation of the cardiopulmonary bypass machine, safety and monitoring, routine conduct of bypass, and the process of weaning from mechanical to physiological circulation. Specialist chapters on mechanical support, ECMO, special surgical procedures, blood conservation techniques, and particular medical conditions that affect the conduct of cardiopulmonary bypass are also included. This new edition includes self-assessment multiple choice questions at the end of each chapter, allowing readers to test their own understanding of the material. Written and edited by specialists from leading cardiac centres in the UK and USA, this is an invaluable resource for clinical perfusion scientists, cardiac surgeons and cardiothoracic anaesthetists in training.
ISBN: 1107428254Publication Date: 2015-11-26
eBook Guide
Beaman Library has access to 240,000+ academic eBooks that can be found by visiting our EBSCO Academic eBook Collection, or by searching for a title on our homepage. You can either read the eBook online using the internet browser on your device, or download the eBook offline to your computer.
"Checkout" period for downloaded eBooks is 112 days.
You can also print up to 60 pages of most of our eBooks using these Printing Instructions.
In order to download an eBook, you must have registered for an EBSCOhost account while you are on Lipscomb's Campus. The easiest way to do this is to visit EBSCO Academic eBook Collection, search for an eBook, and attempt to download the eBook to your computer. You will be prompted to create an account before you are able to successfully download an eBook. We recommend using your myLipscomb credentials for your account.
If you are not able to set up an account on Lipscomb's Campus, please contact the Reference Desk at 615-966-6037.
How to Download eBooks:
- Make sure you have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer or device.
After you download and install Adobe Digital Editions, it will open on your computer. A pop-up box should appear asking you to authorize your computer. At the bottom of the box, there is a check-box for authorising your computer without an Adobe account. CHECK this box! - Make sure you have registered for an EBSCOhost account while on campus.
- Find the eBook you wish to view.
- Click on the “Full Download” link either on your search results page or within the record for the eBook.
- Choose the number of days you would like to “checkout” the eBook (limit 112 days).
- Choose your download format.
(Note: PDF files are recommended for eBooks you wish to access on your computer, and EPUB files are recommended for eBooks you wish to access on your phone or tablet devices.) - Click “Full Download.”
- The eBook is now downloaded to your device.
- You do not need to “return” an eBook. You will automatically lose access to the downloaded material when the checkout period ends.
You are able to view eBooks using your internet browser without downloading them. It is recommended you save the eBook you're reading to your EBSCO folder so it is easily accessible and you don't have to search for it every time you wish to view it.
How to Access an eBook Online:
- Find the eBook you wish to view.
- At the top of the page, you will see a "Login" button if you are on campus or a "Hello, Guest. Login for Full Access" button if you are off campus. Use either of these links to login and be authenticated as a Lipscomb user.
- Click into the record for the eBook.
- On the right-hand side, click "Add to Folder."
- The eBook is now saved in your account Folder under the eBooks tab. It will remain there until you manually delete it. You can come back to your folder to access the eBook.
- To view the eBook, simply select the "PDF Full Text" link.
If you have problems downloading ebooks, check the following things:
- Do you have an EBSCOhost account you created on campus?
If not, you must create one on campus. If you are off campus, please call the reference desk at 615-966-6037 for help. - Do you have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer?
If not, you must download this program in order to view eBooks offline. Go here to download it.
What if you have an EBSCOhost account and Adobe Digital Editions, but you are still having problems downloading eBooks? You try to download an eBook and you get an error message that the file extension is wrong.
- Go to your downloads on your computer. For PC users, you can click on the folder icon on your task bar at the bottom of your computer screen. Sort the order by date. Look for a file that says URLlink.
- Right click on the file and select the Open with option. A pop-up box should open with recommended programs to open the eBook file.
- If Adobe Digital Editions is not listed, then you need to add it by clicking the browse button at the bottom of the screen.
- A new pop-box will open. Look for a folder named Adobe and double click it.
- Then double click the folder Adobe Digital Editions.
- Look for a file named DigitalEditions. Select this file and click the open button.
Another option is to open your downloads on your computer and drag and drop the URLlink file into the Adobe Digital Editions shortcut on your desktop.
Additional Help for MAC Users
Some Mac users encounter problems viewing and/or downloading our eBooks.
- If you are using Safari, try using Google Chrome instead. There is a problem with Safari not letting users view eBooks.
- You can also try installing the Schubertit plugin at http://support.epnet.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=5704.
If after trying both options, you still cannot access eBooks, please call the reference desk at 615-966-5763 for further assistance.
How to access electronic textbooks from the book store
Most textbooks are provided by the bookstore.
Below are instructions to access electronic resources for from the bookstore for Fall Semester 2023:
How to access digital materials:
1. Visit https://lipscomb.
2. Login using your email address and password. This is your Lipscomb email address and your student ID (include the "L") unless you've changed your password previously.
3. Click Access Material next to the book you want to open