Library Research Guides: Pharmacy: Get Started!

Librarian

Jaimie Beth Colvin

Email Me

Contact:

Hughes Center 205C

x 1957

DOWNLOAD EndNote Desktop

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request Form

About Interlibrary Loan
Can't access the full-text of an article you found? Do give up! Requests articles, or books, Lipscomb does not own be sent from libraries around the world.
Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Pharmacy Databases

Drug Information

Lexicomp This link opens in a new window Intuitive navigation to in-depth information on drugs, interactions, medical calculations and more.  LexiComp is designed to provide quick access to clinically relevant answers regarding drug use at the point-of-care.  
Micromedex This link opens in a new window A suite of 5 databases offering comprehensive evidence-based drug, disease and toxicology information health care professionals can search quickly at the point-of-care.
- 3 Apps (Drug Reference, Drug Interactions, and IV Compatibility). Click here for Mobile Application Access.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
If you're having issues accessing NatMed it may be that you need to create an account.
SEE "Tutorials" tab for instructions.
- Creating a personal account is: Required
  - For instructions to create your personal account and learn what you'll have access to click here.
PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Searching for Drugs or Chemicals in PubMed's MeSH Databases. You can search:
-- the common or trade name
Tip: Check the Search Details to ensure your search term map to the correct drug or chemical.
-- by FDA Unique Ingredient Identified
---EC number from Enzyme Nomenclature
---Chemical Abstracts Service registry number.
& complex chemical names, search components of the name in MeSH

PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Textbooks, Reference Materials, Manuals, Guidelines and Standards

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading pharmacy reference materials, illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, drug therapy cases, and drug databases with dosing information, adverse reactions, and more.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Uses:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features)
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various titles from the best minds in medicine, and the content is continually updated. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, case files, and diagnostic tools.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features) Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window Provides access to various titles from the best minds in emergency medicine. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, case files, and diagnostic tools. Reminder:  Remote access times out 90 days.  You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.  
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
Covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access essential information to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment, and board review.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
APhA Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window Features content from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA)'s authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features)
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline Includes access to the DSM-5 as well as 15 other reference books and five journals.
RxSelect: Student Pharmacist (formerly part of Pharmacist's Letter) This link opens in a new window
- Creating a personal account is: Required
  - For instructions to create your User Account, and learn what you'll have access to, click here.

USP (U.S Pharmacopeia)
USP was formed in 1820 to protect patients from being harmed by the inconsistent and poor-quality medical preparations
USP is an independent, scientific nonprofit organization that contributes to healthcare quality and safety through standards of compounding, handling of hazardous drugs, healthcare standards, drug classification, and medication safety and labeling.
more...less...
Login to USP-NF Online (1st-time users create an account with your Lipscomb email.)
---Of Special interest to students studying pharmacy compounding are the chapters listed below:
USP <795> Pharmaceutical Compounding - Nonsterile Preparations
USP <797> Pharmaceutical Compounding - Sterile Preparations
USP <800> Hazardous Drugs - Handling in Healthcare Settings
USP <825> Radiopharmaceuticals - Preparation, Compounding, Dispensing, and Repackaging

Scholarly Articles

APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Includes bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information from scholarly publications in the behavioral and social sciences. Some citations include links to full text.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. (upgrade from CINAHL Complete)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
This collection includes journals from the health, life and social science fields of: nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience, arts & humanities, business. accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.
PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.
PubMed links to full-text when they are available.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Clinical Practice Guidelines

Clinical practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options.

DynaMed This link opens in a new window Clinical decision support tool. For clinicians who must quickly reference medical guidance supported by evidence-based information. Aims to help clinicians find & deliver accurate answers at the point of care. 
- Access Limited to PA and Pharmacy Programs ONLY
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Required (use your Lipscomb email) - click here for registration instructions.
- App: Click here for the DynaMed app install and authenticate instructions.

ECRI Guidelines Trust Publicly available repository of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. You have to register for a free account in order to access guidelines.
American College of Physicians
Collection of clinical practice guidelines

For Faculty (Trade Publications & Continuing Ed.)

Pharmacist's Letter This link opens in a new window
- Access is limited specific user group: Faculty Only
- Creating a personal account is: Required
  - For instructions to create your User Account, and learn what you'll have access to, click here.

AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various titles from the best minds in emergency medicine. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, case files, and diagnostic tools.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various titles from the best minds in medicine, and the content is continually updated. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, case files, and diagnostic tools.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features) Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
Covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Access essential information to enhance decision-making at the point-of-care. The collection includes illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment, and board review.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Use:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features). Your account will work across McGraw-Hill AccessDatabases.
AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading pharmacy reference materials, illustrated textbooks (read-aloud option), infographics, multimedia, interactive self-assessment study tools, drug therapy cases, and drug databases with dosing information, adverse reactions, and more.
- Reminder: Remote access times out 90 days. You'll need to log into the database while on campus to reactivate remote access.
Permitted Uses:
Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features)
Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
The collection delivers more than 300 narrated videos of real cadaver specimens, a glossary of anatomy terms, and exams for interactive self-assessment. Access anytime, anywhere from your computer, smartphone, or tablet device.
- Create a Personal Account to unlock all the great self assessment tools.
AMA Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
The AMA (American Medical Association) Manual of Style, 11th ed. is a must-have guide for writing and publishing research in the medical, health, or scientific fields. Offers guidance on nuts-and-bolts of the style from punctuation to formatting, along with how to navigate dilemmas from ethical to legal that researchers encounter. The online manual is fully searchable and enriched by a variety of online features:
style quizzes, which allow users to test their knowledge.
SI conversion calculator, which allows quick conversion of units of measure.
APhA Pharmacy Library This link opens in a new window
Features content from the American Pharmacists Association (APhA)'s authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features)
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support tool. For clinicians who must quickly reference medical guidance supported by evidence-based information. Aims to help clinicians find & deliver accurate answers at the point of care.
- Access Limited to PA and Pharmacy Programs ONLY
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Required (use your Lipscomb email) - click here for registration instructions.
- App: Click here for the DynaMed app install and authenticate instructions.
Facts and Comparisons This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use online tool that arms pharmacists with key drug and clinical information to support everyday tasks.
Lexicomp This link opens in a new window
Intuitive navigation to in-depth information on drugs, interactions, medical calculations and more. LexiComp is designed to provide quick access to clinically relevant answers regarding drug use at the point-of-care.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
A suite of 5 databases offering comprehensive evidence-based drug, disease and toxicology information health care professionals can search quickly at the point-of-care.
- 3 Apps (Drug Reference, Drug Interactions, and IV Compatibility). Click here for Mobile Application Access.
Natural Medicines This link opens in a new window
Only authoritative resource providing high-quality, evidence-based information about dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary or alternative therapies.
- Creating a personal account is: Required
  - For instructions to create your personal account and learn what you'll have access to click here.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, & legal sources. Includes deep archives & up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, & non-English language news services. Company Dossier module retrieves detailed company information & financial performance measures, identifies & compares companies matching specific criteria. Also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal & state court cases 1789-present.
Pharmacist's Letter This link opens in a new window
Pharmacist’s Letter is a trade magazine with evidence-based drug therapy recommendations written for pharmacists along with CE/CME Training. (Student Pharmacists, please see RxSelect: Student Pharmacist.)
- Access is limited specific user group: Faculty Only
- Creating a personal account is: Required
  - For instructions to create your User Account, and learn what you'll have access to, click here.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, and the latest research. Includes access to the DSM-5 as well as 15 other reference books and five journals.
PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.
PubMed links to full-text when they are available.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
RxSelect: Student Pharmacist (formerly part of Pharmacist's Letter) This link opens in a new window
Pharmacist's Letter was split into two platforms. RxSelect: Student Pharmacist is how students access content curated directly from Pharmacist’s Letter & required Training Courses. (Faculty See Pharmacist's Letter.)
- Creating a personal account is: Required
  - For instructions to create your User Account, and learn what you'll have access to, click here.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
This collection includes journals from the health, life and social science fields of: nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience, arts & humanities, business. accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.

USP (U.S Pharmacopeia)
USP was formed in 1820 to protect patients from being harmed by the inconsistent and poor-quality medical preparations
USP is an independent, scientific nonprofit organization that contributes to healthcare quality and safety through standards of compounding, handling of hazardous drugs, healthcare standards, drug classification, and medication safety and labeling.
more...less...
Login to USP-NF Online (1st-time users create an account with your Lipscomb email.)
---Of Special interest to students studying pharmacy compounding are the chapters listed below:
USP <795> Pharmaceutical Compounding - Nonsterile Preparations
USP <797> Pharmaceutical Compounding - Sterile Preparations
USP <800> Hazardous Drugs - Handling in Healthcare Settings
USP <825> Radiopharmaceuticals - Preparation, Compounding, Dispensing, and Repackaging

Create an Account to access Natural Medicine:

Natural Medicine (NatMed) is published by TRC which also owns RxSelect: Student Pharmacist. You must create one account to access both databases. Follow the instructions for creating an account for RxSelect: Student Pharmacist and you will have you login credentials for NatMed.

Students: * All students are required to setup a new account through our new RxSelect Program.

STEP 1

CREATE YOUR PERSONAL ACCOUNT
1. Access RxSelect: Student Pharmacists: https://apps.therapeuticresearch.com/profile/account/create-sph
2. Complete new profile creation form (all students will need to create a new account, even if you had
one prior)
3. Create your username and password when prompted
4. Once your username and password is created, you will be prompted to log in with that new information
5. You’re ready to start using RxSelect: Student Pharmacist OR Natural Medicine. (aka Step 2)

STEP 2
VISIT RXSELECT: STUDENT PHARMACIST
• Go to, https://rxselectsp.therapeuticresearch.com.

Log In
Open the Product Drop Down
Select NatMed Pro

Go to https://naturalmedicines.therapeuticresearch.com/home

1.Try login there.

Lexicomp Tutorials
Micromedex IV Compatibility Tutorial
Note: You have to register to watch this video.

Micromedex Quick Start Guide

Natural Medicines Features
PubMed Search Tutorial
Watch this brief tutorial on searching PubMed.

PubMed Basics
An overview of PubMed basics
Searching PubMed with MeSH
An overview of using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) to search PubMed.
RxSelect How To Get Started

Using ScienceDirect's Advanced Search Tutorial
Watch this 3-minute video to learn how to use ScienceDirect's advanced search feature.

Micromedex (Lipscomb App)
Contains 4500+ drug monographs, toxicology, and disease information.
more...less...
While on campus, from the main Micromedex page find the "Mobile Application Access" button in the bottom right corner for download instructions.
AccessPharmacy (Andriod Link)
AccessPharmacy App (iOS link)

How To access the AccessPharm App
AccessPharm App Install Instructions.

Other Apps:

About Herbs (Free app)
Created by Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Includes 200+ monographs on structure, purported uses, adverse effects, and drug interactions of various herbs, botanicals, supplements, complementary therapies, and more.
DrugShortages (Free app)
Created by the FDA to provide up-to-date information about drug shortages. Scroll to the bottom of the page for the app.
epocrates (Free App)
Includes 1000s of prescription medicines & 100s of OTC products, formularies, pill ID, drug interactions, & calculators. Offers free & paid versions.
HeartStar BP Monitor (Free app)
App for monitoring blood pressure
The Medical Letter (Lipscomb App)
Critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drug classes for common diseases.
more...less...
Visit https://secure.medicalletter.org/SLapp and follow the instructions.
Medisafe Medication Management (Free app)
Medication tracker and pill reminder

EndNote CLICK
EndNote browser plugin/extension, that searches for Pdfs that you upload to EndNote and citation information is atomically included.
more...less...
Browser plugin/extension, that searches for Pdfs. they are temporarily stored in your EndNote Locker. Once you upload them to your EndNote Desktop the Pdf along with citation information is imported to EndNote.
Download LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that searches for links to full-text articles (Pdfs) while you search the web!
more...less...
Works with Brave, Chrome, Edge, Firefox, and Vivaldi.

Drug Information Center

For inquiries about use, contact druginformation@lipscomb.edu

Pharmacy: Get Started!