Library Research Guides: Nursing: Home

Welcome to Nursing's Research Guide. For your convenience, relevant library resources and information relating to nursing are gathered in one place.

Most Used Nursing Database

CINAHL Ultimate *New*
Digital Handout
Getting Started: Navigating & Searching this database.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 1,300 nursing and allied health journals. (upgrade from CINAHL Complete)

More Databases

These resources, which require a login with your Lipscomb email address and password, are available both on and off campus.

Scholarly Articles on Health & Nursing:

PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 25 million ABSTRACTS for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine information, providing FULL TEXT and ABSTRACTS.
This collection includes journals from the health, life and social science fields of: nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience, arts & humanities, business. accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day.
Indexing all doctoral dissertations and some master's theses from most North American and many European colleges and universities.

Scholarly Articles on Mental Health & Phycology:

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Offers complete access to the FULL TEXT of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An ABSTRACT database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Includes bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information from scholarly publications in the behavioral and social sciences.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, and the latest research. Includes access to the DSM-5 as well as 15 other reference books and five journals.

Reference & Review

Encyclopedias and Study Materials

Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
The collection delivers more than 300 narrated videos of real cadaver specimens, a glossary of anatomy terms, and exams for interactive self-assessment. Access anytime, anywhere from your computer, smartphone, or tablet device.
- Create a Personal Account to unlock all the great self assessment tools.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information for Health Consumers on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the DSM-5 as well as 15 other reference books...

Acland's Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window
The collection delivers more than 300 narrated videos of real cadaver specimens, a glossary of anatomy terms, and exams for interactive self-assessment. Access anytime, anywhere from your computer, smartphone, or tablet device.
- Create a Personal Account to unlock all the great self assessment tools.
APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Offers complete access to the full text of nearly 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
An abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Includes bibliographic citations, abstracts, cited references, and descriptive information from scholarly publications in the behavioral and social sciences. Some citations include links to full text.
CABI Nutrition and Food Sciences This link opens in a new window
Contains original research, reviews, and news on nutrition and the food sciences. Subject areas include public health, clinical nutrition, nutrition physiology, food safety, consumer behavior, food science and technology, and food product groups such as functional foods.
- Creating a Personal Account Is: Optional (it unlocks features)
Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
A collection of PhD dissertations and Master's theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. Full text for works added since 1997, and for selected works written prior to 1997.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Index to magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information for Health Consumers on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary treatments.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, and the latest research. Includes access to the DSM-5 as well as 15 other reference books and five journals.
PubMed* This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 35 million citations and abstracts for biomedical and life sciences literature.
PubMed links to full-text when they are available.
PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
This collection includes journals from the health, life and social science fields of: nursing, medicine, dentistry, biology, biochemistry, environmental sciences, toxicology, pharmacology, immunology, neuroscience, arts & humanities, business. accounting, psychology and cognitive sciences, social sciences, economics, decision sciences, forensic science and more.

Taylor & Francis
You won't have access to all the articles listed. This is the ONE time I will tell you to filter results by "Only show content I have full access to"
more...less...
Look for a green check marks or an orange icon of an open lock to know if you have access.

3 ways to find full-text

EndNote Click

is a browser plugin/extension, that searches for Pdfs. These Pdfs can upload to EndNote Desktop and will automatically locate citation information.

LibKey Nomad

is a browser extension that searches for links to full-text articles (Pdfs) while you search the web!

Interlibrary Loan Information Request Form

You will receive email confirmation of your request. If not, please contact your librarian.

Nursing

Librarian

Download & Install EndNote 21

Library Hours